We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get lost in Granada”
Review of Albayzin

Albayzin
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.55*
and up
Granada and Albaicin Walking Tour
Ranked #4 of 215 things to do in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Named a World Heritage Site, this is the old Moorish quarter of Granada.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Get lost in Granada”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The old Moorish district is a maze of narrow alleys and if getting around on foot be prepared to expend a lot of energy as it's uphill all the way from the Cathedral area and in August - very hot! You can cheat by taking the bus to the top though and then take a walki down. I found the tourist map to be useless for navigating, but half the fun was wandering around and looking into all the nooks and crannies and squares full of life and character. I would recommend visiting one of the tapas bars in the evening and take in the views of the illuminated Alhambra and city lights after dark.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,556
    1,742
    316
    35
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
139 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Hilly, cobbled, narrow lanes”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I'm not sure that we were totally in the right place? I thought that we stayed in the Albayzin area – just off the Carrera del Darro. We then walked upwards towards the Plaza de San Nicolas through cobbled, narrow lanes but nothing that resembled Moroccan Souks? We walked past quite a few restaurants with excellent views of the Alhambra, and through a few small squares. Having done some research now – I think that perhaps we just didn't explore far enough…

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravellerOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Home (for a week)”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed here for one week in August and you definitely know you're somewhere special. Narrow lanes, cobbled streets with steps and lots of intriguing gardens glimpsed behind high white-washed walls and the occasional view of the Alhambra across the valley.
At the bottom of the hill (Calle Caldereria Nueva) is a small bazaar made up of shops selling Arab handicrafts such as slippers, cushion covers etc.
There are lots of bars and restaurants, particularly in the Placeta de San Miguel Bajo and near the Puerta de las Pesas.
Not a place for people who have difficulty in walking as you can't avoid the hills.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AJJS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“walking tour of albayzin”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A must visit either by walking or bicycle. Nice historical buildings and full of historical facts. Beautiful old houses and good view from the top. There is a mosque on top for muslims to pray. the walk can be a bit tiring but well deserved trip, do it slowly and enjoy the view and scenary. Suggest you get a good guide.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Granada Old City”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I visited Albayzin during the night and it was an experience by itself but I suggest that people visit it during the day as well.
the narrow streets, the old houses and cafes makes you feel that you are back in time during that exceptional era of Spain's history

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KMoussa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Albayzin also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Albayzin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing