We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, stunning - do not miss the splendour of this monastery”
Review of Monasterio Cartuja

Monasterio Cartuja
Book In Advance
More Info
US$105.17*
and up
Private Tour: Historical Granada
Ranked #19 of 215 things to do in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Bedford, England
Level Contributor
450 reviews
285 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 736 helpful votes
“Amazing, stunning - do not miss the splendour of this monastery”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Although it's not in the centre of Granada, it is definitely worth fitting in a visit to this Carthusian monastery. The first simple rooms you enter are dominated by large paintings depicting the persecution (often bloodthirsty) of the monks. But nothing prepares you for the Baroque magnificence of the church - we were speechless! It's a feast for the eyes, almost too much in it's excess. We have never seen anything like this and would recommend a visit.
Entrance is 4 euros and no photos are allowed (enforced). Toilets are available.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Somuchtosee01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    214
    69
    14
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
596 reviews
384 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
“Surprise, surprise”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This monastery is located outside of town, and we almost skipped taking the trip to see it. But we went, and what a surprise it was.

Driving up out front, the monastery looked like most of the others, very plain and simple. Then we went inside. The rooms at the front are simple rooms of the monastery and depressing as they contain many gross paintings of the martyrdom and suffering of the monks. I could not look at these paintings very long.

I was just about ready to leave when we entered the church. Oh, my! I couldn't believe what I saw after the rooms we had just gone through.. There was an extravaganza in the baroque style of magnificent columns and tabernacle in marble, statures and paintings in gold, gorgeous mahogany with bronze, and the list goes on. It was something to see. Opulence over the top.

The gardens are very nice and peaceful. Photos are allowed here but not inside. Too bad. Don't miss this one.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank igolfCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
158 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Somewhat Off the Beaten Track--But Well Worth a Visit”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

This Carthusian monastery has been well renovated and commands a beautiful view of the valley, with the Sierra Nevada as a monumental, snow-capped backdrop. Many of the huge paintings were exceuted by an 18th-century friar who chronicled the martyrdom of Carthusian monks and the history of the order--not exactly the main attraction of the site. BUT the church itself is an outstanding piece of Spanish Baroque art, opulently decorated--and so unpleasantly supervised that one cannot even take photos without flash ... . Nonetheless bus no. 8 takes you right there from downtown (a 20-minute ride), and it's worth it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank German_Retiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Baroque splendour”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

This Carthusian monastery is definitely worth a visit. You enter the place through a medieval cloister, very restrained, then enter an elaborately decorated baroque church which leads to a lavishly OTT counter reformation sacristy - stunning in its way...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dhiravat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“OTT”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Got here at the same time as two very large parties so the peace of the cloisters was a bit spoilt. Some of the decoration really has to be seen to be believed. Worth seeing but there are better places if your time in Granada is very short.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank goudhurstgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monasterio Cartuja also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Monasterio Cartuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing