We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice decor but a disappointing experience”

Hammam Al Andalus Granada
Book In Advance
More Info
US$71.71*
and up
Arabian Baths Experience at Granada's Hammam Al Ándalus
More Info
US$101.59*
and up
Skip the Line: Alhambra Tour and Granada Hammam
More Info
US$77.68*
and up
Alhambra, Nasrid Palaces, Generalife and Alcazaba Private Tour in Granada
Ranked #1 of 19 Spas & Wellness in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As in its origin, the Arab baths are made up three spaces created by water pools at different temperatures and which give their name to the hot, warm and cold rooms. Each client is free to choose their own route through these spaces while respecting our team´s guidelines for use in order to enjoy an optimun experience of tradition.The route, which is accompained by Andalusian music, is completed with the steam room, the relaxation room - where clients can enjoy a typical tea - and the hot stone room, in which they can receive a massage or Ritual of their choice.Our clients feel transported in time and allow themselves to be guided on a journey through the exotic sensuallity of the mythical Al Andalus. Upon leaving, the Alhambra greets them only a few metres away with a vision that rounds off their experience of the past.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Stairs / lift
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice decor but a disappointing experience”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We have both had hammams before in Morocco and were so looking forward to this experience on our last day in southern Spain. Whilst some aspects were good, there were enough let downs to make this a disappointing experience overall.

The good:
- Beautiful interior decorating, copying some of the styling from the Alhambra
- great sauna and the three pools (cold, warm and hot) seemed to get the temperature just right
- with only 8 people max per session it never felt crowded. We had a full complement of 8 and at times we felt almost alone. This is a great touch

The not-so-good:
- staff who gave the impression they didn't want to be there.
- we booked the traditional kessa massage, expecting something akin to what we had in morocco (which is what was promised when we asked). Firstly we were massaged as soon as we arrived, not towards the end of our hammam session when our skin should have been more ready for the massage. Secondly, there was barely a scrub involved, it felt more like a warm soapy wash down. Certainly no layers of skin and dirt coming off!
- no fault of the staff, but one of the pools had some unknown floating object in the pool (perhaps a bandage come loose?). Whatever it was, it detracted from the experience!
- no fresh towels offered at the end for showers and changing - our towels were all damp from the humidity in the hammam, so fresh towels would have been welcome.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexinBNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSA98, Atención al cliente at Hammam Al Andalus Granada, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear AlexinBNE,


Thanks for letting us your opinions.

In response to your comments we would like to make clear that although we are an Arab bath services we offer are not exactly the same as you can find in Morocco or Turkey, but are adapted to Western use. Additionally our staff usually inform the customer when they ask for differences.

As for the massage, should have told at the front desk when you would like to receive it and we would adapted to your request.

One towel per person is given, in case you need any more, you should asked at front desk.
We apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Hammam Al Ándalus Granada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,182
    495
    142
    65
    25
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very special for the price!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner went for their 2pm session for a massage and bathing. There were around 8 people in there together. It is very spectacular inside.. Worth a look at the tiles, alcoves and water features. Staff were pleasant and friendly. An earlier reviewer mentioned the massages being too light however we were asked how hard we wanted ours. I like a deep massage and this was relaxing but with a good pressure.
It was a good set up with lockers and towels and showers .. all in keeping with the decor.
This may be a place for tourists but so what .. Great experience.

Helpful?
Thank Wordamouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSA98, Atención al cliente at Hammam Al Andalus Granada, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Wordamount, etc:

Thank you for your comments and recommendation.

We're glad you enjoy every minute of the experience and positively valued our services, facilities and customer support.

Hope to see you again soon.

Hammam Al Ándalus Granada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibiza, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic way to end your day!”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Went to the midnight session at the baths, professional staff, amazing relaxing atmosphere and beautiful decor! Felt like we were walking on air afterwards. Plus I left my purse in the changing rooms and the staff were very helpful in getting this returned to me!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CarolineFranklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSA98, Atención al Cliente at Hammam Al Andalus Granada, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear CarolineFranklin:
Thanks for your comments.
Hope to see you soon.
Greetings from the team Hammam of Granada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great way to relax”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

I visited the Hammam after a day travelling to Granada and it was the perfect way to relax and forget the stresses of the journey. After spending time in the warm and hot pools, I had the Al Andalus ritual - with the Kessa bath and a massage with lavender oil. Thanks to Ana, I came out feeling totally de-stressed and since returning home, I have used the little bar of kessa soap and mitt that I was given and my skins feels wonderfully soft. Highly recommended!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaneyAdmira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSA98, Atención al Cliente at Hammam Al Andalus Granada, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear JaneyAdmira:
Thanks for your comments.
It is always nice to receive words as you let us.
Greetings from the team Hammam of Granada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazingly relaxing”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We love hot pools, thermal baths and a good hot sauna, so there was no question that we would have to go and visit an Arab bath while in Granada. We chose Hammam Al Andalus Granada, but to be honest on paper they all look much like. In the end, we were more than happy with our choice. The baths have a real atmosphere, are just so stunningly beautiful and generally really relaxing. There is a bit of a tourist thing going on, of course, you have to book for a two-hour slot and then the baths are shown and explain to you in a group with a bunch of other tourists. But don’t let this put you off. Once you know what to do, you can follow your own routine of hanging out in the warm pool, heating up in the hot pool and totally chilling down in the cold pool, followed by a visit to the steam room and then a cup of tea. Or was it the other way around? It doesn’t matter. You make those 2 hours entirely yours to enjoy and relax.

One thing I do have to say is that I personally would not book a massage. I did not include the massage into my rating as it would have totally brought it down. By a lot. But then massages are experienced quite differently by everyone. Personally I love a really hard deep tissue massage and what I got here was just a gentle stroking of my back. So don’t waste your valuable hammam time on a massage, just enjoy the pools, the steam room, the sweet tea and the amazing ambience. (We were only called for a massage after the 2 hours were up, so we didn’t really lose anything, so I didn’t mind in the end.)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JaxSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSA98, Atención al Cliente at Hammam Al Andalus Granada, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear JaxSyd,

We appreciate your comments.

We're glad you enjoyed the massage session although it was not entirely to your liking.
As for the massage, we offer relaxing massages and do not try to sell something different. Here we do not offer any treatment, is what differentiates us from other centers.

Once again, thank you for your opinion.

Hope to see you again.

Hammam Al Andalus Granada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hammam Al Andalus Granada also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Hammam Al Andalus Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing