We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed review, so ask for a specific room”
Review of Parador de Granada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Granada
Ranked #13 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

For our two night stay we reserved a superior room, and asked for one that was quiet. The first night in room 210 was cramped and very noisy. The room is in the new portion of the Parador. Upon complaining about the noise and size, we were moved to room 208 in the old section for our second night. Lovely, more spacious and very quiet room. Also, the view of the Generalife is excellent from room 208. Great breakfasts at this parador.

Room Tip: Get a room in the old quarter, best room is 208
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,317)
There are newer reviews for Parador de Granada
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 1,319 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

Location is exceptionally convenient for Alhambra but trips to town involve a pleasant walk but the walk back is more strenuous. Bus service is very frequent as an alternative although we did not try it preferring the exercise.

Hotel itself is very pleasant, restaurant is good. Bar ambience slightly lacking. Superior room does not mean a good view only a slightly larger room.

Jacuzzi bath did not work but will allegedly be fixed when the part arrives.

Hotel is very good but overpriced due to its location to Alhambra, so if you can handle the hassle, stay one night for the visit and then move into town.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidT0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

the parador in granada is a top location.
the view from our room was breathtaking.the staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful although we had no reservation for that weekend.
we had a dinner in the restaurant where we had a tasting menu' with local product,that was a magnificent experience.the wine was superb.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laydonnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We spent just one night at this parador. The location in the Alhambra complex is wonderful and the ideal base for visiting these historic Moorish sites. It's a lovely property but very busy so there can be delays in getting access to one's room after check-in. The staff are excellent and particularly good and helpful in organising car parking which is otherwise a problem. The rooms and restaurant/bar facilities are first class. Our only criticism is that better signage as to where to enter off the very busy and twisty public access road is needed. We had to do "two laps" around before finding the entry so a very sharp lookout is needed! Also it is essential to use the TicketMaster system to ensure having access tickets to the Alhambra itself.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Location is everything! At the top of Grenada, right outside the Alhambra gate.
Lovely grounds with old world feel. Good breakfast. Free wifi.
Rooms aren't decorated very creatively, but they're large, with comfortable beds with all of the necessary amenities.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed at the Parador in October. It did have a fabulous location nestled within the Alhambra which I feel was the best in Granada. That being said, while the setting was gorgeous the price and quality of the room did not match up. Our room window had a lovely view of the outdoor dining patio and beyond but it was also a haven for the smoking clientele so we had to keep the window closed most of the time to avoid the cigarette smoke. Once you closed the window, the room was not much different than a standard room at a standard hotel. I went to the desk immediately upon checking in but they would not change our room. At over $650 a night to stay there, the quality and service was not worth the price. We have paid half that to stay in beautiful European castles with much higher quality.
The restaurant however was great. They included a fabulous buffet breakfast with the room cost which was the best we had on our trip to Spain.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The Parador is housed in a renovated monastery within the walls of the Alhambra. It is one of only 2 hotels thus situated (the other being the Hotel America). It is a luxury hotel in every sense of the word, from the rooms to the setting to the restaurants within to the public areas. It has its own gardens adjacent to the Alhambra gardens that provide a pleasant stroll. It also has free WiFi, a bit unusual for an upscale hotel.

We had a spectacular view of the Alhambra gardens from our room; most rooms have this view, and the ones that don't have an equally spectacular view of the city of Granada. Rooms are very modern, with "smart card" key entry (rather than swipe cards), remote lighting control, plenty of storage, a minibar that wasn't too overpriced, and comfortable bed. The bathroom was very modern and practical.

Entrance to the Alhambra itself is just steps away.

Overall, as close to a perfect stay as you can imagine, and worth the price.

Room Tip: If you plan to stay here, reserve VERY early; 3 months or more ahead.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pdclarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#17 of 122 in Granada
1,546 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#5 of 122 in Granada
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#9 of 122 in Granada
1,256 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Granada

Address: Calle Real de La Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#9 Family Hotel in Granada
#14 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £190 - £646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spending a night in the gardens of the Alhambra, among fountains, trees and large arched windows is the exclusive opportunity offered by this Parador, a former convent built by decision of the Catholic Monarchs. The building itself invites to discover a dreamlike interior, where Arabic and Christian style mix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Parador de Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Granada Hotel Granada
Parador De Hotel Granada
Granada Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing