We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, splendid view”
Review of Hotel Casa Morisca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casa Morisca
Ranked #2 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2012

We spent the last 3 nights of our trip in Andalucía in this lovely hotel, built around a large open courtyard.

The room was fairly large, with a high, beamed ceiling. The bathroom was on a mezzanine, 4 steps above the room, which was a little tricky to navigate in the dark. The view of the Alhambra from both the bedroom and the bathroom windows was stunning. As we were there on Spain’s national holiday, we could hear firecrackers at night, but otherwise, it was very quiet.

The quality of staff was somewhat uneven. The first man we met when we checked in was most helpful and had a great sense of humour. The others were more distant.

Breakfast was served in an attractive cave-like room in the basement and was quite good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanielleD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (815)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 815 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2012

We had an ok experience there for the price. Our standard room was comfortable. The service was poor (we felt we were almost annoying the guy at the lobby). The location is hard to get but tourists are warned numerous time that its in the old town and hard to get to. I still drove there and got parking in front as they have reserved spots.There is free wifi and walking distance is the core of the old town which is small and can be visited within 1-2 hours. Nice view of the Alhambra after spending the day there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChuckGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The hotel was absolutley delightful in the old quarter which was quite enchanting. The hotel was an oasis of calm off the busy streets of Granada. Its position was phenomonal with amazing views of the Alhambra. Upon arrival we were upgraded to a room with juliet balcony over looking street and alhambra. The room was quiet and there is no traffic passing by except for pedestrians. The beds and linen were excellent quality...the cups were fine!
The main entrance was beautifully illuminated in the evening by candlelight and as the clocks changed it was darker earlier.
We did not eat there at all and had a good meal at the restaurant estrella st Nicholas.
This square was buzzing and has the most unreal view of the alhambra and sierra nevada snow capped... all magical.I would recommend the vertical walk!

We had tapas for lunch in delightful area to the front od the hotel but the Tapas was awful , I think it was called the Fuerte. This area was so lovely to sit , graze and gaze at the spectacle of the palace in glorious sunshine. it was just a shame the food was sooo bad. there are many other tapas bars there and others may have been good.

I would recommend the hotel and would just add that it was a little challenging getting there. The hotel instructions were spot on but when you are driving through a very busy pedestian area it was not without its challenges...but totally worth it.
Also we registered our car number plate with the hotel on the day we travelled there as you have to go through a restricted area . The day we went the system was not working and the intercom to the main system was down, We were concerned as to whether to proceed but went into the restricted area without any problems. It was all part of the mystery and suspense of the trip to Granada with the hotel being one of the highlights!

Room Tip: we had room 6 which was delightful, next to the lift but we did not hear it at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebBut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We loved this hotel. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the place oozes charm whilst retaining modern comforts. The location is excellent, possibly the nearest hotel to the Alhambra, 15 minute walk. Also 10 minute stroll to the old centre filled with charm, history, cafes and restaurants.

Room Tip: We chose an economy room which was on the ground floor with a window to the street. It was beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pammie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Excellent location, very well appointed room and bathroom. We particularly enjoyed the bed and linen, pure luxury. We did not have anything from the minibar, but it appeared to be very fairly priced, certainly in our experience of mini bar prices! The general areas were pleasant, but perhaps lacked a little bit in atmosphere. We were only there for 1 night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Venner64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed two nights and wished we had longer in Grenada. The Casa Morisca was a very welcoming. helpful and hospitable refuge. We were fortunate to have a room on the ground floor opening onto the enclosed courtyard. The hotel itself is close to the start o a short (15 min) walk that crosses the river and ascends to the Alhambra - well worth the walk if only to appreciate the walls and the river deposits that the castle sits on (and source of the cobbles). Also just down the road is Plaza Neuva, and uphill is the Albyzin area. In summary an excellent location. The staff here were more than helpful and we enjoyed the sitting room (the original reception room).

Room Tip: ground floor for value and minimal suitcase lugging
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Candide57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel for just one night and were sorry not to have booked to stay for longer. Perfect location, beautiful hotel around a peaceful courtyard, helpful staff. Thoroughly recommended. Easy walk up to the Alhambra and around the Albaicin. Wonderful to have free parking in a quiet side street and the staff let us leave our car after we had checked out.

Room Tip: Room 14 is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#4 of 122 in Granada
1,814 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
971 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,029 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 122 in Granada
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Morisca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Morisca

Address: Cuesta Victoria 9, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £58 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Morisca 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Morisca Hotel is located in Albaicin, Granada Center, opposite to the Alhambra with a greats Alhambra Views from the Hotel. The Alhambra is the most visited monument in Spain, with more than 3 million visitors over anuales.Situada Hill Sabika was founded by Alhamar, first monarch of the Nasrid dynasty, as palace city where his new kingdom to rule. It is the only Muslim medieval palace that has come almost entirely to our time Morisco is the name given to the Muslims who stayed on in Granada after the conquest of the city. By the Catholics Kings. In 1492. The "morisco" artisans built some houses making use of materials and ornaments traditionals in their architecture, for example: plaster molds, arches, wooden ceilings, and other elements (gothic and renaissance) that began to arrive from other parts of Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casa Morisca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Morisca Granada
Casa Morisca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing