We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional value, great staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hostal Viena

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Granada
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Viena
Ranked #75 of 97 Granada B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exceptional value, great staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

Centrally located, quiet, very cheap. No phone, but staff came and knocked on my door for my wakeup call. Halls are colorfully tiled, and enclosed courtyard with lending library and chairs to read in. Rooms small and plain, and the smallest shower I have ever encountered, no soap provided, but do have towels and hotel and room were clean. Literally down the road from the Alhambra. Great value, great location, great staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelcatmeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    7
    3
    1
    5
See reviews for
1
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2008

When we booked this hostel, the staff had honestly informed us about the noise from down stair pub. As we stayed for the weekend from Friday to Sunday, we had prepared ourselves for a nosiy sleepless weekend nights. But luckily, the noise wasn't as bad as we expected at all. Of course it wasn't quite but the music and loud chatter didn't start until 11pm and didn't last long past midnight. And we live in New York City. This level of noise is totally tolerable.

Staff is friendly and helpful. The hotel is closed to cathedral, and about 15-20 walking minutes to Alhambra (uphill but nice and pleasant walk). The room and bathroom are clean, and the beds are comfortable. It's all very basic, but nicely maintained and clean.

Having traveled to many European cities and stayed at various kind of hotels, I think Hotel Viena is a great value for what it has to offer. We had a pleasant stay there, and would like to recommend anyone who is planning a visit to Granada to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eni77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2005

I can believe that this hostal might be noisy when drunken people are about but fortunately for us it was quiet - we were there mid week and perhaps we were just lucky. Our room for three was very large with a balcony and a large mirror-lined bathroom with bath/shower/bidet/toilet. Having just come from the Hostal Arias in Seville it seemed like luxury.

It was very cheap to stay here and the hostal was just at the foot of the Alhambra, couldn't get any closer really. Plaza Nuevo was 10 yards away and was great for breakfast and drinks/eats in the evening.

I think staying in any hostal is risky; they are very basic and will often be noisy because of their cheap construction and clientelle - younger revellers.

You get what you pay for after all!!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mahala1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2003

We recently made a reservation and the hostal asked for our credit card details. They then put in a small transaction (a few pence) to check the details correct. THIS IS ILLEGAL and has been taken up with the credit card company. I would warn anyone not to use a hostal adopting such practice. Besides, it was a blatant distrust of potential guests. We decided not to stay there because of that, amongst other things. BE WARNED.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicuno, I work there at Hostal Viena, responded to this review, 5 January 2008
Hello,
To confirm the reservation we asked for the credit card details and we charge 0,06 euros (0.0448425 GBP, 0.0885210 USD), (we always tell it to the person before we do it) This is NOT ILLEGAL and is a normal way (used for many little hostals), and the only way that we have to verify that the credit card info corresponds to the persons who is making the reservation, so is also a security method for the credit card owner.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Granada hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2003

tolerable, and staff friendly, but bed sagging in the middle, and doors paper thin, not good when rowdy backpackers come back pissed in the small hours.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Hotel Macia Plaza
#36 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Casa Palacio Pilar del Toro Hotel
Puerta de Las Granadas
#15 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostal Austria
#31 of 97 in Granada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Apartamentos Medina Reyes Catolicos
Realejo - San Matias
Pension Venecia Gomerez
Pension Venecia Gomerez
#13 of 97 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Viena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Viena

Property: Hostal Viena
Address: Calle Hospital de Santa Ana 2, 18009 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 97 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing