We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location great staff”
Review of Plaza Nueva Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaza Nueva Hotel
Ranked #75 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 23 March 2009

Yeah, like the other reviews, can't think of a better location for the hotel, and the staff were lovely. Very good value

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hellowheeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

108 - 114 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2009

Great location on the lively Plaza Nueva in the centre of Granada. Cross the road and 20 mins walk to Alhambra. Breakfast on the plaza to the front of the hotel and a multitude of bars and restaurants on the warren of narrow streets behind the hotel. A great city . Myself & seven friends spent 4 days there in March 2009. An hour and a half drive from Malaga Airport - use Gold car rental 85 euro for a five seater Citroen Picasso.Plaza Nueva relatively easy to find but beware of the security system that tries to divert you away from the plaza - go to the intercom and state your hotel details.
Day One skiing in Sierra Nevada (1hr away),Day 2 Moorish bathouse,Day 3 La liga game in Malaga after lunch and a swim in Nerja and Day 4 visit to Alhambra. Great holiday and Trenatario on 24 hour hotel reception in very helpful

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinSDFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2009

Lots of great things about this hotel:
Location - you can't find a better spot to situate yourself. Close to restos, tourist office, Banos Arabes, in the heart of the city and right at the foot of the path straight to the Alhambra, Sacramonte and Albacyin.
Rooms/ Bathroom - Very clean, well decorated rooms that are a good size. Ditto the bathrooms
Helpful staff

A couple of cautions though - We sprung for the superior double room because we were told the view was excellent but the room faced the square and was quite noisy. And the view of the Alhambra was not that great. To be honest, I've been to Granada before and stayed in rather poorer digs but had a much better view. So don't shell out for the superior double. The only bonus is the view. The room is not bigger.

Also - don't shell out the 8 euro for breakfast. You'll get the same deal (or better) if you venture out on your own.

I only have one complaint - the one computer was down during our two day visit.

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequent_flyer29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2009

I agree with the other reviewers - this is a great little hotel. Nothing fancy, but in a superb location and with lovely staff. We had room 27, which looked out over the square and up towards the Alhambra - most other hotels charge extra for a view of it. Directly opposite is the road that leads up to the Alhambra and takes you past a fab little tapas bar called Grand Taberna. Very atmospheric and good food, too.
The only downside was, as you would expect, the noise. The Spanish do party (loudly!) until late, but I found that a glass or so of Rioja sorted that!
Superb value for a city centre hotel. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YayaBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2009

Stopped at the Plaza Nueva for a long weekend and enjoyed every minute! Situated in a little square with lovely views the hotel has a smart little lobby area with free internet . The room we stayed in was spacious and spotless.
When we arrived the receptionist was checking our passports and realised it was my girlfriends birthday and presented us with a token for free drinks in the adjoining tapas bar which i thought was a lovely touch. The bar itself is well worth a visit as is many of the bars in the area,with the free tapas i dont think we visited a restaurant all weekend!!! Overall a great hotel which i would definitely visit again in the future!.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Archieleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

What a fantastic time we had in the Plaza Nueva Hotel. We booked direct with the hotel on its web site. I emailed about parking arrangements and was sent a reply straight away which I thought was a good sign. When we arrived we were greeted by a gentleman called Trinitario who I think owns the hotel, he couldn’t do enough for us, first he helped us park the car and then answered all our questions about the local bars, areas to see and of course the Alhambra. We were given a lovely room overlooking the square and we could see the Alhambra from our window. On some reviews people complained of noise from the square but we had no problem, maybe the square is busier in summer. The Alhambra is only ten mins walk from the square but I saw buses picking people up to take them up as it is quite steep if you are not so fit. The hotel is totally surrounded by culture whether it be historic or café, tapas bars or restaurants. We had a great time in Granada and I would stay in the Plaza Nueva Hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank brenriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2008

Here we go again!

Ok...I like big spacious hotels....and don't mind paying a little more for that little extra comfort but, I found here at the Nueva I didn't have to pay extra at all. The wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and if we go back to Granada we will 100% definitely be staying here again. Let me tell you why.

We're from the UK so like our hotels to be squeaky clean, to have only the very friendliest of staff and to have all the usual accessories such as free internet, loads of free toiletries etc. This hotel certainly didn't disappoint!.

1) Location
Perfectly located to see the main sites such as the all the different cathedrals, the enormous church, the markets, the street entertainers, the local parks, the Muslim quarter and also, it is 2 minutes away from a very regular bus service that takes you to the Alhambra palace, which is only a 5 or 7 minute bus journey. Location wise, you really really REALLY can't go wrong.
The hotel is in the very heart of it all so you feel in the middle of it all as soon as you arrive.


*Important!!!!!! This hotel has TWO exterior walls.

One of the walls faces the main square. Rooms on this side of the hotel allow you to have quite excellent views of the main market square and the church and the Alhambra.

The other exterior wall faces an alley-way. If you get a room on this side of the hotel, your view will compose of ....errrr...a load of back alleys...which isn't so great and you might find your morning stretch at the window quite dull……. In contrast, if you had a deluxe room, you’d be waking to a morning stretch on a balcony, with the sun in your face, overlooking the main market square and looking up at the Alhambra. Totally awesome. The sun does really shine in through the windows on your face on the main market side of the hotel.

The entrance to the hotel is on the alley-side of the hotel.

Personal Tip - You will 100% want to book one of the Deluxe rooms, or at least call the hotel and say you'd like a room with a view of the Main Square, as for so many nights the wife and I just pulled up a few chairs on to our balcony...yes we had a balcony on the deluxe suite on the top floor, and just watched the hustle and bustle of the main square....so for an extra £5-£10 per day, you really can't go wrong with a Deluxe room and an excellent view for your entire stay, and it really would be wrong of you not to stay in the deluxe rooms...even if you are on a tight budget.

2) Staff....Nothing but friendly, always ready to help and offer a hand with directions, maps and generally ok for a chat too.

3) Breakfast....we didn't have breakfast so I can't really comment.

4) Cleanliness. The hotel was very clean from all aspects, the stairs leading to our room, the lift, the hallway outside our room, the bathroom, the bedroom. The hallway had some nice lights and lamps which were noticeable along with several nice paintings.

5) Bed and Bathroom. Our deluxe room was very spacious and clean. Extra sheets, nice wooden floor and wooden furniture. Excellent view (can not emphasise this enough!) High ceiling, wooden window shutters which closed perfectly, the morning sunshine would wake us up...oh such a nice stay!

Bathroom was nice, large and clean, shower was a Great power shower, nice big bath-tub...can't really complain about anything.

Things to be aware of.....No Iron, the hotel doesn't provide you with one so you may want to take a travel iron with you, and don’t forget your adaptor.

FREE CASH. We haggled on the phone before we flew to Spain. We booked the room through the hotel by calling in. We found the cheapest rate online, about £50 per night, and then called saying "hi we've got a rate of £50 from X site, we want to upgrade to a Deluxe room for £60 per night...." and then at the end of the conversation, we politely asked for a small discount as we were staying in an upgraded Deluxe room, for 3 nights, for two people"... so we got £5 off per night....not bad eh 

The hotel is rated a 3* officially, and if you stayed in a standard room, or a room with a view of the side alley, I’m sure you'd say "yep, that was a pretty good 3*"......

However, pay that extra £5-10 per night, get that Deluxe room WITH THE VIEW of the Alhambra and the Market and you will definitely say, like we did, it was totally worth the while and the hotel would easily be rated a 4* experience.

I hope this review helps and if you have any questions please feel free to ask, happy to help :)
Shaf.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Shaf79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Hotel Macia Plaza
#38 of 122 in Granada
642 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Casa Palacio Pilar del Toro Hotel
Puerta de Las Granadas
#17 of 122 in Granada
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Hotel Anacapri
Hotel Anacapri
#29 of 122 in Granada
738 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Marquis Urban
Marquis Urban
#44 of 122 in Granada
519 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
Hotel Monjas del Carmen
#21 of 122 in Granada
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Nueva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Nueva Hotel

Address: Plaza Nueva 2, 18010 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: £37 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Nueva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming hotel at Granada Centre. some rooms with views over Plaza Nueva. Request aditional information if you will drive on the city centre ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Plaza Nueva Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Nueva Granada
Plaza Nueva Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing