We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb architecture”
Review of Monasterio Cartuja

Monasterio Cartuja
Book In Advance
More Info
US$105.54*
and up
Private Tour: Historical Granada
Ranked #21 of 214 things to do in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
135 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Superb architecture”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We saw very few visitors for this old monastery where monks lived, prayed and awaited death as their supreme happiness. Paintings are sometimes slightly primitive but the atmosphere is serene.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank hendrik_vankets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    210
    69
    14
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level Contributor
313 reviews
160 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“DO NOT MISS THIS”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

One of my favorite sites in Andalucia. I took a bus there from the center of town and was there in 10 minutes. There are 4 rooms to see, one more spectacular than the last. It is beautifully maintained, the marble work, gilded statues, columns, a beautiful assault on the senses. And it all works. YOu can't take pictures so I wound up buying a package of their postcards. The place is amazing.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A bit of a trek to get to but well worth the effort”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Check opening/closing times. We have been four or five times. Go and see this. It is wonderful - nothing more to say

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank oturaloslobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
268 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“From austere to spectacular”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

Upon entry, you self-guide around a rather austere and almost depressing rooms containing various martyrdom paintings. But the you enter the church and all changes. It is nothing less than spectacular. The carvings the woodwork, the ceilings, the altar all combine to make this a ¡wow! experience. It reminded us of the pilgrimage church Wein in Bavaria but without the colors. Even if you're "churched out", we recommend this one without hesitation.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jerandnanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
196 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We traveled to La Cartuja on the Hop On Hop Off bus and had about 40 minutes to visit the monastery. This was plenty of time. You can take pictures in the courtyard area but inside.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monasterio Cartuja also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to Monasterio Cartuja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing