We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lot's of history in this hotel! Definitely not your typical Marriott.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection
Ranked #12 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Lot's of history in this hotel! Definitely not your typical Marriott.”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

On a recent trip to Spain I stayed at the AC Palacio De Santa Paula Hotel in Granada Spain. I put a video together of the hotel grounds and room here: http://youtu.be/8OBBOllY9as


The hotel is composed of three main buildings, a renovated house/mansion, a renovated convent, and a new high-rise. I had a room in the basement of the renovated house/mansion. I think the fact that the hotel is just soo old is one of the neat parts of staying here... it doesn't look like every other Marriott in the world :). The room was very large and appointed rather nicely, though a bit dark on the inside due to the moorish theme. I could hear some noise from the outside hallway/courtyard, but it wasn't too bad.

The minibar is "free" and they refill it every day... that was a pretty nice perk. Additionally, the restaurant does provide ice as well, which sometimes is a rarity in Europe. A couple of nights we just brought back some take-out food to the hotel, ate on our sofa, and drank from the mini-bar. Very nice.

The hotel is situated perfectly for visiting downtown Granada and the Alhambra. The bus to the Alhambra picks up right in front of the hotel. If you're a Marriott person, like me, then I'd highly recommend this hotel for a trip to Granada.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YellowProductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    565
    345
    99
    24
    20
See reviews for
203
595
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night while visiting the Alhambra. The rooms were a little on the smaller side, but considering this was an old historic building converted into a hotel, it was to be expected. We were a little disappointed to not get a room with a fancy bed that has netting over it, like the pictures show, but apparently those are only for the superior rooms/suites. The mini bar in the room is free and had two beers, good juices and plenty of sodas. The hotel has a small gym and a nice sauna and turkish bath, which we used during the stay. Overall, would recommend and return here again.

Room Tip: If you want a room in the older, historic part of the hotel, with fancier, dated rooms, go for the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuzana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We recently spent two nights in a Superior Room at this hotel in Granada and were unimpressed with the overall quality of our stay. The location of the hotel is indeed very good on the Gran Via de Colon, with a short walk to the Cathedral and Royal Chapel, as well as Plaza Nueva. Our biggest complaint came in the lack of lighting and odd layout of the room. There was very little overhead light in the room, making for a very difficult time of finding articles in suitcases and making it very easy to miss the steps up and down to/from bathroom and closet area. The bed was comfortable, but the temperature in the room never really cooled off substantially even when the thermostat was turned down to the coldest allowed by the hotel. We had to sleep without comforter, under a thin sheet (and even then, I was hot). The breakfast in the hotel restaurant is adequate, but nothing too special. We had complimentary continental breakfast (couple of pastries, orange juice, coffee, water) and internet by virtue of Gold Marriott Status. The internet connection was through Movistar and was slow and inconsistent. Overall, we felt that this hotel was not worth the price (189 euros/night). We would definitely choose another hotel to stay at the next time we are in Granada.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoVuitton75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

About 4 blocks from major sights. The back part of the hotel is beautiful and quiet. I believe these are superior rooms. The street-side rooms don't look like much. Staff is professional and helpful. Internet in rooms (Moviphone) and lobby is really slow.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-Nebeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

This hotel is situated perfectly in the centre of Granada and with limited parking near the centre it, unlike many hotels, also provides valet parking at a small daily fee. With the car parked the centre is only 5 minutes walk.
Beautifully refurbished historic building with part 14th and part 16th century ex-monastery which provides a beautiful inner courtyard (cloister) for dining or just relaxing.
The restaurant provides a very good, up-market, menu from a world class chef, unfortunately very limited and expensive.
Overall - A great hotel with friendly staff in the right place. (will stay again)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Exceptional, Clean, Courteous and modern up to date facilities. Make sure you ask to stay at the former convent which is now part of the hotel. Wonderful experience! Dinners are prepared by a world class chef

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Allen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We spent one night here and really enjoyed our stay.

We thought the hotel was very luxurious. The air conditioning was effective and quiet and the windows well insulated, as we could not hear the traffic outside. The staff were very helpful. The courtyard is beautiful and the food was great - the breakfast choice ranged from American pancakes to gorgeous bread with cold meats.

It is well positioned, close to the Cathedral and the Albayzin area and about 25 mins walk from Alhambra.

We felt our stay here was a real treat.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#17 of 122 in Granada
1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 122 in Granada
1,638 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 122 in Granada
961 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection

Property: AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection
Address: Gran Via Colon 31, 18001 Granada, Spain (Formerly AC Hotel Palacio de Santa Paula by Marriott)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#10 Family Hotel in Granada
#13 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AC Palacio de Santa Paula, Autograph Collection (R) is located at the historic center of Granada, close to the Albaicín and Sacromonte areas, the Cathedral and the Royal Chapel, the historical Triunfo's Garden, the Archaeological Museum and, Of course, the Alhambra. Our beautiful Property, one of the best five-star hotels in Granada, is a restored masterpiece with 75 rooms and was declared a historical and artistic monument. The hotel replaced the Convent of Santa Paula and Casa Morisca, which existed in the 16th and 12th centuries, respectively. This luxury hotel in Granada also has "El Claustro" restaurant, located in the old refectory of the Santa Paula Convent, which offer our guests a haute cuisine service that mix elements of traditional Andalusian cuisine with modern culinary concepts. The best option to discover Granada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing