We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical small hotel in marvelous city”
Review of Hotel Casa Morisca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Morisca
Ranked #2 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We booked two rooms for family vacations, an external room and the suite. It is indeed difficult to find the hotel and we arrived at night with some difficulties. But the location is perfect, as it is in a very charming and convenient place at roughly the same distance from the places that we wanted to cover, beautiful Albaicin and magical Alhambra, 20 minutes walking. Parking was conveniently in front of the hotel, a big plus in my view. The hotel is a refurbished XV century house and the least that you can say it is that is wonderful, with its central patio and ornate ceilings. Very friendly and helpful staff. free wifi that worked perfectly well. Good restaurants and bar in the neighborhood. My only complain would be breakfast that was expensive and much more limited in choices that other meals that we had at other hotels. Definitely will go back if I have the chance.

Room Tip: choose the suite! It was clearly one of the most wonderful rooms that we have stayed, with its view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breadno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

383 - 389 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

We had heard that this place was difficult to find amongst the tiny streets of Granada so we made sure that we contacted the hotel for directions beforehand and they were brilliant there is no way we would have found it without them. On arrival we were greeted by Victor who was so charming and helpful and although we speak a little Spanish we had no need the staff spoke good english. Car parking was directly outside the hotel. The room was clean and tidy well sized with tea and coffee facilities and a really comfortable bed. The hotel was typically Spanish it was spotlessly clean with a good breakfast. It is ideally situated for walking to the town or the Albaicin area and Alhambra. There are ample tapas bars, restaurants and cafes nearby, this really is a little gem of a hotel small but really friendly with very nice staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Could not fault this hotel - everything that has been said was correct - well deserving of accolades. Position was wonderful we love to walk and everything was within easy reach. Breakfast certainly set us up for the day. The staff especially the gentleman who learnt English in Ireland - sorry I'm hopeless with names. Stay here you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank AnniS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

You can believe all you read about Casa Morisca. We stayed for two nights last week in this charming, well run hotel. If your looking for somewhere unique this is your place. Very friendly and helpful staff. Neighbourhood was fantastic and just a short stroll from from the centre of everything. Beautiful rooms with wonderful views of the Alhambra .

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OKEE13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

The bedroom may have been slightly small, but who cares. The bedroom, the courtyard, the breakfast room. Everything just felt so authentic. Right in the old town and within 15-20 minutes walking (well, "climbing") distance of the Alhambra, what more could one want. OK, you would need to take a bus/taxi into the city centre, but, for me this hotel was ideal and so, so comfortable. Full of charm and very clean, I would stay again at this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Casa Morisca is in a wonderful location - though you have to be reasonably fit to really appreciate it - it's jut a 15 minute climb to the Alhambra ticket office and a short climb in the other direction to the Albaicin. we had booked a standard city view room but seemed to be upgrade to superb room (8) with views right up to the Alhambra. The rrom was very large with a spacious sitting area and a great bathroom. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly.
We had breakfast on the first merning to facilitate an early arrival at the Alhambra - as we find that Spain opens up rather late on the breakfast front - we did not go back on the other mornings as its nothing special and for the €10 you can get much better else where. That however was our only and a very minor dissatisfaction.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Persephone20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stayed here for two nights on 5th and 6th February. An absolutely charming hotel in the old Albayzin quarter with parking right outside the door. (As you approach the old quarter there are bollards in the road but if you press the button to speak and give the hotel name, the bollards will retract and you can proceed. See the hotel website) Only a walk of 600 metres or so into the area where there are shops (including the Alhambra shop) and recommended tapas bars. You can also walk from the hotel to the main entrance to the Alhambra. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, the rooms were clean and adequately warm. By Spanish standards breakfast was very good. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough for those who want the whole experience rather than a visit to the ancient Alhambra sandwiched between two doses of modern hotel living.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sc0ttishbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,278 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
951 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
1,005 reviews
El Ladron de Agua
#6 of 122 in Granada
847 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 122 in Granada
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Morisca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Morisca

Address: Cuesta Victoria 9, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#11 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £83 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Morisca 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Morisca Hotel is located in Albaicin, Granada Center, opposite to the Alhambra with a greats Alhambra Views from the Hotel. The Alhambra is the most visited monument in Spain, with more than 3 million visitors over anuales.Situada Hill Sabika was founded by Alhamar, first monarch of the Nasrid dynasty, as palace city where his new kingdom to rule. It is the only Muslim medieval palace that has come almost entirely to our time Morisco is the name given to the Muslims who stayed on in Granada after the conquest of the city. By the Catholics Kings. In 1492. The "morisco" artisans built some houses making use of materials and ornaments traditionals in their architecture, for example: plaster molds, arches, wooden ceilings, and other elements (gothic and renaissance) that began to arrive from other parts of Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casa Morisca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Morisca Granada
Casa Morisca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing