We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experiencd”
Review of Hotel America

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel America
Ranked #71 of 123 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 12 March 2011

The ability to stay in a U.N.E.S.C.O. heritage site was enough for us to book this hotel. The reviews painted a good picture and we were not dissappointed. The hotel is charming and we loved the history and ambience. One has the place to themselves once the crowds have left and it was wonderful to walk around in the moonlite thinking of the words we had heard on the Washington Irving Alahmbra tapes.
It was also very cool to be able to drive past the sweatingcrowds into the gates and right up to the hotel and to think we live here, at least for two days.
We not been to The Alahambra for forty years and the improvements and archeology work that has happened since that time have made the experience so much better.
There is a bus to town that leaves from the outside walls frequently, so going to town for further sight seeing or meals is very easy.
If you like history, old world charm and the romance of being in The Alahmbra don't miss this experience. I am glad we got to enjoy this unique experience

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clancy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2010

We loved this hotel and the Alhambra! Lydia at front desk spoke English and everyone was very nice. We got the two single beds we wanted. If you need large rooms and new hotel this is not for you, but if charming and authentic is appealing this place is it! (The rooms in Europe are generally smaller than US.) It is wonderful to walk around the parts of the Alhambra that are open at night! Romantic. Book this place right away.. We had no problem walking everywhere here; and were surprised the walk back up the hill from the town of Granada was not so hard. But we are walkers. You can take the bus into town easily. Dinner at the Parador next door also possible & cocktail lounge with snacks right outside the restaurant there is open. Good restaurants/tapa bars in town also. The only warning is the Taxi from the airport; ours jacked up the price when we arrived at the hotel from 28 E to 40 E; so get a taxi with at meter! We saw no pickpocketing or ruses on our 3-day stay in Granada. Weather was great Nov. 5 - 8.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HoosierIU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

The Hotel America is unique. It is located inside the precincts of the Alhambra which in itself is sufficient reason to stay here. The hotel itself is exquisitely furnished and its facilities constantly up-dated. The interior courtyard must be the most atmospheric place in Spain to have a drink or a meal. The owners and their staff are charming. If you want to stay in an enormous room in a modern hotel with a vast reception area, lifts, jacuzzis and the of an airport, the Hotel America is NOT for you. If you want charm, authenticity and cultivated hosts, don't hesitate.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Nice small hotel. Very hard to get to,parking far from hotel,no elevator,average breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wino873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

This hotel is on the grounds of the Alhambra. While that is excellent for seeing the Alhambra, it is out of the way for the restaurants etc of Granada. The rooms are old, rather poorly maintained and borderline seedy.
The breakfast at the hotel was the worst in Spain, both for food provided and service.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ringhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

While I generally would recommend this place, I would have a couple of caveats: 1), the location is great for the Alhambra, but not for anything else in Granada and 2) the place needs a reno, particularly with respect to the bathrooms - cracked and patched tile, inadequate provisions for keeping water from escaping the shower.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank centra3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Just returned from Spain and stayed 2 nights in hotel America.
Staff was friendly, location great except need a car or taxi. The bus stop is 10 mins from the hotel but anyway taxi is not expensive at all. We paid 5 euro from city centre to the hotel.

One thing though, the bed is quite hard :(

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lalibelou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#17 of 123 in Granada
1,637 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 123 in Granada
823 reviews
Parador de Granada
#13 of 123 in Granada
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Guadalupe Hotel
Guadalupe Hotel
#41 of 123 in Granada
851 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#3 of 123 in Granada
1,853 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Eurostars Washington Irving
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel America

Address: Calle Real de La Alhambra 53, 18009 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 123 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: £74 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel America 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This family hotel is located within the Alhambra citadel. Its exceptional location enables you to enjoy the calm of the Alhambra. There, you will be also close to Granada's down town, the Cathedral and the Royal Chapel. This beautiful building was built at the beginning of the 19th century.This is a charming hotel with 17 rooms in Granada. Every room is individually furnished and customized. Some rooms are pointed to the Hotel Patio-Garden and, other ones, to the Real de la Alhambra Street, which offer views to the Generalife Gardens and Sierra Nevada Mountains. Anyway, you will enjoy an enviable calm when the Alhambra monument will be closed for visitors. Equipment: private bathroom or shower with hairdryer, phone, central heating and air conditioning. Every room is individually furnished and they offer large and modern facilities within a building from the beginning of the 19th century. It gives a warm and welcoming style, where you will feel yourself as if you were at home. There is a strongbox at the reception desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
America Hotel Granada
Hotel America Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing