We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in Granada” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection
Ranked #12 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Granada”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful building in the center of Granada. Fast checkin, kind staff.
Rooms are spacious, clean, well decorated. Good wifi, everywhere in the hotel.
Good breakfast buffet, aside from the coffee machine (cheap coffee).
Great outdoor patio for smoking.
The only negative point is the smell of usage in the bathroom, poor piping.
Overall very good hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank FrancoAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    335
    96
    22
    18
See reviews for
198
569
24
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
197 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

This hotel comprises of several buildings. Therefore all rooms differ and the hallways are like a maze. Some rooms are located around an inner yard, others face a busy street. Room 117 was tiny, cosy and offered a fair amount of luxury considering the price.

However, there was no safe deposit box and it was bothersome to stop at the reception every time to have them take care of my laptop and DSLR camera. There's no separate shower, one has to stand in the tub to take a shower. When doing so at a popular time plumming cannot cope and the water alternates between too cold and too hot.

Other guests reported about much bigger rooms with different equipment, different styles and different pros and cons. So your mileage may vary in this hotel. If you don't like your room, ask for another one because service is decent no matter what room you're in.

Room Tip: Rooms differ depending on the building you're in. Dare to ask for a different one if you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank i0kan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fran Q, Front Office Manager at AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Iokan

Thank you for taking the time to write a reviw of our hotel, AC Palacio de Santa Paula. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Granada, and that despite the problems reported, your global experience in our city and our hotel is positive.

All the comments of our guests helps us to identify where we can improve and the work or services that are or are not as expected. That is why your constructive review is valuable for us and will be taken of course in consideration.

Thank you as well for the nice words about our human team, we effor every day to give our customers the best service, and I will personally inform about your review to them.

Once again, thank you for trusting us for your stay in Granada and for your review, we hope we can be again your choice if in the future you visit our city.

Fran Quesada
Front Desk Manager
Hotel AC Palacio de Santa Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

This hotel is pretty close to everything except the Alhambra. The rooms were spacious and well appointed although the nicer rooms circle a beautiful inner courtyard (no Alhambra view). Hotel staff was incredibly knowledgeable and helpful. This hotel is a very good Marriott hotel and the only downside is the lack of a view.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife and I had an excellent 2 night stay at the AC Santa Paula in Granada a beautiful period hotel (a converted 15th century convent) at Granada in Spain. The rooms were beautifully appointed - the entire hotel has the ambience that comes from its origins as a convent.

The service is outstanding and very proactive. We were very ably assisted by Xavier at reception who actually took the time to work out what we wanted to do - as it happens we arrived on a holiday and could not book or reserve our seats for the tour to Alhambra - Xavier managed to use his contacts to book us on the tour

We also benefited from his advice on where to eat in Granada and what to see within the short time we were there. Nadine at the guest relations counter was outstanding who actually went out of her way to ensure that we were always looked after. The hotel has some excellent chefs - we dined in on the last night to a beautifully cooked and presented four course meal - Jose the head waiter was outstanding.

An excellent stay at a beautiful hotel made all the more memorable by a caring staff who looked after us very well.

Many Thanks

Room Tip: The rooms around the courtyard are absolutely gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Room 13 facing a very busy street
About 30sq ft at a guess with large bathroom and dressing area. Shower over large bath. High quality toiletries and toothbrush razor, comb etc that you tend to get in Spanish hotels. Muted and tasteful decor with warm paint scheme and floor tiles. and large bed with quality linen. Excelent soundproofing from street (Thank godness) though with windows open, deafening. Wi Fi included and my TV was large with loads of channels inc BBC news.
Old part of hotel in Cloistered area and delightful, with a fountain in the centre and an outside drinking/ dining area. Breakfast with everything you could ask for and hot fresh dishes made to order. Dinner maybe a bit pricey, but perfectly excuted and served by knowledgeable and friendly Engish speaking staff. Great wine list too. Stayed two nights on business and will stay there again without hesitation. As good as the Parador and nearer the centre of Town.

Room Tip: If you want fresh air refuse any rooms on the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Carlos, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

We enjoyed our stay in this AC hotel. The hotel is central/walking distance to restaurants, gelato shops, stores and bus routes to get to the Alhambra. The room was on an upper floor, reached by an elevator and then a short walk overlooking the interior courtyard. The room was large, nicely decorated, still had the charming feel of an old convent and quaint old windows with wooden shutters that could be opened. The bathroom was small but perfectly adequate and had everything you could possibly want. The staff was very professional, friendly and helpful and gave us tips on the best way to get to the Alhambra, where to print our tickets (you have to go to the wall kiosk down the street) and where to get great food. We tried out a vegan restaurant they suggested in the old quarter and it lived up to its billing. We would definitely stay here again. They also helped us with figuring out how to get to our rental car pick up location. There was a lot of construction going on in the town so several streets had turned into one ways. We took the bus from the airport into town and though they only have 3-4 designated stops only, this hotel was just a few yards down the street.

Room Tip: The street is noisy so requesting a room that faces the inner courtyard would be my suggestion
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SantaClara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Pleasant, clean, friendly and helpful service. All of the things you would expect as a bare minimum in a 5* hotel. However, the rooms are dated. Decoration is a bit banal and amenities available in the rooms are limited. Super small TV (even if the most interesting things to see are outside, if one is travelling for business, one likes to watch the news in the mornings/evenings and not ideal in the standard rooms). For music, you'll have to bring your own solution as in the room there is a radio and CD player only.

Natural light is very limited which makes for sombre rooms. Most rooms have only one small window that gives onto the interior square which is pleasant but means you'll live in the dark. None of this is helped by the fact that the tones in the room are very dark as well. Beautiful lofted ceilings though.

All in all, not enough bang for your buck and certainly on the lower end of hotels that bear the title "palace."

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annie83Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
El Ladron de Agua
#5 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection

Property: AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection
Address: Gran Via Colon 31, 18001 Granada, Spain (Formerly AC Hotel Palacio de Santa Paula by Marriott)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#10 Family Hotel in Granada
#13 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AC Palacio de Santa Paula, Autograph Collection (R) is located at the historic center of Granada, close to the Albaicín and Sacromonte areas, the Cathedral and the Royal Chapel, the historical Triunfo's Garden, the Archaeological Museum and, Of course, the Alhambra. Our beautiful Property, one of the best five-star hotels in Granada, is a restored masterpiece with 75 rooms and was declared a historical and artistic monument. The hotel replaced the Convent of Santa Paula and Casa Morisca, which existed in the 16th and 12th centuries, respectively. This luxury hotel in Granada also has "El Claustro" restaurant, located in the old refectory of the Santa Paula Convent, which offer our guests a haute cuisine service that mix elements of traditional Andalusian cuisine with modern culinary concepts. The best option to discover Granada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing