We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Parador de Granada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parador de Granada
Ranked #13 of 124 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This Parador in located in an old convent within the walls of the Alhambra, so we expected an elegant, old restored building. What we found was an elegant very new and Modern interior in a beautiful old building. The interiors are very well designed and perfectly executed, The staff is knowledgeable and friendly. The food is exquisite. We really liked it.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

558 - 564 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2012

Our first Parador - very comfortable and wonderfully located, actually in the Alhambra, meaning we could explore some areas in the evenings. All so atmospheric. We had one lunch in the cafe area during our stay and it was quite beautiful to look at and delicious to eat. Good quiet room overlooking the pool. Very good breakfast and most staff polite and helpful. Good fast internet service which was very useful. We booked the 'golden oldies' deal direct with the hotel which saved us quite a lot of money.

Room Tip: Our room was a new one at the end of the wing. I would have liked something more historic but you p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank farwestwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The parador is in itself a place to visit or at least have coffee if you're visiting the Alhambra. The hotel has undergone some renovations and it mixes perfectly well history and the old building with sleek rooms and modern bathrooms.

The staff was extremelly helpful and friendly and the location is one of the best in town, a short walk everywhere in the Alhambra and easy access to taxis or buses that take you to the city center and other attractions in town.

We had breakfast and dinner at the parador restaurant and the service and food were also very pleasant.

We stayed for a couple of nights and left the car in the parador parking lot, which is small and gets full very easily. When we left out car was blocked by many cars ( there was a wedding reception at the parador) but the reception clerck had the keys to all the cars that were blocking the park, so he moved them out and we were able to take our car.

Definitely a place to stay

Room Tip: There are plenty of rooms with nice views of the internal courtyards and views of the city. I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spdmatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This was our first stop in visiting three of the Paradors in Spain in November, 2011. We were greeted by a very courteous and accomodating staff. The Hotel was beautiful and our room was quiet, clean and very nice. We had e-mailed the Hotel prior to our arrival asking that they secure tickets for the Alhambra and the tickets were waiting for us. We ate in their restaurant and the food was excellent. I see where a couple of reviews were not happy with the service but for us, it was more than satisfactory. I would highly recommend staying at Parador Granada.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank high0nlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I have just returned from the Parador in Granada and whilst I agree that the location for the Alhambra was superb the Parador was not. We arrived on 2nd January 2012 for a two night stay and was given a room next to the kitchen. That was the start of the trouble. I immediately sent for the reception staff and complained that I would be 'driven mad' by the intermittent loud, but persistent humming noise. The staff member said that it was coming from the extractor in the kitchen (which I doubt) and said that he couldn't move our room because the hotel was full. I complained again the next day about 4.30 pm (when I had just returned from an Alhambra visit and was trying unsuccessfully to have a siesta) and again at 8.30pm before I went to dinner. The staff member then said all he could do was change our room, but since we were leaving in less than 24 hours this was not a good solution at this late juncture. It was a pity what was otherwise a magical visit was spoiled by the quality of the room and the inability of the staff member to do anything about it nor investigate adequately our complaint.

Room Tip: Do not accept room no. 120!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The location in the Alhambra is wonderful but the service at the desk and in the dining room appears to be inadequate to handle the needs of the patrons. This is the most expensive Parador and the only one in which I found the service inadequate. We were given incorrect information about the tour of the Alhambra and had to wait for checking in or out or to get any information from the desk. It appears that the hotel is understaffed which was unexpected due to the cost of the rooms. I did find the food quite good however. I stayed there in October 2011 and was surprised since I had been staying at other Paradors and found the service in the others excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susjo27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

The location is superb but the price is way out of proportion with the service and facilities.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeliaPatron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 124 in Granada
1,654 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#4 of 124 in Granada
1,880 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Melia Granada
Melia Granada
#30 of 124 in Granada
2,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camino de Ronda
Sercotel Gran Hotel Luna de Granada
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 124 in Granada
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Granada

Address: Calle Real de La Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#14 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £198 - £643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spending a night in the gardens of the Alhambra, among fountains, trees and large arched windows is the exclusive opportunity offered by this Parador, a former convent built by decision of the Catholic Monarchs. The building itself invites to discover a dreamlike interior, where Arabic and Christian style mix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Granada Hotel Granada
Parador De Hotel Granada
Granada Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing