We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection
Ranked #14 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Stayed for 3 nights over Christmas and had a lovely time, staff on reception very helpful and friendly. Room was a good size and looked out onto the Gran Via de Colon. Very big and comfortable bed. Good large bathroom with all amenities one would expect from this standard of hotel. Only downside to the room was the very low lighting, one side of the room had no ceiling, wall or free standing lighting at all so that side of the room was always dark. We are also very surprised that in the 21st century hotels of this calibre and part of a large group have such limited TV choice for UK guests. BBC World News gets very boring after a while. It would be nice to have been able to relax at the end of the day and watch a British TV channel. The Balcon de Europa Hotel, in Nerja where we stayed the previous night has UK channels so it is possible. Not a big issue but a nice to have.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laura1503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,084)
There are newer reviews for AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

459 - 465 of 1,084 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

We stayed here for two nights in November and had an excellent experience. The service was impeccable-the person at the desk consistently when out of his way to ensure we had everything we needed. We were lucky to have a room in the older part of the hotel in the courtyard. It was amazing-clean, comfortable, luxurious and big. We especially loved the in room espresso maker. The breakfast was expansive and although a little expensive, well worth it. The location is great within walking distance to the cathedral and the Alhambra and many restaurants. It was a little confusing to reach by car but I think if you emailed them first to ask how to get there, they would happily give you instructions. We can't say enough great things about this hotel!

Room Tip: The courtyard rooms are amazing!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rileyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We have stayed for 03 nights . It is true it is a bit difficult to reach by your car to the city center. But once you are here , it is just simply wonderful. Hotel is so cosy and warm atmosphere.
Staff is very helpful and take care of each details.
Breakfast is very good.
Hotel is almost like museum and you ca see many paintings and object .
SItuated in the heart of city ,everything is on walking distance.
We would love to return back to enjoy once again their hospitality.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are really worth of trying with courtyard view
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mohita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Visiting Granada for 6 nights while our son was studying there and with my Marriott points decided that this was the place to stay.

The hotel is so beautiful, the staff so attentive and the location is perfectly located in the center of the city. All the major sites and neighbourhoods are within walking distance.

The only issue we had was with the wifi as they were in the midst of a changeover and it was a bit of an issue for me as I needed to work while there.

In all, I would highly recommend you make this your home when staying in Granada!

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank Akeyes1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed here over Christmas for four nights. The hotel is located well and about a ten minutes walk to most things you want to see in Granada. It is a mix of old and new like other reviewers have noted with not much left of the old . Our rooms were not off the court yard. We had one double and one twin for our two children over looking the road. They are double glazed so very quiet. Rooms are nice but quiet small for a five star hotel. The twin room was larger with a couch. Nothing special. More a four and a half stars rather than a five. Nice bathrooms.

The staff were every friendly and attentive. Especially the lovely ladies who cleaned our rooms and dropped the chocolates off to us each night. The desk staff were very helpful with queries we had about things and spoke excellent English

We had Christmas lunch at the hotel restaurant and it was excellent. Highly recommend the restaurant and also the snacks menu downstairs.

Only problem was getting to the hotel. If you are driving yourselves then beware. We had a rental car and had driven across from Seville and Cadiz with no problems using our car navigation device which was ours and had the latest maps for Spain updated on it. Granada has this system of roads with only bus lanes which are not on the road maps for some reason. Therefore before you know we are on a street that you are not supposed to be on and end up getting booked.

Our device took us down a road and we found ourselves in a bus lane. We got pulled up by a tourist cop who went mad at us and directed us off the bus lane. He then gave us a map showing us how to get to our hotel . We then found out that this road also had bus lanes. We parked and walked fifteen minutes to our hotel to find out from the hotel how we are supposed to drive up if the road has bus lanes. We were told to just drive to the hotel along the bus lane and park outside and then the valet would park our car. I asked them whether we would be booked and they told me that they would let the police know and we shouldn't get booked. We were so stressed when we finally made it into our rooms. Not really the welcome we were expecting from our five star stay on Christmas eve.

I will be waiting then we get home for the letter from the rental company with a fine from the police in Granada. Really it is a night mare for tourists who want to drive given the public transport options across Spain are really not that good. If you are flying into Granada then you will be fine as the Taxis are allowed to use the bus lanes.

Wifi worked really well and was reasonably fast and free. Have stayed in nicer four star hotels in Spain.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zitaaussiemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Our first trip to Granada and Javier, the duty manager checked us in. He was extremely courteous and helpful with all our queries.

Hotel was quiet, full of character(a converted convent) and you notice the attention to the little details. Nothing was overlooked.

Bottom line, a great central location in a great destination! Love it!

P.S: visit the courtyard and get a glass of wine

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Trangokok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Mixture of modern and old that has not worked. Cold, uninviting, confusing. Definitely would not recommend. Friendly reception but that is about it. Too many open air stairs and walking round a cold, draughty courtyard to get to rooms that are poorly lit. NOT five star.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else, especially if you visit in winter. Not comfortable, not cosy.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#4 of 122 in Granada
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#17 of 122 in Granada
1,550 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,257 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#5 of 122 in Granada
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection

Address: Gran Via Colon 31, 18001 Granada, Spain (Formerly AC Hotel Palacio de Santa Paula by Marriott)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#10 Family Hotel in Granada
#13 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £126 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AC Palacio de Santa Paula, Autograph Collection (R) is located at the historic center of Granada, close to the Albaicín and Sacromonte areas, the Cathedral and the Royal Chapel, the historical Triunfo's Garden, the Archaeological Museum and, Of course, the Alhambra. Our beautiful Property, one of the best five-star hotels in Granada, is a restored masterpiece with 75 rooms and was declared a historical and artistic monument. The hotel replaced the Convent of Santa Paula and Casa Morisca, which existed in the 16th and 12th centuries, respectively. This luxury hotel in Granada also has "El Claustro" restaurant, located in the old refectory of the Santa Paula Convent, which offer our guests a haute cuisine service that mix elements of traditional Andalusian cuisine with modern culinary concepts. The best option to discover Granada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing