We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than 2*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Los Jeronimos
Ranked #113 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Nottingham
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Better than 2*”
Reviewed 5 January 2008

This hotel was much better than expected for a rating of 2*.
The room and bathroom are both quite large, the only downside might be that there was only a shower (no bath), but that was fine for us. The hotel does not have facilites of some of the other hotels we stayed in (perhaps hence the 2* rating) such as a frige in the room and provided toiletries.
The location is removed from the centre, but with some small shops around and a short walk to the Cathedral area where there are plenty of restaurants. There is a cafe on site whose prices are competitive, but you can be ripped off if you dont speak much Spanish here. Reception also can be hectic, often with only one person on the desk and they also dont speak much English.
However, much nicer than I expected for a 2* hotel.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taniah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    45
    66
    49
    90
See reviews for
38
109
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
florence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2007

Nice hotel, very clean, big confortable rooms. The price is fair, even if keep in mind that there is an extra charge for the week end night. The location is also good, even if not super central, but with a short walk you can reach all main attraction.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lenifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2006

This hotel is in a peaceful area of the city. Although currently undergoing major renovation work, it provides a comfortable and value-for-money place to stay.

At first sights, I also thought the place was closed until I discovered the "hidden entrance". I was met with a friendly smile and attentive staff.

My stay was excellent, with a comfortable and great shower and .. great air-con!!

The reviewer from Maryland's comment that the "neighborhood is not safe at night" is absolutely untrue. It is perfectly safe . It is a quiet residential area of the city with limited traffic, right next door to a monastery and two hospitals!

This traveller has obviously never stayed in the City Centre / Alhambra area which is notoriously noisy all night long. This is the way of life in Southern Spain - Families and individuals socialise in the streets all night long. It is Europe, not the United States and just as there are no "neighborhood"s (an uniquely American word and concept), there is also a completely different way of life.

I thoroughtly recommend this hotel to the budget traveller who wants clean accommodation and a good nights sleep.

  • Liked — Great Price. Clean Rooms. Quiet Area
  • Disliked — The remodelling. But it didnt disturb
  • Tips/Secrets — Great area if you want to sleep at night!
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Harold_Bodmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2006

This hotel is in the middle of a major remodelling. We almost left for another hotel when we saw it. The neighborhood is not safe at night and we heard a large group of teens until very late on the Saturday night we were there.
The hotel lobby is difficult to find because the front is being remodelled. Parking isn't too far away and was an extra amount to the room price.
The room itself was on the top floor (5th) with a large terrace. This room was gorgeous - brand new, large, and great views from 2 sides. You could see the Alhambra from one side and the caves from the other. The view saved the hotel.
Next time I think I would spend the money to stay in the Alhambra area instead of the university area where we stayed.

Helpful?
1 Thank marpetd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 519 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2006

Booked this room for a 2-night break to see a concert in Granada. At just 30 euros a night through a well-known website it was too much of a bargain to miss!

When I stepped out of my taxi, I thought that the place had shut down, as the reception area was completely gutted and building work was taking place. Then I noticed a sign for a temporary reception at the side of the building.

I checked into the hotel and was immediately told that my stay would be 56 euros per night. When I showed the receptionist my confirmation email,he was immediately apologetic and said that he would email the company and point out their error.

It was apparent that extensive renovation work was taking place to the whole hotel. I was given a room in a newly-renovated area which was stylishly decorated. The bedroom was immaculately clean and the bathroom was spotless. My room looked out onto the street and had a lovely view of the ancient church and orange trees opposite.

The air conditioning in the room was a godsend and the location was only 10 mins walk from Plaza De Toros, which is where I needed to be. It isn't a central hotel, but this reflected in my actually being able to have a good night's sleep (the city centre is notoriously noisy at night)

I thought that the building work would disturb me day and night, but nothing was further from the truth. It must have been carried out during the day when the guests were out.

This isn't the type of hotel that provides a breakfast, but there are cafes and a supermarket mere minutes away. For the price I simply could not fault this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Liked — It was clean. Quiet.Air-conditioned and near the location of my concert.
  • Disliked — No Breakfast
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank WorldBreeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2006

We stayed in this hotel in April 2006 and were pleasantly surprised to find how nice it was given that it isn't very expensive. In a great location opposite the orange trees of the beautiful St Jeronimos Monastery, it is a short walk to the main areas of central Granada, including the Alhambra (although a short taxi ride was preferable!). The hotel is currently undergoing renovations (although we didn't hear any noise at all). We stayed in the refurbished area - the decoration was simple, stylish and contemporary. Although the room was small, it had all the necessaries and was light and clean - the bathroom was always spotless which is a rare thing to find! The staff were very helpful and were more than happy to do taks such as booking hire cars etc. Please do go and stay here!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HLVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Centro - Sagrario
Granada Centro Hotel
Granada Centro Hotel
#30 of 122 in Granada
500 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Cedran Hotel
Cedran Hotel
#102 of 122 in Granada
143 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Pension Atlantida
Pension Atlantida
#98 of 122 in Granada
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Los Tilos
Los Tilos
#47 of 122 in Granada
300 reviews
Hotel Reina Mora
#83 of 122 in Granada
206 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Juan Miguel
Hotel Juan Miguel
#99 of 122 in Granada
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Los Jeronimos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Los Jeronimos

Property: Hotel Los Jeronimos
Address: Callejon Gran Capitan 1, 18002 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Los Jeronimos 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Los Jeronimos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Jeronimos Hotel
Los Jeronimos Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing