We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inner courtyard rooms very quiet and gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection
Ranked #12 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Perth
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Inner courtyard rooms very quiet and gorgeous”
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We booked a courtyard room which was really lovely, a wooden ceiling and the tray of fruit and mineral water on arrival was a nice touch. Later we heard a knock at the door and received chocolates from a very nice young lady. Breakfast was good and tne hotel is very clean.
The location is central and within walking disance of the historical sites and shopping.

The only negative I would mention was one male reception staff membef that wasn't any help at all when we had a problem with a local tour operator, in fact we received excellent assistance from a receptionist at the Alhambra Palace Hotel who assisted us in sprting out the local tour problem?

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marg10Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    556
    343
    97
    22
    19
See reviews for
201
584
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

A wonderful place to stay when visiting Granada. It has it all... excellent location, ambiance,comfort, service. You know that you are no longer in "Kansas" when you stay here...but instead part of European history, but with the modern conveniences to boot.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travelcat26
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This hotel was once a convent, and it is beautiful. They have done a wonderful job of mixing the uniqueness of the convent with sleek modern amenities. Our room was upstairs on the main courtyard. The few comments I’ve heard that were less than great came from people not on the main courtyard so I recommend requesting a room in this area. It was such a peaceful atmosphere. I definitely did not feel as if I was in the middle of a city. A tray of fresh fruit was in our room as a welcome gift, and the mini bar was free. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was decently spacious, and all of the room amenities were very nice. Our bathroom door was frosted glass, which I did not mind, but one person in my party felt uncomfortable in the bathroom despite the fact that you couldn't see through the door.

The hotel is in a great location, just a down the street from the Cathedral and Royal Chapel. Also the Alhambra bus has a stop right in front of the Cathedral. It not only takes you to the Alhambra (a must see in Granada), but also across the valley where you get the best view of the Alhambra with the mountains as a backdrop. Breakfast was very good. There is a variety of meats, bread, fruit, etc., plus you can order hot items off a menu. I highly recommend it. Also check out Taverna del Druida (just down the street) for dinner. The gazpacho and chocolate mousse were excellent. The spicy game hen was also very good.

Room Tip: Request a room on the main courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelcat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
125 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We (a mature couple) arrived by car at Granada from Jaen in the afternoon of September 8, 2011. Finding the hotel with GPS was very easy. We stayed 3 night at AC, and everything was just excellent. We've got a two-room suite (living room with a king-size sleeper and a bedroom with king-size bed) instead of a regular room which we booked over booking.com - the latter did not provide a suite option. Wonderful stuff, fluent in English, they parked our car, helped with the luggage, and provided advice and directions. Spacious bathroom with all imaginable amenities. Rooms large, clean, quiet, convenient. Beautiful Al-Andaluz patio, which serves meals and drinks at any time, and has free wi-fi. Very good location^ 5 min to all major attractions, cafes and restaurants. The hotel deserves all 5 stars. It is also relatively inexpensive: ~200 Euro/night for a suite and ~20 Euro garage.
We were so impressed that stayed at AC hotel at our next stop - in Almeria. Same quality.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank War-chique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
549 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We had spent the week touring all of Spain and were blessed with this incredible hotel on mid-week. The location was perfect and walking distance to both the historic sites and the shopping district. The beautiful courtyard roped us in to casual afternoon afternoons sipping Cava and enjoying the sunshine. We had no problems finding the hotel nor navigating as we toured the city. Our room was upgraded and included a living room, office space with patio doors to a small private courtyard. The rooms were fantastically modern and the price was unbelievably reasonable, I would have expected to pay twice the rate for a hotel of this caliber. As a Marriott Rewards member the amenities included a full bottle of Cava and those incredible almonds that practically melt in one's mouth.
We ate in the restaurant (The Cloister) for breakfast and enjoyed the best buffet of our trip. The lunch, which I will review in the dining section of Trip Adviser, was of the best as well. We enjoyed a tempura crab and vegetable appetizer, very light and full of flavor, followed by the sucking pig with a sauce that I will dream of for a long long time. The meal was complemented by several different types of artisan breads which were unique and the very best we enjoyed while in Espana. I would return to Granada if in Spain again simply to enjoy the fine dining experience and the courtyard.
We did use the exercise room or the spa, but we toured the space and it was very nice.
My sister and I were on holiday on this trip but I dream of bringing my husband here for a romantic retreat in the future.
One of the highlights of our Span trip!!!!

Room Tip: We had a wonderful room near the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We arrived at the bus station and caught bus 33 (eight stops) and it dropped us in front of the hotel. Also bus 3 from the bus station takes you here. The rooms were comfortable and plush. I had a standard room. The front desk lady was very helpful but not so friendly. David who works the pm shift was very friendly/helpful and made us feel more welcome. Free WIFI in the lobby only. The hotel is near the main points of attention. We took bus 32 to the Alhambra, which made several stops that included the Albaicin and Plaza San Nicolas which has the best views of the Alhambra. Try to ask the bus drivers and they will help you. Plenty of restaurants nearby and we got good recommendations from the staff. Their is CAIXA station nearby where you can print out your Alhambra tickets. We booked at Flamenco show with the hotel to see Maria la Canastera Show and it was great only 25 euros. They pick and drop you off at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The husband and I stayed at AC Hotel Palacio de Santa Paula while on our anniversary road trip across Andalusia. Finding the hotel was a little tricky . This problem was repeated throughout the holiday. Relying on the GPS doesn't help at all since it is common for the authorities to change the driving directions for the one-way streets fairly frequently. To add to that, the streets in the old quarters are often as wide as the car, making driving around an extremely trying task. I would recommend you call the hotel ahead of your arrival and get exact directions. Also, the parking was in line with the region- EUR 20 for a day. The valet guys drive it to a parking house close by and bring it to you at the time of check-out.
The proximity to the Cathedral and the Albayzin can not be beaten. And since we were in Granada just in time for the Corpus Christi celebrations, we had the chance to savour the feria fun from the doorstep of the hotel.
The hotel's staff were extremely helpful. They were wonderful to arrange for a surprise celebration cake at my request on the morning of our anniversary. I have to point out that my request was made fairly early in the morning, much before the kitchens opened. To add to that, the cake was delicious.
The only disappointing thing about the hotel was the decor in the newer block. While the hotel is built after renovating an original Andalusian palace, complete with an Andalusian courtyard (which was breathtaking), the adjoining newer block shows little of the local architecture and flavour. Our suite was commonplace in size and decor but the bathroom was lovely. The bed too, was very comfortable. However, since we were on the 5th floor in the new block, we were afforded some fabulous views of the city and the cathedral's dome. Definitely an advantage over the courtyard rooms. The minibar was free (this might be a common feature of hotels in Spain) and we loved the complimentary (traditional) cookies from the neighbouring bakery.
If we ever find ourselves in Granada again, we wouldn't mind staying at the Palacio de Santa Paula again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcblr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 122 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 122 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection

Property: AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection
Address: Gran Via Colon 31, 18001 Granada, Spain (Formerly AC Hotel Palacio de Santa Paula by Marriott)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#10 Family Hotel in Granada
#13 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AC Palacio de Santa Paula, Autograph Collection (R) is located at the historic center of Granada, close to the Albaicín and Sacromonte areas, the Cathedral and the Royal Chapel, the historical Triunfo's Garden, the Archaeological Museum and, Of course, the Alhambra. Our beautiful Property, one of the best five-star hotels in Granada, is a restored masterpiece with 75 rooms and was declared a historical and artistic monument. The hotel replaced the Convent of Santa Paula and Casa Morisca, which existed in the 16th and 12th centuries, respectively. This luxury hotel in Granada also has "El Claustro" restaurant, located in the old refectory of the Santa Paula Convent, which offer our guests a haute cuisine service that mix elements of traditional Andalusian cuisine with modern culinary concepts. The best option to discover Granada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing