We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Casa Morisca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa Morisca
Ranked #5 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

This is a quaint hotel; clean, but with small rooms. It was a great location for seeing Granada. there was an extra charge for breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room. There was a lot of street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nobutterface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    222
    45
    10
    2
See reviews for
79
486
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
napoli, italia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

the hotel is a beautifully restored bulding, very well furnished (even the carpets in the corridors are nice and show good taste...). Any detail is attended. The owner is nice and gives you very good suggestions about places to eat and how to get around. The hotel is just few minutes walk from the center (plaza nueva is more or less at 500 meters). Really a very good place to be. the only flaws: 1. the room for breakfast is in the basement; 2. some rooms are quite small and have the only window that looks on the corridor: this means that, if you keep it open, people passing by can look inside your room (but this depends on the nature of the building); 3. some bathrooms have no bidet.
If you don't care about this and look for a charming place to be, I would really recommend it!!!

Room Tip: patio rooms are really good value for money, if you don't mind having the window on the patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucalc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

The location is stunning opposite the Alhambra and at the bottom of the Albaicin so fab for wondering around. The staff were v helpful and we did what we we required and emailed ahead with hirecar reg plates and passport details so there was a parking space for us. However, the hotel is a bit of a pain to find. The rooms are small and perhaps too over priced, but you pay for the view and atmosphere. I wanted to live in that place it was so lovely.
Breaky was Ok, we had better and worse travelling around Andalucia.

Room Tip: The room with the Alhambra view is stunning, but you pay for it! Great ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sari_kiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

The hotel is in a beautiful building and a great location - the Alhambra to one side and the old quarter to the other. It's a slightly stressful experience driving there, but stick with it - you won't need the car once you arrive and parking is free (if a bit of a headache to get out of at the end!).

Only a few rooms have views of the Alhambra (ours did, just, with a bit of a craned neck) but actually that doesn't matter - the best views are from the square up at the top of the Albaicin (old quarter) anyway, where you're sure to visit (sunset there is beautiful - recommend a restaurant called Estrella San Nicholas for dinner with sensational views of Alhambra).

Casa Morisca is a great place to stay in Granada and the welcome we had from Wilfredo was lovely - he couldn't have been more helpful. Our room wasn't massive - but well thought out in terms of all the stuff you need, and nicely cool and easy to darken for a siesta. The hotel's stunning central courtyard is the real highlight and emerging form your room onto that makes it feel like a really special place to stay. Good, relaxed and well-priced breakfast. Would recommend to people visiting Granada.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emilyaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Easy to find , free parking and a great location with a side view of the Alhambra, from our first floor room With a sat nav downloaded from the internet finding the hotel was easy. Inside there is a delightful central space with a little Moorish fountain, The hotel has a lovely atmospshere. .Room was a bit small and basically furnished . Nice to have a kettle in teh room which we did not have in other Spainish hotels. Friendly staff . We ate breakfast in the cafes on Plaza Nueva to soak up the local colour. Its a short walk 7-8 miniute to this main square .

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holiday500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

We stayed at Casa Morisca for three nights in September and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The hotel is very charming and situated in a quiet spot in the old town. All the sights of Granada are within walking distance but there are tourist buses that stop close by if you prefer. We stayed in room eight, a superior double. The room was spacious and comfortable with a very nice bathroom. It would have benefitted from a decent hairdryer (the wall mounted contraption was completely ineffectual for someone with long hair).
The staff were very helpful, arranging restaurant reservations for us and booking into the Hamman spa.
We had breakfast at the hotel one morning - unfortunately it was dreadful and a total waste of money at 8Euros. No fresh coffee - just a pot that had been warming for ages, cheese and ham that had been left out unrefridgerated and was greasy and unpleasant, stale bread and really quite horrible cereal. We ended up eating one of the small boxes of Kelloggs Fruit and Fibre that were left out - not quite what I had in mind!
Breakfast notwithstanding, I would still recommend this hotel for its peace, historic charm and excellent staff.

Room Tip: Room 8 has wonderful Alhambra-esque ceiling, excellent bathroom and a view of the palace from the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leonia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

What a wonderful place to stay in Granada! Step back in time as you enter through a huge wooden door and find yourself in a lovely inner courtyard with an open ceiling, tiled floor and small pool. Our room was cozy and very clean with a colorfully tiled bathroom and small balcony. If we turned our heads we looked right out on to part of the Alhambra --what could be better than that! It was located at the foot of the Albacyn --the old Moorish section of the city --and just a 25 minute walk to the entrance of the Alhambra.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessie189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#2 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
El Ladron de Agua
#4 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Morisca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Morisca

Property: Hotel Casa Morisca
Address: Cuesta Victoria 9, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#11 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Morisca 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Morisca Hotel is located in Albaicin, Granada Center, opposite to the Alhambra with a greats Alhambra Views from the Hotel. The Alhambra is the most visited monument in Spain, with more than 3 million visitors over anuales.Situada Hill Sabika was founded by Alhamar, first monarch of the Nasrid dynasty, as palace city where his new kingdom to rule. It is the only Muslim medieval palace that has come almost entirely to our time Morisco is the name given to the Muslims who stayed on in Granada after the conquest of the city. By the Catholics Kings. In 1492. The "morisco" artisans built some houses making use of materials and ornaments traditionals in their architecture, for example: plaster molds, arches, wooden ceilings, and other elements (gothic and renaissance) that began to arrive from other parts of Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casa Morisca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Morisca Granada
Casa Morisca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing