We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inside the Alhambra at half the price of the Parador”
Review of Hotel America

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel America
Ranked #67 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Lovely hotel, very friendly staff, (the housekeeper didn't seem at all irritated at having to change the bedsheets again after our son accidentally peed on the bed), good breakfasts served away from the guestrooms to avoid disturbing those of us who were sleeping in, and a lovely courtyard for a wonderful lunch. The location was fabulous if you're in Granada to see the Alhambra, and there were 2 very frequent and convenient buses to take us directly into town for dinner and other sights.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mands22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2010

The Hotel America is in a great location, next to the Alhambra, and if you want to see as much of this as possible, then the location is just right. No dinners are served, and if you want n evening meal, then the city of Granada is your best bet. Breakfast are expensive, with little choice or variety. The rooms are clean and comfy, and because all the tourists are gone by late afternoon, the place is very quiet at night.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank penderpete60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

There are two hotels located in the grounds of the Alhambra - one expensive and one budget option. The Hotel America is the budget option. Don't expect lots of extras - the rooms are fairly small and basic (ie no TV in the rooms). The bedsheets weren't always absolutely clean, and, as usual in Spain, the beds were not designed for people over six feet in height. The breakfast was not large, although I never tried the lunch option. Also, there will be lots of tourists passing the hotel door every day as they walk through the Alhambra.

However, the reality is that, when you open the window each day, you are looking directly at one of the best tourist destinations in the world. Even if you are on the other side of the hotel, facing away from the Alhambra, you still get stunning views of the Sierra Nevada mountains and Granada city laid out below.

The best thing - after have hiked around the Alhambra and the Generalife for a day, you can sit in your room and watch everyone else prepare themselves for the long slog down the hill and back to their own hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 199,322,392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2010

When our friends insisted that we stay at Hotel America while visiting the Alhambra, I was at first put off by some of the Trip Advisor reviews - but they insisted and so I booked the room. I am so happy I did. We arrived late afternoon - showed the guard gate our hotel reservation to gain access to the national monument - and entered a legendary landscape. We dropped off our luggage, parked at guarded parking lot, and walked back into an almost deserted park at sunset. It was extraordinary to the huge plaza in front of the Alcazaba entirely to ourselves. If you are in Granada to see the Alhambra, this is a great choice. Yes, the hotel is not luxurious, the rooms are basic but clean and, most important, quiet. Yes, the breakfast is not quite up to another hotel at the same price - but you are paying for the privilege of being on the grounds instead of in the city. The people were lovely,we loved it: highly recommended.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAtraveler33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2009

The Alhambra Palace complex is a must see, if you are to see all that there is to see - stay and if you are going to stay - Hotel America is the place to be. I spent a couple of nights there in early October, it was a joy. How did I find it? Well back in May I and a group of friends visited the Alhambra - it is busy and we wanted a peaceful spot for lunch, we spotted Hotel America and enjoyed a great, casual meal beneath the vines of the Courtyard, the staff were great, good humoured and memorable. Thus when deciding to return to the Alhambra there was only one place which came to mind. It is charming, of great character and style and my room and bathroom, overlooking the Courtyard, was delightful. Having Breakfast or lunch in the Courtyard is made the more pleasant accompanied by the sound of trickling water. The hotel was established in the late 30s and is still run with pride by the Garzon family, to stay there is, for but a short time, to join the family. Dinner is not offered, giving a great excuse to either walk or catch the bus (euro 1.20) into the City.
After the crowds have gone, the Alhambra takes on a new and tranqil magic - the contrast is extraordinary. Do visit the Alhambra and do stay at Hotel America - by the way, it was so named after the Iberoamerican exhibition in 1929 in Seville.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirthdayBoy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

If the point of your visit to Granada is to see El Alhambra at a reasonable price then this is the hotel for you. Located only a stone's throw (and it doesn't matter who throws the stone) from El Alhambra, this small, seventeen room, family run hotel (one of only two on the hill) is chocked full of quaintness. The rooms are small (my wife says "tiny" and are reached by a narrow, winding staircase. Since hotel staff is at a minimum you have to wrestle your bags up yourself, a task not for the frail or poor of health. The rooms are reasonably clean but the beds leave a lot to be desired. The staff in general is helpful and attentive as long as they don't have to deal with your luggage. The complimentary breakfast is very so-so but the patio setting with lots of plants and vines overhead makes morning eating a joy. This is also a nice place for a nightcap under the stars. Now if you are a high spender the Parador de Granada which is right next door is reputed to be the best and most expensive parador in Spain. We had dinner there one night and the food was outstanding and the patio setting overlooking the city can't be beat. However if you are looking for an ideal location at the "right" price the Hotel America is the place for you.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamer70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

We had booked this hotel 1 night in advance and had a choice of a double room or a more expensive room with a balcony. We took the regular double room (85 euors) and it was tiny and faced the inner courtyard. The size did not bother us as much as the bed which was not comfortable at all. The bathroom was fine. You can't beat the location as it is next to the Alhambra. When checking in, it is best to drive up to the hotel, drop your luggage off and then drive to the parking area which is miuntes by car but at least a 15 minute walk up hill so be prepared. We had a tour set up an hour + after we arrive so we decided to have lunch. The food was good but service is slow and we barely made the tour. When we checked in, they had taken my passport and said they would return it to me. Unfortunately I did not realize it until I was at the airport the next day. The owner kindly send a taxi to the airport to deliver my passport at her expense so I am quite grateful. I recommend the hotel if you get twin beds or a firmer double bed.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoUCLAbruins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Parador de Granada
#13 of 122 in Granada
1,339 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 122 in Granada
1,574 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,755 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,276 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Eurostars Washington Irving
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel America

Address: Calle Real de La Alhambra 53, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: £85 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel America 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family hotel is located within the Alhambra citadel. Its exceptional location enables you to enjoy the calm of the Alhambra. There, you will be also close to Granada's down town, the Cathedral and the Royal Chapel. This beautiful building was built at the beginning of the 19th century.This is a charming hotel with 17 rooms in Granada. Every room is individually furnished and customized. Some rooms are pointed to the Hotel Patio-Garden and, other ones, to the Real de la Alhambra Street, which offer views to the Generalife Gardens and Sierra Nevada Mountains. Anyway, you will enjoy an enviable calm when the Alhambra monument will be closed for visitors. Equipment: private bathroom or shower with hairdryer, phone, central heating and air conditioning. Every room is individually furnished and they offer large and modern facilities within a building from the beginning of the 19th century. It gives a warm and welcoming style, where you will feel yourself as if you were at home. There is a strongbox at the reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America Hotel Granada
Hotel America Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing