We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay here if you can”
Review of Parador de Granada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Parador de Granada
Ranked #13 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
United States
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“stay here if you can”
Reviewed 21 June 2008

The construction is complete and I would say largely successful. It seems to be the thing now in Europe to go super modern and our room was definitely small, with very overcomplicated light switches, but was immaculate and had a walk in shower with great water pressure, a rare thing! No old world charm, but extremely comfortable.
We truly enjoyed the courtyard for lunch and drinks, and dinner outside by the fountain. The food was quite good, and they even offered a vegetarian special, which I greatly enjoyed, not because I'm a vegetarian, but because salad and veggies seem almost nonexistant in Spain! The waitress suggested an excellent wine which was only 20 euros. I only wish I'd known suites were available. We only stayed one night and I would recommend two. Don't take the group tour of the Alhambra--ask the hotel to set up a private guide.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisabeth_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    347
    130
    55
    31
See reviews for
257
779
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2008

Having stayed at least twice before - the first time in the 60's, we again visited for two nights, principally to see the Alhambra for, I think, the eleventh time. I am afraid that the enchantment of those earlier visits has not survived- either for the Alhambra or the Parador Nacional de San Francisco. The hotel was in the midst of 'refurbishment', and consequently, access to much of the buildings and most of the gardens was not possible. Our room did have facilities and was well maintained- however, it had suffered the touches of an interior designer with no concept of the needs for the traveller (the very reason the network of Paradores was founded in 1928). The lighting system, for example, was not only non-intuitive, but it had a mind of its own; on our last night it decided to flood the room with light no fewer than nine times! Having a stone horse-trough in the bathroom with twin taps is neither ideal for ablutions nor is it water efficient!
Breakfast was plentiful, but the dinner menu was extremely limited, unimaginative and overall very poor value for money.
With reference to other reviews, it must be pointed out that there are only TWO hotels within the precincts of the Alhambra, the Parador being one, the other the adjacent Hotel America.
Having read the articles in the Paradores own magazine, I would be very wary of ANY of the network's buildings which have had recent 'modernisation.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank DylanWarwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2008

We stayed at the Parador de Granada for our honeymoon, and it was a great experience. I booked a suite, with courtyard views (though not the Generalife, mind you), and an upstairs and downstairs loft. It is very stylish, includes little openings in the shutters for the morning sun to filter in, and had a jacuzzi tub in the bathroom. Other amenities include bathrobes and slippers with the parador logo on them, as typical of other paradores, and GREAT room service. It makes you truly feel like a Moorish prince (or princess), very romantic.

It was a bit spendy, but what do you expect when staying at the Alhambra in the most popular parador in Spain? All in all we had a wonderful time.

  • Liked — It's in the Alhambra! Room was incredibly stylish and comfortable
  • Disliked — A bit pricey, but worth it to stay in the Alhambra
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SurfLover_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2008

The Parador provides very nice accommodations at a very steep price. Even with the Golden Days discount we were paying 250 Euros per night plus breakfast, by far the most that we paid for accommodations in Spain. For this, we got an extremely nice room with the most complicated bed-side light switches I have ever seen, a nice large bathroom, free parking, and easy access to Alhambra. For a two day stay, however, I would recommend staying in the old city and spending one day up on the Alhambra, with dinner at the Paradore. It is easy to get up and down by bus.

  • Liked — very high quality accommodations in an interesting location
  • Disliked — the price
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retired_and_Going
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2007

We had to make a reservation for this hotel some six months ahead of our visit to Granada as it is usually fully booked. The reason for choosing the Parador was simply that it was the best and most historic hotel for visiting the Alhambra.

Check-in was less than straight forward despite having made the reservation so far in advance. My email confirmation from the Parador site showed that a twin room had been reserved (and paid for at the time of booking!). However, the front desk had a double reserved and it took some persuasion to convince them that the twin was required. A poor start.

Our room had recently been refurbished and was stylish and very comfortable. As it should have been given that it was costing 260 Euro for the night.

A quick lunch was taken in the courtyard. The freshly prepared sandwiches were of poor quality considering their price. Dinner was taken in the restaurant that evening and that meal was good. After a comfortable night the buffet breakfast was more than adequate. On each occasion the service provided at these meals was just about adequate. Given that the Parador claims to be the premier hotel in Granada it is perhaps surprising that at times it appeared a little amateurish and not particularly friendly.

At the time of our stay the Parador was undergoing extensive building work that had closed the terrace overlooking the gardens. This had not been made apparent at the time of our reservation or later. Perhaps the business the Parador gains means that they really think they don’t need to try too hard in terms of the overall service provided.

  • Liked — Fantastic location and great views
  • Disliked — Price and the quality of service provided
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ukpjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2007

My mom (60) and I (26) stayed at the Parador de Granada for 1 night on a recent 5 week trip to Europe. It was our one "splurge" hotel on a trip where all the other hotels we stayed in were 2 and 3 star hotels. We found this hotel extremely overpriced and impersonal.

First, the location is fantastic. The views are amazing, and the Alhambra is right out your door.

But, we had countless problems with our room. The main problem was the bathroom, which by the way, is gorgeous. The hotel has just refurbished all the bathrooms and is having tons of problems. The bathrooms are beautiful but do not function. Our room completely flooded every time we showered. It got to the point where we had to turn the water off in the shower when we were shaving, etc. Absolutely awful. The maid came every day to lay down towels in the bathroom and in our room before we showered. We were extremely disappointed, as this is inexcusable for such an expensive hotel. The hotel staff apologized profusely, giving us 15% off the room and a complimentary fruit platter, and they also said that many other rooms had this same problem. It seemed a little dishonest to us that the hotel proceeded to charge nearly $300 euro a night when the bathrooms do not function. Once this problem gets fixed (which hopefully it should be soon - apparently the architect was on vacation for all of August and was supposed to begin to fix the problem starting in September), I'm not even sure if I would stay in the parador again. Also, the restaurant at the hotel is very convenient but is just ok. The breakfast buffet is something like 17 euros per person! There have got to be many more hotels that are a better value in Granada.

  • Liked — Location, staff
  • Disliked — Overpriced, restaurant not very good, lots of problems with bathroom
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank DFWgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Parador for two nights on April 21st and 22nd. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful, and even left a bottle of champagne and a lovely note, as we were on our honeymoon.

The location CANNOT be beat -- we spent almost one entire day at the Alhambra and were able to stop in and out of the hotel between our visits to the Alcazaba, Palaces, and the Generalife.

Breakfast was included in our rate, and it did not disappoint, with a decent selection of local, American, and British favorites. We also had dinner at the Parador restaurant one night and were very pleased. My gazpacho and swordfish were fantastic, and the wine selection was excellent.

I highly recommend the Parador.

  • Liked — Location in the Alhambra
  • Disliked — Somewhat small bedrooms -- but really not a problem.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#17 of 122 in Granada
1,493 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 122 in Granada
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
916 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 122 in Granada
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Granada

Property: Parador de Granada
Address: Calle Real de La Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#9 Family Hotel in Granada
#14 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spending a night in the gardens of the Alhambra, among fountains, trees and large arched windows is the exclusive opportunity offered by this Parador, a former convent built by decision of the Catholic Monarchs. The building itself invites to discover a dreamlike interior, where Arabic and Christian style mix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Granada Hotel Granada
Parador De Hotel Granada
Granada Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing