We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Might want to stay at another place”
Review of Marquis Urban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marquis Urban
Ranked #42 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Might want to stay at another place”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

The pictures looked amazing for the hotel but yet to see a pic of the hotel while I'm here. The front desk barely speaks English and it would have been nice if they knew the town of Granda. Our room had light bulbs messing. Ask the front desk for new bulbs and they told us we could get them tomorrow but we will be checked out by then....old starch towls will be what you get in the bathroom. If I were you I'd stay at different hotel! The best thing about this hotel is the bar next door! and no phones in the room so if you need the front desk you will have to take the elevator down to chat with them. They told us they had parking an they do but be advise small car only!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    205
    106
    28
    13
See reviews for
77
291
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We only stayed one night but had a good family room. Location was really good and it had some good cafe bars right outside. my only complaint that was the aircon unit was not very good and didnt cool the room very well. The staff were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onlyonce8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. Our room was really modern, clean and funky and the reception staff were super sweet and friendly. Our room was a good size with a small balcony. I would come back for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erintilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed in a room called "Sherlock Holmes" room.. It was newly decorated with minimalist style and dominated by white and green.. The hotel itself seems so tiny and small from outside..At first we are quite sceptic but then the room is huge, spacious, and clean.. it is basic but very comfortable.. bed is also big and comfortable.. bathroom is also huge, basic and clean with a big bathtub.. however there was no shower curtain, so it's a bit messy on the floor when you shower.. Service was just okay.. Staff are helpful and friendly.. We had a pleasant stay here! Granada is very beautiful... can't wait to come back..

The hotel is situated in a quite center area of granada and within walking distance to Plaza Nueva.. the bustop to Alhambra (bus no.30) is just in front of the hotel..

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Labambatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gateshead
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Have to say a nice modern hotel right in the centre. Reception staff at check in were good and pointed out places to go and where to eat. Had tickets booked the next day for the Alhambra so wanted an early night. Unfortunately, the management of the hotel decided to throw a party on the roof terrace. Flamenco dancing echoed throughout the hotel until 2 in the morning and we were kept awake until 3-4 am. We complained twice to reception who just shrugged their shoulders and did nothing as it was management who gad arranged it!!! We would have never have stayed here if we knew about this and on check out it seems they do this every couple of months. I am honestly disgusted with the management of the hotel who let this happen with no warning to guests prior to arrival. The second night we had there was quiet but the experience had already been ruined

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
intsik
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

nice to stay in a new hotel. beds were nice and comfy. common areas decorated funky. breakfast was 5euro, which was a great deal. the room was a bit oddly decorated. it seems like it was lacking furniture especially after seeing the common areas. the bathroom too, was clean, but looked like it belonged to another hotel.

hotel is located in a quiet area between gran via and the road up to alhambra. close to calle navas too. granada isnt too big, and its easy to get around by foot or bus.

service here was excellent. the girl in reception was really friendly and helpful and nice. special props to her.

would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intsik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neu-Isenburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

I spent a few nights there as I was attending a congress and I'm very satisfied with my experience.

The hotel is tucked away in a small square close to the centre of Granada. It allows very easy walking access to both the shops and restaurants in the centre as well as to the attractions and the more picturesque part of this beautiful city.

There is a very modern vibe throughout the establishment, from the common areas to the tastefully decorated rooms. I had a single room which was perhaps on the smaller side. However, with the exception of the awkwardly shaped, triangular table with the immovable lamp, the room was comfortable and very clean. The bathroom was spacious and everything functioned perfectly. Having said that, there was no phone and no safe and that is something that perhaps the hotel management ought to include.

I had no issues with sleep quality. The hotel is quiet and the rooms are soundproof, so I had no trouble with the noise from late-nighters outside.

Staff are friendly, young, very obliging and always easy to find.

Breakfast was ok, with a selection (not extensive) of all the basic things you'd expect to find. The coffee machine was a bit tricky to use and there were no eggs at all, so that could potentially be added.

Overall, with only minor things that can be smoothed out, I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wire_n_Wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Hotel Comfort Dauro 2
#22 of 122 in Granada
1,112 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
#18 of 122 in Granada
933 reviews
Hotel Carlos V
#24 of 122 in Granada
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marquis Portago
#87 of 122 in Granada
237 reviews
Hotel Molinos
#67 of 122 in Granada
262 reviews
Puerta de Las Granadas
#16 of 122 in Granada
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marquis Urban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marquis Urban

Property: Marquis Urban
Address: Plaza Fortuny 6, 18009 Granada, Spain (Formerly Portago Urban)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marquis Urban 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept of Hotel Urbano open to the city. It is located in the Plaza Fortuny, in the historic center of Granada. Imagine Emotions has created a trendy space where the atmosphere is the main attraction. Contemporary and colorful, is the place you should go if you live or go through Granada. Rooms that have been raised as an unconventional space thus available as per your design. Enjoy a snack in our gazebo overlooking Sierra Nevada and the Albaicin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marquis Urban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing