We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay”
Review of Hotel Casa Morisca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Morisca
Ranked #2 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Very good stay”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I hate to use the expression but this place probably qualifies these days for the description of "boutique hotel". Casa Morisca is an old Moorish home with a galleried courtyard and is very atmospheric. Rooms are smallish but well appointed and comfy. The hotel is in the Albaicin area of Granada and therefore handy for the sights in this old region of the town. Our room looked out onto the Alhambra up on the hill. There is a connecting pathway across the road to the Alhambra, although an energetic walk uphill. We chose a taxi to get there (very circuitous route to the Alhambra) but had an easy walk back. There are a number of decent restaurants round the corner, overlooking the river and Alhambra.

The staff in the hotel were really nice and helpful. A few more leaflets available on local buses and tours etc. would have been good, though.

Be warned: the hotel is very difficult to get to by car. The owners clearly recognise this and provide comprehensive directional details and even pictures. Unfortunately it is so easy to take a wrong turn in the old town and get hopelessly lost up narrow alleyways. The GPS/SatNav proved no use either as there is a residents only area and the GPS tries to take you round that in a most bizarre and frustrating fashion.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chemistatlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    228
    45
    10
    2
See reviews for
84
505
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this historic hotel set around a central courtyard with loads of character, well located in the heart of the old town with views of the Alhambra and easy walk to good restaurants, bars etc. Our bedroom was a good size and well appointed with a comfortable bed and all very clean. Excellent continental style breakfast in delightful breakfast room. All in all, difficult to find fault.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My partner and I arrived at the hotel frustrated after getting lost in the sometimes-confusing streets of Granada, but immediately upon check-in at this hotel our spirits were lifted by the exceptional service at reception. Wilfredo went out of his way to ensure our stay in Granada was perfect, and seemed genuinely interested in making us happy. As other reviewers have said, his English is outstanding, and he really knows the city well (having been born and raised in Granada). He gave us great suggestions on what to see and where to eat, and just generally made our experience wonderful.

We booked Room 2, which is well furnished, but awkwardly positioned at the foot of the stairs leading up to the other rooms, and directly behind reception. We had a window facing the street, which meant that rather than keeping the windows open as we usually enjoy in good weather, we kept them closed for privacy. That aside, everything in the room was to our liking, and we loved passing out siestas by watching the Spanish equivalent of the Discovery/History Channel (thankfully broadcasted in English).

I wish all the hotels we'd stayed at in Spain had been this good. If we ever head back to Granada we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms on the first floor, as they are extra noisy in the mornings and evenings when oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zambixi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

A charming and comfortable hotel, full of character and in a great location. Also, with very helpful staff. One staff at reception guided us to some excellent tapas. A second allowed us to cancel one night at short notice because of a change of plans.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ang0ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We booked this hotel last minute after reading all the great reviews, and we weren't disappointed! The location was perfect, close to the Alhambra, shopping, restaurants, etc but still enough out of the way that it was lovely and quiet. We were able to park right outside and the directions on the website were excellent. the staff were very welcoming and friendly, the breakfast was great, the room so comfortable, extremely clean and had everything we needed. Would not hesitate to recommend and will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clobo2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

We recently returned from a vacation in Spain that took us to Granada for 3 nights. Friends had recommended other hotels that were booked, so we again put our trust in our fellow Trip Advisors and we were not disappointed. This hotel hits the mark in the usual ways: charming, comfortable, situated in the Albayzin section with good access to great dining, and a short uphill to the Alhambra, making for unending evening monument gazing.
However, where this place truly excelled was in the generous advice provided to us by Wilfredo at the front desk. He explained the ticketing system for the Alhambra (ticketmaster take note--your website directions in Spanish don't help those of us who took French in high school), suggested excellent dining off the beaten path, and called EuropCar for us to make our rental car reservation. He was always cheerful, even when we had trouble with the front door buzzer. His English is impeccable, owing to an extended stint in Ireland and a brother in Miami. Thank you, Wilfredo!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This hotel could not be better placed to visit both Granada and The Alhambra. It has an excellent location (with parking) and excellent English speaking staff. It is an old building with rooms located around a central courtyard. Our room and en-suite were both large, well decorated and quiet. 15 minutes walk (uphill!!) found us at the entrance to the Alhambra without any problems at all. We bought tickets in advance on the internet and all went well. Finding the Hotel was a bit intimidating driving through the narrow streets of Granada, but the hotel website gives very good directions and our satnav did the rest. I don't give 5 "blobs" easily, but the hotel deserves them. Just being able to park directly outside the hotel was an absolute bonus and proved to be no trouble at all.
If you want to see Granada and The Alhambra, then The Hotel Casa Morisca is the base to do it from. Our thanks to the very helpful staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rod h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
976 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
927 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 122 in Granada
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,219 reviews
El Ladron de Agua
#5 of 122 in Granada
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Morisca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Morisca

Property: Hotel Casa Morisca
Address: Cuesta Victoria 9, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#11 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Morisca 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Morisca Hotel is located in Albaicin, Granada Center, opposite to the Alhambra with a greats Alhambra Views from the Hotel. The Alhambra is the most visited monument in Spain, with more than 3 million visitors over anuales.Situada Hill Sabika was founded by Alhamar, first monarch of the Nasrid dynasty, as palace city where his new kingdom to rule. It is the only Muslim medieval palace that has come almost entirely to our time Morisco is the name given to the Muslims who stayed on in Granada after the conquest of the city. By the Catholics Kings. In 1492. The "morisco" artisans built some houses making use of materials and ornaments traditionals in their architecture, for example: plaster molds, arches, wooden ceilings, and other elements (gothic and renaissance) that began to arrive from other parts of Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casa Morisca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Morisca Granada
Casa Morisca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing