We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and very friendly and helpful!”
Review of Albero

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albero
Ranked #3 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is a great base for visiting the Alhambra and (for old punks like me) Placeta Joe Strummer. The former is a short bus trip away (or a moderate walk) and the latter is a short walk. We found all the staff extremely friendly and helpful, especially the multilingual manager who provided a map of the area with all places of interest and bus stops etc. clearly marked (he also explained how to get everywhere and what interesting events and activities were available, in his excellent English).

The room was immaculate, with good, comfortable beds, a nice bathroom with both bath and shower and the room had triple glazing and good aircon and a few English channels available on the TV. WiFi access was free. I had neglected to bring an English adapter to charge my phone, so went to reception, which by now was being manned by an equally friendly woman who went to great lengths to find me the correct adapter.

We went out for the night and returned with a bottle of wine, for which the (you guessed it -very friendly) night-cover man gladly lent us a corkscrew and told us there was no rush to return it. Being English, we drank the wine, then fancied a beer. We were delighted to find that a vending machine in the lobby had chilled lager at shop prices!

Breakfast was excellent, with the aforementioned manager chatting with everyone fluently in their own languages. He asked if anyone wanted anything special. We were quite happy with our egg, toast and coffee, but a German man requested sausages, which the staff then happily cooked for him (even though they were not on the menu).

I would definitely stay here again and heartily recommend it, if in Granada. It is very close to the Alhambra and only a very inexpensive bus ride (and the busses are very frequent and reliable) to anywhere else in this fabulous city!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SteDevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (561)
There are newer reviews for Albero
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

I can only join the other reviews and highly recommend thid hotel for visiting Granada. Ideal location for car travellers - you don't need to dive into old city by car - very good bus connection to all the points of interest. Don't pay attention at only one star - I've seen lots of 3-4* hotels with the worse quality.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KievIgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The hotel is exactly as described by others; clean, comfortable, convenient. We found it easily, parking on the street was effortless, and the bus stop to the Alhambra and the city center were within site of the hotel, and buses ran frequently. When I was unable to book tickets to the Alhambra three weeks prior to our intended arrival, the hotel was able to obtain them for me at a very convenient time for us. They were also very prompt in communicating via email about the status of the tickets. There are not a lot of services in the area, so the breakfast served at the hotel (for a very small charge) was well worth the money. If you are driving, this hotel is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. It was exactly what we had hoped for: a clean, cosy hotel with free street parking and easy access to Granada. We knew that we were going to be spending most of our time in the city, and didn't want to spend so much money on a hotel when we'd only be sleeping and eating breakfast there. The hotel staff was very friendly and everyone could speak at least a little English, with the exception of the man working the night shift, who still did his best to be helpful despite the language barrier. The look of the building from Avenida Santa María de la Alhambra might not be so impressive, but once you turn the corner, you can see that that the hotel is in a perfectly fine little neighborhood. We had one of the nicer rooms, and it was only €45 a night. What a great value!

I honestly can't understand the other reviews' complaints about location. Yes, the hotel is a bit out of town, but the bus runs very frequently, is a block away from the hotel, and only costs €1.20.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilDK2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed there for a night.
The hotel is very easy to locate and has plenty of parking on the street in front.
The hotel stuff understand English.

The room is not very big, but very cozy and clean.
We had our lunch on the balcony.
This hotel is an ideal place if you drive there.

Alhambra is just around the corner.

We had a good experience here, and I would recommend this place to our friends.
It was very convenient, and rooms are reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Serge_G_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed one night and had a good experience at this hotel. As other's have said, it's perfect if you're driving and it's fairly easy to find. There were no services in the immediate vicinity, so we drove down the street for food, which was less than 10 minutes away. Same with the Alhambra. Clean rooms, friendly staff, street parking (which seemed safe enough). It was a great value, all things considered.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

Pleasantly surprised. Good parking, nice owners and staff and serviceable room. Easy to find when driving.

Quiet, small but clean rooms with comfortable beds. Very small shower, difficult to bend over for shaving legs.

Extremely friendly and helpful owners. Right up the road from Alhambra. We drove down Sierra Avenue and parked our car and walked into town.

Good for travelers, we would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcmc1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
B&B Hotel Granada
#23 of 122 in Granada
791 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,256 reviews
Puerta de Las Granadas
#18 of 122 in Granada
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Room Mate Leo
Room Mate Leo
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,198 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
945 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albero

Address: Avenida Sta. Maria de La Alhambra 6 1c, 18008 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Granada
#8 Family Hotel in Granada
#11 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £32 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Albero 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Albero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albero Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing