We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So nice to be able to stay here”
Review of Parador de Granada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de Granada
Ranked #13 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
wassenaar
Level Contributor
63 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“So nice to be able to stay here”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We were in Granada for 2 nights and first we stayed in another hotel. We had a bad stay there and I couldn't take another night so we called the Parador (which normally is booked way ahead) and great news they had a room for us for one night. So we drove over there and it was such a nice place. Our room was beautifully decorated very cosy with a lovely view of the garden, big bathroom. We were traveling with one child and he could sleep well on the pull out sofa bed. It is great that you are right in the Alhambra. The only thing is that you have to walk down to the entrance to collect your tickets. So from the hotel you cannot enter without first getting the tickets. Make sure you book your tickets way ahead otherwise you might be unlucky and not be able to visit.
The Parador has a nice cafe area where we had lunch. We had dinner in the restaurant in the evening and that was not so good. So maybe there are better places in Granada itself.
So if you can afford to stay here ( a bit expensive!) then it is a real treat and nice to be in an old historic place (convent).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happyhallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanC_Sanchez_Galvez, Manager at Parador de Granada, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience in Tripadvisor.

We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay at The Parador de Granada and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Juan Carlos Sánchez Galvez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    680
    347
    127
    52
    31
See reviews for
253
760
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Actually within the Alhambra Palace this hotel is perfect for visiting it - in fact they will even get you the tickets.The room was a good size with a wonderful walk in shower. The staff were courteous and efficient and all spoke English. The terrace bar served drinks and lunch in a glorious setting. The restaurant was good value serving high end food and wine. The paella was stunning as was the ice cream cake and chocolate sponge dessert. The starter - a salad involving cod, prawns and orange pieces- was refreshing and refreshingly different. Whilst waiting we were served bread and olive oil of a very high standard. This place is not cheap but it is a great place to stay and to eat. The breakfast offered a wide choice and the toaster worked surprisingly well.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanC_Sanchez_Galvez, Director General at Parador de Granada, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are happy to hear that you have had a fantastic stay at The Parador de Granada and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Juan Carlos Sánchez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This was our seventh stay in the Parador de Granada but the first time we have stayed in winter or for more than one night. We stayed for two nights in room 202, a corner room in the oldest part of the parador, close to the duplex tower room 304. The room was beautifully furnished and fully refurbished to a high standard in keeping with its history as a former convent.

The bar and cafe area has been greatly enlarged over the years and copes well with the flow of daytime visitors. At night you have the freedom to explore this world heritage site with hardly anyone around and enjoy magical views such as the sunset on the snow-capped Sierra Nevada mountains.

The restaurant dinner and breakfasts are to a high standard, though distinctively local, Granada style cuisine.

It was noticeable that the parador has become popular with Chinese visitors, couples, families and some travelling in larger groups, to explore the heritage of the Alhambra.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanC_Sanchez_Galvez, General Manager at Parador de Granada, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest,
First and foremost, thank you for your continued loyalty throughout the years.

We will be sure to share your wonderful comments with the team as I know they will be greatly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Juan Carlos Sánchez Galvez
General Manager of Parador de Granada
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

I can think of no other hotel which has such a magical setting. The rooms are small but exquisite - modern yet traditional. They have managed to keep the essence of a converted convent but with luxury at every turn. The cafe are has been modernised but lacked charm but during high season it is heavily used by non residents so customer service is probably more important than style. The dining room and its food was top quality. Breakfast was divine - such a range! The service and helpfulness of the staff in all areas was tremendous. You could not fault it. Of course the most important point is to be in the Alhambra when all have left.History cmes alive.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrancesMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanC_Sanchez_Galvez, General Manager at Parador de Granada, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are happy to hear that you had a very nice stay at The Parador de Granada and you like the food and the style. I will pass along your kind words to our team.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Juan Carlos Sánchez Galvez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The price might seem shocking for the size of room and quality of service you get, but you are staying in the heart of the alhambra, between the Generalife and the Nasrid Palaces, and when you consider that this complex is on top of a hill, quite a distance from most hotels and a tour can be quite exhausting, it is a definite luxury to be able to drive in, park in the Alhambra itself, visit the palaces, take a toilet and snooze stop in between, before proceeding to the Generalife or returning to visit the palace of Carlos V.

Our room had a beautiful view of the Generalife and the gardens of the Alhambra. It was compact and clean. Functional, rather than luxurious. I have heard complaints from others who were less lucky with their room allocations (no view etc.)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stinkaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanC_Sanchez_Galvez, General Manager at Parador de Granada, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share the nice experience you had with us.

We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay at The Parador de Granada and you like your room.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

The restaurant had great staff and great food but that was where the great experience ended. The level of service was awful for the price. I have had better service at 2* star hostels they reception staff were terrible and just didn't want to help.

If this wasn't a stones throw away from the Alhambra it would be out of business by now.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayurldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Location location location. Very individual property. Nice staff and good food. An authentic experience!
Very good place to stay for a couple of days and easy to walk to local attractions, so close to the Alhambra you can make an early start or late finish to beat other tourists!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Granada

Property: Parador de Granada
Address: Calle Real de La Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#9 Family Hotel in Granada
#14 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spending a night in the gardens of the Alhambra, among fountains, trees and large arched windows is the exclusive opportunity offered by this Parador, a former convent built by decision of the Catholic Monarchs. The building itself invites to discover a dreamlike interior, where Arabic and Christian style mix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Parador de Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Granada Hotel Granada
Parador De Hotel Granada
Granada Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing