We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful little hotel”
Review of Hotel Casa Morisca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Morisca
Ranked #2 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2011

This hotel is a beautifully restored Moorish house on the edge of the old section of Granada. It faces a parking street that has no traffic so it is quiet but right around the corner from restaurants and an easy walk to the center of the city. Our room was small but elegant and immaculately clean, as was the bathroom. If you leaned out the window and looked right there was a great view of the Alhambra! The desk people gave us great dining recommendations, and the breakfast, served in the vaulted basement, was excellent. They have parking but we parked in the city lot and took a taxi to the hotel--driving in the old city is a nightmare.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timoteo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 796 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2011

We loved the historical charm and Moorish character of this hotel. Considering its age, this is very well maintained. Staff were just lovely. Great views to the Alhambra and nice outdoor cafes along the river out front. Only disappointment was the quality of the breakfast. They need more choice for those of use who don't like ham and other meats for breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeslieC_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

A 16th Century building which has been converted into a 14 room hotel just below the Alhambra. It has the best hotel manager I've ever met, his name is Wilfredo and he knows everything there is to know about Granada and the Alhambra. Rooms are small, but comfortable, bathrooms are good sized and the view of the Alhambra outside your window is breathtaking. We had arranged for a 3 hour tour before leaving on our trip, strongly suggest you do the same. We used "Visitar Granada" they were very good but there are many to choose from. If you're looking for a small stylish, historic residence with a Moorish-style inner court, this is the place.

Room Tip: Use their website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brooklyn35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2011

Enjoyed our stay here so much that I have just booked again for this year. If you want to experience the atmosphere of the old quarters in Granada and still be near everything you could possibly want to see, this is the perfect location, if you are reasonably fit then most places are in walking distance. Excellent staff, nice rooms with authentic feel ( you can stay in a modern hotel anywhere anytime). Breakfast for us was more than sufficient, when in Spain, don't expect "full English" all the time, otherwise stay at home.
As others have pointed out, driving is a not easy. Would recommend checking out the access road to the hotel on google earth first, so you know what to expect, if we hadn't known that traffic was allowed, we would have thought it to be pedestrian only! Be warned you will get lost, but it's worth it when you get there.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pawsforawalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

Casa Morisca is a perfect base for exploring Granada and southern Spain. We stayed for four nights in late March. The hotel is lovely and is only a short walk from the Alhambra and the main plazas. We stayed in an outside facing room with our kids in a less expensive courtyard room, and both were just fine.
Casa Morisca is a little off the beaten path, so if you are driving, follow the hotel's direction sheet precisely and don't panic--you will get there.
As many others have noted, purchase your Alhambra tickets in advance so that you are guaranteed entry into the Nasrid Palaces.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CincyJoe95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

In November I stayed at the Hotel Casa Morisca with my mother and her friend, to celebrate my mom's birthday. The hotel helped me arrange a beautiful bouquet of flowers to be in the room waiting for my mother upon our arrival and throughout our stay the hotel staff was very helpful. The hotel is charming. Our room was lovely and had a beautiful view of the Alhambra. At night the hotel recommended an excellent restaurant to celebrate the birthday. The next day the hotel helped us plan our trip to Alhambra and arrange transportation to our next destination. La Casa Morisca is a great hotel with great service to match!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Alhambra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaellaS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

Nice little hotel in easy walking distance of the Alhambra and Albazin district of town. Rooms are basic and a little small but overlook a great traditional moorish courtyard. Great service from the guys at the front desk. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Driftwood73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,281 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,761 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
1,007 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 122 in Granada
1,583 reviews
El Ladron de Agua
#6 of 122 in Granada
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Morisca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Morisca

Address: Cuesta Victoria 9, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#11 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £84 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Morisca 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Morisca Hotel is located in Albaicin, Granada Center, opposite to the Alhambra with a greats Alhambra Views from the Hotel. The Alhambra is the most visited monument in Spain, with more than 3 million visitors over anuales.Situada Hill Sabika was founded by Alhamar, first monarch of the Nasrid dynasty, as palace city where his new kingdom to rule. It is the only Muslim medieval palace that has come almost entirely to our time Morisco is the name given to the Muslims who stayed on in Granada after the conquest of the city. By the Catholics Kings. In 1492. The "morisco" artisans built some houses making use of materials and ornaments traditionals in their architecture, for example: plaster molds, arches, wooden ceilings, and other elements (gothic and renaissance) that began to arrive from other parts of Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casa Morisca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Morisca Granada
Casa Morisca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing