We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay all around”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Casa del Aljarife - Granada
Ranked #6 of 93 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2012

My wife, young adult son and I stayed for several nights and were very satisfied with this beautiful and well maintained B&B. Our room was the junior suite and was quite large with roomy bedrooms, lounge and bathroom.
Christian was an excellent host, breakfast was very good, and the room was a great value. All this with a good location in the Albaicin.

We definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pepeanddizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Casa del Aljarife - Granada
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

We felt so lucky to find this place. Not only was it clean, well priced and centrally located, our host Christian Most was super helpful pointing us toward some of the best food we had on our trip. The view of the Alhambra was dangerous because it was so idyllic we could have spent our entire 5 days in Granada cozy in bed just taking in the sights from there. But we had so much fun walking the cobble stone streets and discovering all of the charm of Granada - including the Alhambra (up close) and the Hammam Baths. Christian even invited us on a hike one day and it was very special to have him point out a bit about everyday life in the area. We would go back in a heart beat and we are so glad we extended our stay from 2 nights to 5! Ps. Take Christian's advice and don't bring a car if you can help it. We took the train from Madrid and were so glad we didn't have to worry about what to do with a car in the Albaicin. It's easy to take day trips on the bus, as we did to Almuñecar.

-H&J

Room Tip: we loved the large tiled bathroom (with two sinks and tub) and view from our window... i think it wa...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Great B&B in the heart of the Albaicín - where else can you wake up and see the Alhambra out your window? The owner is a knowledgable and helpful guide, and quite a character! We enjoyed breakfast in the courtyard, comfortable rooms, and amazing views. We only stayed one night but wish it had been longer!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I am a first time poster on Trip Advisor, but I felt strongly enough about this place to take the time to tell you it rocks! Herr Most is a great host and was very helpful in all respects. The historic charm of the b&b really is worth it and one of the best things about Spain where we spent a month recently (Dec 2011). Staying in the old city (Albaicin)(Pedestrian only) near the Alhambra is a wonderful experience even if it is a short walk from the nearest car parking. The views of the Alhambra from the b&b are some of the best in the city especially considering the reasonable room rate, especially at night. Take advantage of Mr. Most's extensive knowledge of Grenada particularly concerning nearby tapas bars and restaurants. You won't find any place with as good of recommendations as Mr. Most, a local dedicated to great food & wine and other libations.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Beautiful house - once we found it. We had a car and the major traffic works and poor signage in Granada are a nightmare(took us 1.30hrs to find in the dark despite good directions from our host).Our double room with 'panoramic view' was very lovely - low beamed ceiling and a small window view to the Alhambra,extra special at night when neighbouring buildings were less obvious.Only slight disappointment was the two single beds(albeit joined up but never quite works)and the bathroom location which was down some stairs and separate from the bedroom itself.But not a major problem given the overall charm of the place.Very quiet location and only ten minutes downhill walk to the main avenue and buses - 30min hilly walk approx to the Alhambra itself.Private garaging (you pay for this) about 2 minutes walk from the house.
Liked the plant-filled courtyard the dining area (communal table) overlooked.Good breakfast - nice cheeses and breads ,cold meats, yoghurts etc - all with Concerto de Aranjuez playing softly in the background - a very nice touch!
Was impressed with Mr Most's printed list of recommended bars/restaurants - a great help and have kept it for our next visit to this great city.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotlandmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

The Casa del Aljarife provided us with a clean, simple place to rest our weary bodies each night and a modern bathroom to clease us of our day. It was peaceful and spacious with a lovely view of the Alhambra by day or night (though the view is not available from all rooms). The proprietor, Christian, could not have been more helpful. His suggestions about where to dine, what to visit, and how to function were spot on. He is precise in his timing and directions. If you are a person that loves German efficiency and preciseness, you, too, will love Christian and the Casa del Aljarife. The property is well maintained with a gorgeous, peaceful courtyard, which was still in bloom in late November. Note: this property can only be acessed by foot and requires an uphill walk which includes steps. Travel light. Breakfast was provided each morning and was traditional European fair with an occasional Andalucian surprise. Make sure you venture up the hill a few times to explore. (Make sure you have a good map for this). There is so much to offer beyond the CdA, which you may neglect if you are entranced by the sparkle of Plaza Neuva.

Room Tip: discuss your needs with Christian directly for the best space
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notaconelicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Casa del Aljarife, primarily because of its wonderful location in the historic Albaicin of beautiful Granada, and the commodiousness of our spacious and comfortable room-with-a-view of the Alhambra. The bed was comfortable, the air conditioning worked (contrary to complaints by other reviewers herein) and the breakfast was excellent. I would give the place an "excellent," five star rating if it were not for the inconvenience of having to walk up and down stairs to get to the en suite bathroom.
It is amusing to read the radically conflicting comments by other reviewers about the host, Mr. Christian Most. I can well understand why these comments are so conflicting. Mr. Most is a most unusual man (pun intended). He quite clearly comes across as extremely hands-on and, indeed, somewhat controlling. For those not familiar with or at all sympathetic with north German/Prussian fastidiousness and orderliness, Mr. Most may be a bit much to take. It helps if -- like myself -- you have spent a good deal of time in Germany and speak the language (somewhat). I feel that the criticisms of Mr. Most as "abrupt" or "rude" arise at least in part from cultural differences. In our case, Mr. Most was extremely helpful to us in several critical ways: specifically, in (1) communicating thoroughly all we would need to know before our arrival; (2) meeting us in the central square of Granada when we arrived by car; (3) personally guiding us to the parking garage; (4) carrying our bags for us (against my protestations) all the way to the hotel; (5) providing all possible information helpful to our stay in Granada; and (6) scheduling our breakfast at our convenience. He was, to us, unfailingly friendly and polite, even if sometimes a bit "abrupt."
In view of these factors, I found it easy to overlook the rough edges of Mr. Most's Prussian personality (and even the fact I overheard him making fun of "the Americans" to some German guests at breakfast). Taking all this into account, I would happily stay at Casa del Aljarife again, and recommend it to anyone who is prepared for some German order and efficiency. And are those things all that bad, anyway?

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a view of the Alhambra.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,259 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Puerta de Las Granadas
#18 of 122 in Granada
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
997 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
785 reviews
El Ladron de Agua
#6 of 122 in Granada
829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa del Aljarife - Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa del Aljarife - Granada

Address: Plaza Cruz Verde, 2, 18010 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: £70 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa del Aljarife - Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Aljarife Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing