We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A gem in the Alhambras”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel America

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel America
Ranked #76 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A gem in the Alhambras”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Location : Perfect ; if you are an Indian, imagine living on the grounds of the Taj Mahal or the Red Fort. Our story : because of a mix up we arrived from Madrid at 10 pm ; if the hotel was not located a couple of minutes walk from the Nasrid Palace we would have missed our 10.30 pm night visit
The hotel : is quaint, comfortable, serves a very decent breakfast and cooks up a delicious lunch. The staff (especially their main steward whose name I have unfortunately forgotten) are helpful and friendly - they happily gave us a late night dinner of a hot cheese sandwich and whatever we asked for the kids for breakfast.
Nearby : Walk down to the market square and start a walking tour of the Albaicins. Take a trip to the Sierra Nevadas

Room Tip: I guess an upper floor room would have nice views but it does not matter because you step out of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indriyajit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    112
    49
    17
    24
See reviews for
48
130
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Other more luxurious hotels in Granada cannot match the location dictated by the [preferable]early access to the Alhambra offered by this little oasis inside the grounds. It is small, it is practical and very definitely Spanish. The staff work hard but cheerfully to cope with the continuous flow of passers-by dropping in for a snack or liquid refreshment.

Room Tip: Probably better over the courtyard than the street where the deliveries start quite early
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hunger4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MESA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Rented a car in Madrid and drove to Hotel America in the Alhambra complex. Our GPS worked great, which was lucky because we struggled a bit with the map the Hotel America sent earlier. Parked in the Alhambra lot, and the attendant in the information booth pointed us in the right direction. However, we had no idea the right direction meant walking about a half mile down a hill and back up a hill to get to the Alhambra entrance where the hotel is within close proximity. I love exercise and fitness, and because we had two bags to haul and a couple of backpacks, that pretty much completed my daily aerobics program! The room was average size for Europe, but we could have used a small bar of soap - the small packages of gel and shampoo didn't quite cut it. So, I asked the front desk clerk for bar soap, and he said the person who stocks the hotel with amenities forgot to bring them that day. Well, OK, no problem - we're at the Alhambra, so what could be better. However, when we asked for soap the next night and were told the same answer, it was a bit frustrating. The air conditioner wasn't working the second night, and we found out that it was controlled centrally and the clerk forgot to turn it on. The morning of checkout, we had a bit of a drive ahead of us, so we wanted a quick breakfast in order to get on the road. However, the clerk was also the chef and the waiter, and we didn't receive anything but apologies for the first 25 minutes we waited. Finally, we gave up and decided to check out. However, the clerk was busy trying to wait on tables, so that took longer than expected. I asked if we would get some credit from our bill for not having soap or breakfast, but the clerk just shrugged. We certainly don't blame the clerk, he was a very, very nice man! But the hotel is grossly understaffed. As for the location, it's exceptional! Make sure you order tickets for the palace tour weeks in advance through Ticketmaster, and then skip the lines and pick up your tickets at the T.I. booth downtown. The hike up the hill from the city center to the hotel is similar to climbing Nob Hill in San Francisco, maybe even a bit tougher. Taxi's will take you there swiftly, unless, of course, you're in to fitness like us!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank THOMAS H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband’s childhood memory of Alhambra brought us to the idea of having an overnight stay in the Alhambra complex.
We drove early from Seville and swung by the Sierra Nevada ski station first before heading to the Alhambra complex. The drive from Sierra Nevada and the Alhambra complex were pretty closed; around 40km. We parked the car at the 24 hour guarded parking lot in the Alhambra complex and paid for parking when we left. With our luggage, we walked to the tourist office and printed our Alhambra entrance tickets right away. Doing this saved us time for not walking back out to get these entrance tickets. The line to enter the complex could be pretty long, but with the hotel reservation proof, entrance tickets to the complex and luggage to carry, the entrance staffs will give the hotel guests a right to bypass the lines. The walk from here is quite a bit, but it was no problem for us. Others could opt to take a short taxi drive to the hotel door and not to worry about obtaining the tickets first.
The hotel room is very cozy. Breakfast is not included. Spending a night in Alhambra complex is special; it is a magical feeling of being in Alhambra at night and seeing the twinkle lights of the Granada town across.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fleursdusoleil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
457 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights at the Hotel America - very helpful staff, convenient location for relaxing before and after the hours sightseeing at the Alhambra. Room 212 was clean, large, airy, and comfortable - queen bed, and sofa - quiet for overlooking the front of the hotel. Up two flights of stairs. Our friends stayed on the ground floor in room 222-224 so called family room composed of 2 small bedrooms each with 2 twin beds - off the courtyard with tables and chairs-so noisy but accessible. Bath towels not very absorbant. Hotel is just 10 mins to the town center by taxi 6euros or by bus 1.20 euros. Lovely walks, vegetation, sound of waterfalls, and views.

Room Tip: Room 212 up two flights of stairs- large, airy, and comfortable. Room 222-224 - family room with twi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeborahandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Needing a break after a couple of serious sightseeing in Lahambra,
we noticed a litle door through wich we could see a quaint oldfashioned tapio with small marble tables and bamboo chairs.
The name above the door read "Hotel America *"
One star !!
Well inside you stepped back 50-70 years in time.
Fantastic, !
The beams holding up the next floor were exposed, had been repaired and must be over 200 years !
And yes-
They did serve us coffee-onevof the bedt we have had andvworth every 2.20
euro pr cup.What a lovely experience as compared with the turistmachine coffe automat further down.
Happy with this experience we went of to see the gardens.
They should not be missed!
I sincerely hope they manage to show them off as nicely as all these roses etc were now in may

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidayknut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

There was no hot water so we could not take a shower in the morning. It was a shame, especially when we had a guest from overseas, who was in Granada and Andalucia for the first time. Our guest could not sleep well as the room was cold. The location is otherwise good.
The parador next door is a better choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Granada hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Parador de Granada
#13 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Eurostars Washington Irving
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Guadalupe Hotel
Guadalupe Hotel
#39 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#4 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel America

Property: Hotel America
Address: Calle Real de La Alhambra 53, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel America 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family hotel is located within the Alhambra citadel. Its exceptional location enables you to enjoy the calm of the Alhambra. There, you will be also close to Granada's down town, the Cathedral and the Royal Chapel. This beautiful building was built at the beginning of the 19th century.This is a charming hotel with 17 rooms in Granada. Every room is individually furnished and customized. Some rooms are pointed to the Hotel Patio-Garden and, other ones, to the Real de la Alhambra Street, which offer views to the Generalife Gardens and Sierra Nevada Mountains. Anyway, you will enjoy an enviable calm when the Alhambra monument will be closed for visitors. Equipment: private bathroom or shower with hairdryer, phone, central heating and air conditioning. Every room is individually furnished and they offer large and modern facilities within a building from the beginning of the 19th century. It gives a warm and welcoming style, where you will feel yourself as if you were at home. There is a strongbox at the reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America Hotel Granada
Hotel America Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing