We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice staff in good location”
Review of Hotel Carlos V

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Carlos V
Ranked #23 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
hawaii
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very nice staff in good location”
Reviewed 23 July 2009

Really great staff in a convenient location. Rooms are small, showers are very nicely done. No frills, but for 25Euros a night is was a steal...would not pay more than 50Euros. Best to email hotel directly, rates are less expensive than the website. Granda is awesome! Alhambra is just incredible ;-)

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vsirvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    248
    67
    15
    13
See reviews for
115
269
32
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2009

we stayed there one night and paid only 39 euro. The location was perfect and quiet. The room was very clean with a very modern bathroom. The staff was helpful and friendly. Excellent deal!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mj153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

found the hotel after setting the sat nav to centre of town found a car park and this was just round the corner small supermarket next door and a very short walk to all the sites ....the mini bus to the alhambra stops outside the hotel which is well worth a few euros....
we paid 79 euro a night for a special room with balcony sun beds and a table huge bathroom with jacuzzi bath
this is a 1 star hotel but i have stayed in 5 star ones which have similar rooms the only missing thing was proper amenities coffee was from a machine and no fridge in room
we are a couple with a two year old child
staff friendly and spoke adequate english
a gem we were soooo lucky

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westiekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N. Yorkshire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

This is a great hotel, good location - central but away from the traffic noise, rooms were very well decorated, bathrooms superb and the shared areas of the hotel do not fail to impress. The staff at this hotel are multi-lingual and happy to help with anything and everthing. I can not fault this hotel, it gave us a perfect weekend in Granada. Do not be put off by the 1 star, it's clearly more and I would recommend it to anyone. For those who are addicted to the internet, there was even 2 PC's with free acccess that you could use at all times. Price was very reasonble, I booked through Expedia and got a good rate, leaving it to 10days before departure helped bring the price down but don't let this one slip away!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosey321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2009

Absolutely recommend this hotel. We stayed here for 2 nights in Jan. It was really easy to find. Great location - walked everywhere we wanted to go from the hotel including Alhambra, Cathedral shops etc. The staff on reception were absolutely the best that we came accross in Spain. They were so helpful, friendly and happy to tell us what bar to watch the football in, when to go to the Alhambra etc.

Don't mind the downstairs - it looks a little unwelcoming and smells a bit - but I think its just being renovated - the hotel upstairs is unaffected! Absolutely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank forevakiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DogLoverfromBoston
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2008

I have to give Hotel Carlos a thumbs up for several reasons:
1) The hotel is very clean.
2) Every staff member was courteous, helpful, and efficient.
3) Easy walk to shopping, food, etc.
4) The price is right.

The room was smaller than I would have liked it to be but it was super clean. ( I'd rather have a small CLEAN room over a larger poorly cleaned room any day!) The hotel is located in a good area, at the top of a small hill on a quiet street. This is nice because the noise from the busy street bars could be an issue at some places. Right next door is a super market -- convenient if you need to purchase snacks or something that you forgot to pack. All three hotel staff members that I dealt with were very nice. A young woman with short blonde hair; very nice who speaks English very well checked me in. A young woman with medium length brown hair at the front desk; also speaks English was nice and answered questions, and an older gentleman who is very nice but speaks little English. He called a cab for me and handled my check out. The housekeepers do a SUPER job cleaning rooms. They even fold the clothes that you throw around the room.
The price of this hotel is very reasonable for the service and cleanliness that it provides. It is rated as a "one star" hotel but if it had a full service restaurant and lounge, I'm sure it would be rated higher.
If you are a traveler who only cares about a clean room, good location, and clean bath -- this is the place for you. It really is a
Great value for the money. With millions of restaurants and bars within easy walking distance; the lack of a restaurant really doesn't matter.
One thing I need to mention: It is on the fourth floor of an office building. It has a very small functional elevator but if you dislike elevators don't stay there.
Parking is available right there in a parking garage for $15 euros per day.
This is a good choice for budget minded adult travelers but the rooms are small so I would be hesitant to recommend it to families with children.

  • Liked — Clean room, clean bath. Good price/value
  • Disliked — didn't like lack of restaurant, elevator was creepy, have to use stairs to 4th floor
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DogLoverfromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2008

I am currently studying at the U. of Granada and when my Mom came to visit we stayed at Hotel Carlos V. It was perfect for us! It's in walking distance to everything yet is situated in a safe and quiet area. The hotel was very clean and the receptionists spoke perfect English. There's a computer in the lobby for personal use and free wifi. The rooms are on the smaller side but beautifully decorated with a new and very nice bathroom. My only problem with the hotel was the lack of immenities (no restaurant and no lounge, only a snack machine and coffee maker), but for 50 euro on weekdays and 65 on weeknights it's hard to complain!

  • Liked — Modern decor and cleanliness
  • Disliked — no lounge/restaurant
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Puerta de Las Granadas
#16 of 122 in Granada
943 reviews
Hotel Comfort Dauro 2
#22 of 122 in Granada
1,096 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
NH Granada Centro
NH Granada Centro
#25 of 122 in Granada
1,257 reviews
Abadia Hotel Granada
#64 of 122 in Granada
364 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlos V? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlos V

Property: Hotel Carlos V
Address: Plaza Campos 4 | Eliseos 4, 18009 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#27 Family Hotel in Granada
#37 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Carlos V 1*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlos V hotel is located in Granada's historic city centre, only 2 minutes' walk from the popular tapas bars of Navas Street and 400 metres from the Cathedral. Rooms include free Wi-Fi and air conditioning. The rooms have simple, colourful decor and wooden floors. They all include free a TV and a private bathroom with hydromassage shower. A safety deposit service and a free computer with internet access are available at the 24-hour reception. We offer a varied breakfast buffet, with good prices. Elvira Street and the beautiful Albaicin district are 600 metres away. There are many tapas bars and restaurants within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlos V reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlos v Hotel
Carlos v Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing