We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good quality/prize, wonderful breakfast on the top floor, too small room”
Review of Suecia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Suecia
Ranked #66 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We were this downtown hotel in 09/2012

positive points :
- quality/prize is good
- The location of the hotel : close to center and on the road that leads to alhambra
- The breakfast is the best moment in a day there, especially that at summer breakfast could be taken in the top, offering a wonderful view on all town. Breakfast include all what you need (milk,coffee, hot bread, fruits, juice, cheese ..) and it is very tasty !!!
- The living room is very gorgeous, you feel in a historical house, we appreciated the romantic and vintage design …

negative points :
- if you come late at night, it is hard to find parking, cause the hotel lays in a dead-end that become easily full with cars of the other customers, and outside of that dead-end alley it is not allowded to park … My advice is to come early, to park in front of the hotel and to let the car there until the end of your vacation (in Grenada downtown, you cant use your cars, the streets are too straight and crowded).
- The room in which we were was quite small, the smallest room I ever seen in a hotel .. the bed and the wall were separated by only a meter away !! Bathroom is too small too ..
- no elevator

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olivierfrompaname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
There are newer reviews for Suecia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2012

Pension Suecia is an old spanish mansion that has been converted into a small hotel. It is located directly behing the worlds finest guitar maker Antonio Marin. Located in a convenient area where there is always parking , it is quiet and comfortable. I often take my clients there from all over the world. The Host and Hostess Jorge and Maria Luisa make you feel at home. It is walking distance from Campo del Principe where there are many bars and restuarants and just down the hill from the Alhambra. The prices are extremely reasonable.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet as the hotel is located in a little upper class neighborhood off the main st...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lisadegranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

I chose this pension after reading many tripadvisor reviews, hoping for something with more character and charm than just the typical hotel room. My room was simple with a shared bath, a good space for much needed rest after days of wandering the city. However, what made all the difference for me was the hospitality of the owners, Jorge and his wife. On my first night in, Jorge was happy to explain the best places to eat, hear flamenco, etc. He gave me a map, marked areas and wrote down names. My room had two single beds and a sink, and I could see the lit Alhambra from my wooden shuttered window. There was an adjustable radiator (great for the chilly, rainy days) and the shower was hot.

The next two mornings, breakfast in the upstairs dining room was fantastic, overlooking the mountains...a great spread of toast, ham, jam, a bit of cheese, yogurt, juice and coffee with milk. A lovely value for its 3.50.€ price. My breakfast each day was laid out by either Jorge or his wife. As I prepared the night before to take an early bus to the airport my last day, I told Jorge that I didn't need breakfast the next morning - it would be too early and rushed. He looked up the bus schedule online for me and explained where to catch it. At 6:50 the next morning, there was a knock on my door. Jorge held a cup and saucer and two hot pitchers of milk and coffee.

The house was charming, but even more so, the kind owners went out of their way to create a welcoming space.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daytonbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

The pension is in a very convenient location to the Alhambra and within a short walking distance to the Albaycin and Cathedral. The building and grounds are charming, the rooms very clean and functional. We saw one reception person the day we checked in, then never saw him or any other staff members again, but we were greeted each morning by a friendly gray cat. The walls are thin and the plumbing noisy, but our fellow guests were kind and we got plenty of rest. I will definitely stay there again.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
Thank smoozella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Nice and quiet house with anciently furnitured rooms and a terrace on the roof. Very helpfull staff! We have a pleasant feeling about this place and we are going to come again. I think that the decor of the pension matches the spirit of Granada.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tamilatam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We spent 2 nights here while travelling around southern Spain in July. The hotel is well sign posted and easy to find once you're on the main road. We were greeted by a lovely lady who checked us in very quickly and spent time to go over the map of Granada and point out bus routes, tapas areas etc which was very helpful! The rooms are basic but spotlessly clean and very good value for the price we paid. There is no A/C but the rooms have ceiling fans and very good shutters on the windows to keep the sun out. The hotels position in Granada is excellent, about 10 minutes walk to the main centre and 15 minutes walk to the Alhambra (if you can make it up the hill!).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

The friendly hotel owner provided us with a warm welcome despite our late arrival, spoke good English and was helpful in recommending places to go and how to get there. The hotel itself is in a quiet cul-du-sac with attractive entrance courtyard and fountain.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vicky11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
B&B Hotel Granada
#23 of 122 in Granada
791 reviews
Albero
#3 of 122 in Granada
561 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Cedran Hotel
Cedran Hotel
#101 of 122 in Granada
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Las Nieves Hotel
Las Nieves Hotel
#54 of 122 in Granada
332 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Pension Atlantida
Pension Atlantida
#103 of 122 in Granada
74 reviews
Hotel Ibis Granada
#33 of 122 in Granada
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suecia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suecia

Address: Lugar Huerta de los Angeles 8 off C. Molinos), 18009 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#45 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £24 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Suecia 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Suecia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suecia Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing