We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Place to Stay”
Review of Hotel Casa Morisca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casa Morisca
Ranked #2 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

You will hear a lot about Moorish architecture. This is a chance to live in it. The hotel is immaculate. The staff is friendly & helpful. Great location. It is an old building so you will hear people walking in at night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 85Eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 794 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were on a 3 week trip around Spain and Granada and the Casa Morisca were our second stop. We noted the reviews that indicated the rooms would be small in this property and the recommendations to stay in the "Mirador" room on the top floor. We are so happy we did. We have traveled extensively and had some wonderful views from our hotel rooms, but this one may just take the prize. The Alhambra is lit at night and it is just above the town, in full view of our room. It was an incomparable experience leaving the shades open and falling asleep to that magnificent view. Yes, the rooms are small but they are beautifully designed and furnished and had everything we needed. The bathroom was quite large and offered all the amenities we could want. We had turndown service too.

Getting to the hotel is a bit tricky but if you follow the amazingly detailed directions (with photos) offered on the hotel's website, you will have no problems. The roads are tiny but it is an old town! We were welcomed by Victor who along with his nighttime colleague, Willfredo, were very helpful with suggestions, directions, etc. The hotel was very quiet - very unusual in Spain - and we were able to sleep with the windows open. The hotel offers a breakfast buffet at an additional 11E a person. In comparison with other hotels we stayed in and had to pay for breakfast, this one offered plenty of choices of cold and hot foods, eggs to order, excellent coffee. It was also served in the "cave" in the basement of the hotel - quite an interesting room.

The hotel is nicely situated at the end of the Old Town - easy to walk to restaurants, the Alhambra and other central sites - but without the noise. Free parking (reserve in advance) is available right in front of the hotel.

The Casa Morisca was our favorite hotel throughout our trip (even edging out the Alphonso Xlll) because of its charm and incomparable view.

Room Tip: The Mirador is worth the extra cost - you'll never get a view like this again! But it is not s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silverwings928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We looked at the reviews and upgraded to the deluxe room and it was absolutely the right call. The room was exactly as in the pictures, the bathroom and toiletries were good, the antique furniture & furnishings lovely and the view out the window of the Alhambra we turned into a digital postcard and sent home to make my work colleagues jealous. The drive up there is a little hair-raising through the narrow streets of the old city but honestly, looking across from the Nasrid palaces at night to our hotel and our car did bring home how great the location was. Service was great, internet worked fine and we got some superb recommendations for dinner. Highly recommend staying here!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Skydivej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was one of the most expensive hotels in our 2 1/2 weeks in Spain and clearly our worst experience. The location is nice, and clearly I read lots of good reviews or would not have chosen it, but our room was basically unlivable. It was so small we could hardly walk around the bed. We were on the street, and we couldn't close the windows because the air conditioning wasn't on. (They could have heat or A/C and hadn't switched the system even though there was a heat wave.) The building was charming, but we left one night early since sleeping was part of our plan!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A restored moriscan house, beautifully done. Some rooms are small but ours was great (the mirador room) with amazing views of the Alhambra and comically named Generalife. Nice breakfast and very friendly staff. The restoration has been done very well, with a lovely central courtyard. It's a fifteen minute walk to the entrance to the Alhambra, up a steep cobbled road. And ten minutes to the cathedral in the centre of town. Behind is the Albacin and then into Sacramonte. Lots of restaurants nearby.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank WilsonEwelme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We spent two nights in Granada recently and very much enjoyed our stay. The room was clean, quiet, bathroom adequate and breakfast very good. It was in a great location to walk to other sites and we will recommend it to anyone traveling to Granada.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lstamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed 3 nights and it was our favorite hotel in a 5 city tour of Andalusia. The room was not large but is charming, with all conveniences including a fully functional bathroom, safe and comfortable bed. There is a view to the Alhambra from the street down the hill but I'm not sure any rooms have a view of the Alhambra. It's a long walk around to the ticket office so I recommend getting an 8 Euro tour bus ticket which takes you there plus 10 other stops including the Mirador San Nicholas, the highest point in the Albayzin with views of the Alhambra and the city. This will save your feet for the actual Alhambra visit. The hotel's recommended walking route to the Mirador via Cuesta del Chapiz is a long, steep uphill climb. We notified the hotel we had a car so they sent very detailed directions for getting there and blocked a parking spot for us right outside. It was the only time we didn't get lost driving to our hotel! We had free parking for our entire stay in Granada. I highly recommend this hotel and feel it is worth paying the higher price. Be aware their breakfast is nice and convenient but costs 12 Euro per person for no hot food other than toast your own bread and coffee.

Room Tip: Room 5 has a large queen sized bed and windows opening to the Cuesta de la Victoria, the street that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyK_of_Seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,278 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
951 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
1,005 reviews
El Ladron de Agua
#6 of 122 in Granada
847 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 122 in Granada
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Morisca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Morisca

Address: Cuesta Victoria 9, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#11 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £83 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa Morisca 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Morisca Hotel is located in Albaicin, Granada Center, opposite to the Alhambra with a greats Alhambra Views from the Hotel. The Alhambra is the most visited monument in Spain, with more than 3 million visitors over anuales.Situada Hill Sabika was founded by Alhamar, first monarch of the Nasrid dynasty, as palace city where his new kingdom to rule. It is the only Muslim medieval palace that has come almost entirely to our time Morisco is the name given to the Muslims who stayed on in Granada after the conquest of the city. By the Catholics Kings. In 1492. The "morisco" artisans built some houses making use of materials and ornaments traditionals in their architecture, for example: plaster molds, arches, wooden ceilings, and other elements (gothic and renaissance) that began to arrive from other parts of Europe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casa Morisca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Morisca Granada
Casa Morisca Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing