We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Granada”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection
Ranked #14 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
NL
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Granada”
Reviewed 4 July 2011

On the positive side:
Central location for sites and shopping.
Extremely friendly and helpful staff.
good food, including a la carte breakfast.
unique building
free soft drinks and beer in the minibar, a nice touch ( may change due to new owners)
Room well furnished but on the small side.
valet parking.

on the negative side,
hotel is tricky to find by car due to one way system (did not have sat nav in car)
Missed a bar in the hotel.
We had a better deal here than at the ac in Cordoba.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dave1NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    571
    350
    101
    24
    21
See reviews for
206
605
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We switched hotels when I saw that Marriott had just taken over operations and I was able to secure a more favorable rate for the monastery (Superior) rooms. We were disappointed and would choose a more centrally located hotel, a charming Albacyn inn, or perhaps the Parador next time. Service was in utter disarray - the poor fellows just seemed out of sorts, likely due to the changeover. Hotel didn't even have room information printed so we had to sleuth out things like spa, complimentary beverages, basic phone info, and other hotel services. They heavily advertise the hammam/sauna but it's a sad, unattended afterthought inside the tiny "gym." Units not even turned on for use. Courtyard is cool but, as others note, access is odd and it can get very noisy due to popular restaurant and functions. Aesthetically speaking, the dissonance between modern lobby (cheap, IKEA-like) and monastery area really jolts you - just doesn't make sense. Room nice though, yes, very dark. Finally, this is definitely not the best location, all the way down Gran Via where there isn't much to do/see. Yes, you can cross street and head up into Albazyn and walk down to Cathedral area and beyond, but if you're a stroller who enjoys some action it would be far better to be in one of those other areas, especially at night.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank kartwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Staying at the Palacio de Santa Paula practically means that you're sightseeing inside your own hotel. That's because a major part of it is a converted 18th century (I believe) convent, complete with an arcaded central courtyard. Having breakfast there in the morning is a pleasure hard to reproduce elsewhere.
The hotel does not lack for "mod cons", though: our room and bath were in excellent shape with a very comfortable bed, flat screen TV, and a nice range of toiletries. The room accommodated our two elementary school-aged sons without problems as well. An inspired and appreciated touch are the free drinks from the minibar (replaced once a day). The fitness room was pretty good and I was happy to find a rowing machine there although I would suggest replacing it with a newer model. The hotel also provides an Internet terminal which we used to good effect.
The location is outstanding: on the Gran Via de Colon (lots of bus connections, including to Alhambra literally at the front door), within a few blocks of the Cathedral, right at the edge of the picturesque Albaicin neighborhood, and well within walking distance of the Alhambra for the reasonably fit. Note that even though Gran Via is quite busy, you are simply unaware of its existence when you're in the courtyard and we heard no noise in our room at all.
The desk staff was very friendly and helpful throughout. My only criticism is that the personel at breakfast seemed standoffish at times.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckaroo-8th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

The hotel lobby is very modern and airy and the location is directly on tithe gran Via de Colon - so it's close enough to walk around the main city centre spots - Navas area for Tapas and the Cathedral. the tourist bus stop is just up the street so getting up to the Alhambra is also very simple. The modern facade belies the historic interior courtyard of the former convent and is a haven of tranquility - try to get a room overlooking the courtyard to keep - even better try to get room 26 which has a private terrace!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbybroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Stayed here having been so impressed by the AC Palacio in Cordoba.

Thought that the jump from Euro95/night (Cordoba) to Euro 300/ night (Granada) would equal a fantastic experience..............but no.

We were in the 'deluxe' rooms, but it wasn't anywhere near as wonderful as their 'lesser' hotel in Cordoba. Yes, it's a converted convent, and the courtyard is lovely, but............much as the room was huge, it was dark and noisy.......the bathroom of the room above us provided a constant background of waterfall sounds anytime the occupants used the shower or toilet.......really quite unbelievable - never experienced that before.

Also we had to ask for the bathroom floor to be cleaned on our arrival as it had a line of footprints across it!

The window overlooked a graffitti covered alleyway, and the offices opposite could see directly into the room.

On the positive side: some staff were helpful, especially the guy who 'rescued' us and parked the car. FYI you CAN drive along Gran via Colon, despite what the road signs say, if you are using the hotel. Wish we'd known that before we circled via the side streets for an eternity!!

The beds: massively comfortable. Deep supportive mattresses. Fanstastic. The lack of light also helped with sleep, but the noise from the street, and from the cleaners and equipment detracts from the benefits of divine mattresses and pillows.

I guess we may not have been this hotel's usual demograqphic - USA, Japan - slightly older - but a night here cost us the same as a night in Raffles (!) - and there is simply no comparison!

This was a complete waste of money (for us), and I'm sure there's much better value, and atmosphere, to be had in Cordoba.

Room Tip: Not room 135
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SquirrelyCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

We stayed for 3 nights having been relocated from another hotel we had booked at that were unable to accommodate us due to an electrical problem. As a result we did not know anything about the hotels facilities. On check in we were not given any information about the restaurant, breakfast or anything else. It wasnt until we got home and I looked on their website that I knew there was free internet in the lobby and a gym and sauna. There was no information even in the room.

We also werent asked on check in if we needed any help with our luggage, we didnt but it would have been nice to have been asked. These are things that a 5 star hotel should do.

The hotel is in an excellent location with plenty of eating places nearby and buses at the door.

The room was nice,decorated in a moorish style. We were the new part of the hotel, not the old part which has the deluxe rooms. We had no problems with noise from the street but the airconditioning seemed to take a long time to cool the room down at night and it wasnt even a hot day only mid 20s. The bed was comfortable but not quite what you would expect from a 5 star hotel . Both the room and bathroom were very clean and serviced well daily.

The mini bar was free but it only had soft drinks and beer, you would have had to order anything else from room service. There were no snacks.

We missed not having a bar at the hotel to sit and have a few drinks at . If you want to do this do yourself a favour and go to the rooftop bar at the Fontecruz hotel down the street. It has the most amazing views of the Alhambra and Cathedral.

We ate in the restaurant one night, it was lovely. we sat outside under the cloisters by candlelight. The staff were helpful although their English was basic (I cant really complain, it was better than my spanish) It was some of the best presented food I have ever had and I enjoyed my meal but my husband found it hard to choose from the menu and didnt enjoy his as much as I did.

As we didnt know anything about the breakfast menu or the price we didnt eat breakfast there. I know we could have asked but we shouldnt have had to. The staff werent particularly friendly. Only once on returning to the hotel did the staff greet us.

We enjoyed our stay but did not feel it was a 5 star experience. I travel a lot and do expect a lot from a hotel that claims to be 5 star.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayloverAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

This hotel in my opinion is not five star. Whilst the bathroom was a good size the bedroom was surprisingly small and not much better than a budget chain hotel. The TV had very limited channels.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#18 of 122 in Granada
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 122 in Granada
1,669 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
977 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection

Property: AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection
Address: Gran Via Colon 31, 18001 Granada, Spain (Formerly AC Hotel Palacio de Santa Paula by Marriott)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#10 Family Hotel in Granada
#13 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AC Palacio de Santa Paula, Autograph Collection (R) is located at the historic center of Granada, close to the Albaicín and Sacromonte areas, the Cathedral and the Royal Chapel, the historical Triunfo's Garden, the Archaeological Museum and, Of course, the Alhambra. Our beautiful Property, one of the best five-star hotels in Granada, is a restored masterpiece with 75 rooms and was declared a historical and artistic monument. The hotel replaced the Convent of Santa Paula and Casa Morisca, which existed in the 16th and 12th centuries, respectively. This luxury hotel in Granada also has "El Claustro" restaurant, located in the old refectory of the Santa Paula Convent, which offer our guests a haute cuisine service that mix elements of traditional Andalusian cuisine with modern culinary concepts. The best option to discover Granada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Marriott, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing