We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful with outstanding staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection
Ranked #14 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My fiancé and I recently traveled through Portugal and Spain and found this hotel to be one of the most welcoming and comfortable. The staff here continuously went above and beyond our expectations. They were some of the most helpful hotel staff I have ever encountered and truly made our experience in Granada as best as it could be. My fiancé and I both travel frequently (almost weekly) for work and neither of us have ever run into such a great hotel staff. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to travel to Granada.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMS818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,085)
There are newer reviews for AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

446 - 452 of 1,085 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

The AC Santa Paula (Marriott Autograph Collection) was the best of our three hotels on our current trip through Spain. I can rave about are the incredibly professional, knowledgeable, courteous and friendly staff here, especially Javi and Carmen at the front desk. In my superior room, there is a bit more room compared to the standard ones (not exactly sure of the category names). Notably, the wifi was lightning fast and reliable throughout the visit, which is really important. The bathroom was also luxurious, except for the cheap toiletries from PRC (China). The only annoying point of the room would be the windows/air conditioning situation. It was hot in the day and we had to open the windows as there was no AC yet in March. The hotel is located right on the Gran Via and it is extremely noisy. When the windows are shut, however, it's completely silent. Another small annoyance was the cost of laundry. 11 Euro for one shirt to be washed and pressed is exorbitant.

I got sidetracked with a few small problems, but let me assure you that this hotel is perfect for your visit to Granada. It's a modern retrofit attached to a historic convent! It's got so much atmosphere, especially in the bar, restaurant areas which overlook the courtyard. The hotel is located close to everything as Granada isn't a large city. We only took taxis to and from the train station and the Alhambra as you can walk everywhere easily.

This hotel holds a special place in my heart as it was a great home base in a very memorable city.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Tokyo Shirokuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Beautiful building in the center of Granada. Fast checkin, kind staff.
Rooms are spacious, clean, well decorated. Good wifi, everywhere in the hotel.
Good breakfast buffet, aside from the coffee machine (cheap coffee).
Great outdoor patio for smoking.
The only negative point is the smell of usage in the bathroom, poor piping.
Overall very good hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank FrancoAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This hotel comprises of several buildings. Therefore all rooms differ and the hallways are like a maze. Some rooms are located around an inner yard, others face a busy street. Room 117 was tiny, cosy and offered a fair amount of luxury considering the price.

However, there was no safe deposit box and it was bothersome to stop at the reception every time to have them take care of my laptop and DSLR camera. There's no separate shower, one has to stand in the tub to take a shower. When doing so at a popular time plumming cannot cope and the water alternates between too cold and too hot.

Other guests reported about much bigger rooms with different equipment, different styles and different pros and cons. So your mileage may vary in this hotel. If you don't like your room, ask for another one because service is decent no matter what room you're in.

Room Tip: Rooms differ depending on the building you're in. Dare to ask for a different one if you don'...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank i0kan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fran Q, Front Office Manager at AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Dear Iokan

Thank you for taking the time to write a reviw of our hotel, AC Palacio de Santa Paula. We hope you enjoyed your stay in Granada, and that despite the problems reported, your global experience in our city and our hotel is positive.

All the comments of our guests helps us to identify where we can improve and the work or services that are or are not as expected. That is why your constructive review is valuable for us and will be taken of course in consideration.

Thank you as well for the nice words about our human team, we effor every day to give our customers the best service, and I will personally inform about your review to them.

Once again, thank you for trusting us for your stay in Granada and for your review, we hope we can be again your choice if in the future you visit our city.

Fran Quesada
Front Desk Manager
Hotel AC Palacio de Santa Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This hotel is pretty close to everything except the Alhambra. The rooms were spacious and well appointed although the nicer rooms circle a beautiful inner courtyard (no Alhambra view). Hotel staff was incredibly knowledgeable and helpful. This hotel is a very good Marriott hotel and the only downside is the lack of a view.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife and I had an excellent 2 night stay at the AC Santa Paula in Granada a beautiful period hotel (a converted 15th century convent) at Granada in Spain. The rooms were beautifully appointed - the entire hotel has the ambience that comes from its origins as a convent.

The service is outstanding and very proactive. We were very ably assisted by Xavier at reception who actually took the time to work out what we wanted to do - as it happens we arrived on a holiday and could not book or reserve our seats for the tour to Alhambra - Xavier managed to use his contacts to book us on the tour

We also benefited from his advice on where to eat in Granada and what to see within the short time we were there. Nadine at the guest relations counter was outstanding who actually went out of her way to ensure that we were always looked after. The hotel has some excellent chefs - we dined in on the last night to a beautifully cooked and presented four course meal - Jose the head waiter was outstanding.

An excellent stay at a beautiful hotel made all the more memorable by a caring staff who looked after us very well.

Many Thanks

Room Tip: The rooms around the courtyard are absolutely gorgeous.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Room 13 facing a very busy street
About 30sq ft at a guess with large bathroom and dressing area. Shower over large bath. High quality toiletries and toothbrush razor, comb etc that you tend to get in Spanish hotels. Muted and tasteful decor with warm paint scheme and floor tiles. and large bed with quality linen. Excelent soundproofing from street (Thank godness) though with windows open, deafening. Wi Fi included and my TV was large with loads of channels inc BBC news.
Old part of hotel in Cloistered area and delightful, with a fountain in the centre and an outside drinking/ dining area. Breakfast with everything you could ask for and hot fresh dishes made to order. Dinner maybe a bit pricey, but perfectly excuted and served by knowledgeable and friendly Engish speaking staff. Great wine list too. Stayed two nights on business and will stay there again without hesitation. As good as the Parador and nearer the centre of Town.

Room Tip: If you want fresh air refuse any rooms on the main street.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#17 of 122 in Granada
1,547 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,256 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection

Address: Gran Via Colon 31, 18001 Granada, Spain (Formerly AC Hotel Palacio de Santa Paula by Marriott)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#10 Family Hotel in Granada
#13 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £127 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AC Palacio de Santa Paula, Autograph Collection (R) is located at the historic center of Granada, close to the Albaicín and Sacromonte areas, the Cathedral and the Royal Chapel, the historical Triunfo's Garden, the Archaeological Museum and, Of course, the Alhambra. Our beautiful Property, one of the best five-star hotels in Granada, is a restored masterpiece with 75 rooms and was declared a historical and artistic monument. The hotel replaced the Convent of Santa Paula and Casa Morisca, which existed in the 16th and 12th centuries, respectively. This luxury hotel in Granada also has "El Claustro" restaurant, located in the old refectory of the Santa Paula Convent, which offer our guests a haute cuisine service that mix elements of traditional Andalusian cuisine with modern culinary concepts. The best option to discover Granada. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your AC Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Palacio De Santa Paula, Autograph Collection Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing