We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,556)
Filter reviews
1,556 results
Traveller rating
885
408
159
63
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
885
408
159
63
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews generalife gardens summer palace within the walls half board queen isabella former monastery terrace restaurant alhambra complex alhambra tour terrace overlooking ticket office breakfast and dinner nasrid palace historic building car park luxury hotel fantastic location
Filter
Updating list...
471 - 476 of 1,556 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Our second visit to the Alhambra but the first time we have stayed in this parador. Usual excellent service from parador staff, but the location is the key here. What luxury to be able to wander around the Alhambra in the evening and early morning and having a base to come back to during the day. Ok, some areas of the Alhambra you need your timed ticket to get into but there are other areas, including much of the gardens that you can visit freely. We approached Granada from the west and got into terrible problems with city traffic and installation of the new tramway system, it took us over an hour of driving round to get a route up to the Alhambra itself. It would have been better to contact them beforehand for a route in. Once in the castle there is a secure car park for the parador and they are happy at least at this time of the year for you to leave the car there even after you have checked out as long as you leave the keys with them. Ok, the hotel is a little expensive but worth it for a night to two. They also open the restaurant at 8pm, earlier than all the other Paradors we have been to.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorkshireLass42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanC_Sanchez_Galvez, Manager at Parador de Granada, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share the nice experience you had with us.

We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay at The Parador de Granada and you like our services.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Juan Carlos Sánchez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Everything about this hotel is 5 star. The location is unbeatable, rooms and public areas impeccable. I don't usually spend this much on a hotel but I would say it was worth it for one night. Leaving the hotel you are a 3 minute walk to the entrance to the Alhambra Nasries Palace. 10 minutes walk to the main square in Granada with lots of restaurants and night life. Rooms are well appointed and beautifully furnished.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Darby150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanC_Sanchez_Galvez, Manager at Parador de Granada, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and this very nice review.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Juan Carlos Sánchez Galvez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is a 3 star hotel graced with a wonderful location. Service was excellent, incl help with luggage. Room was mediocre; it looked out on L'Alhambra, but that really was not exciting because we looked away.

Resto was interesting and well-executed. Service was fine, until it came time to ask for the bill: Then it was horrible. Breakfast was far worse than other paradores Ive been in. Coffee was terrible.

The lounge was OK, but not great. When you collapse after touring the palace, and its too cold to sit on the terrace, and your room is too small, you need a better place to sit and relax.

The parador clearly rides on its location. It is lovely to be able to walk to the palace. next time, however, Ill stay in the old Arab quarter where I can look up on the lit Alhambra at night, and take a taxi up for my tour.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanC_Sanchez_Galvez, Manager at Parador de Granada, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are happy to hear that you do enjoy our location and views and you like our service.

Let me recommend you our fantastic Jr. Suite with a large sitting are for your next visit.

We are constantly seeking ways to improve our services so your comments are most valuable.

We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Juan Carlos Sánchez Galvez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My family and I stayed at the Parador de Granada for 1 night in Mar of 2013. We have stayed in several Paradors over the years and had read that this one is highly recommended. I agree and recommend it highly. We had an excellent stay. We arrived in the afternoon after driving from Sevilla (~3 hrs). As instructed, we pulled up to the voice box for someone to let the car up the controlled drive into the Alhambra, and then drove to the hotel's private parking lot (you can Google street view most of the route).

We were greeted courteously by reception and checked in without any issue. They even asked if we planned to visit the Alhambra and if we had our tickets. We had purchased our tickets, but needed to go to the ticket office and pick them up. We wanted to pick them up that afternoon so we were not rushed in the next morning. So, we strolled through and out of the Alhambra to the ticket office and then walked back to our hotel. Fabulous.

Our room (a standard double room) was very nice and spacious. We stayed in Room 204, which overlooked the entrance courtyard (picture attached), and from our windows & (very) small balcony we could look outside and see the Sierra Nevada range covered in snow. The room was larger than I expected with plenty of room to store luggage and clothes, as well as walking around space. The bathroom, of nice size, had a very nice bath & shower (bonus - towel warmer). For our daughter, they brought in a roll away bed at no charge, and she said she slept well.

We didn't eat at the hotel on our stay, but the dining area is beautiful.

We searched and watched for a reduced rate, and when one finally appeared we pounced on it. You see some quite high rates at this hotel, but there is a reason. It is a very nice hotel with only a few rooms INSIDE an eleventh century Arabic fortress. We found it to be very convenient to stroll from our hotel to our early entrance inside the Nasrid Palace. Upon finishing our tour, we simply went back, put our luggage in the car and drove away. No rush, no stress. It made the entire visit effortless.

Would we stay there again? Absolutely. Would we stay in the same room at a higher price? Probably. It is such an amazing place, and being inside the Alhambra free to stroll around for hours with your hotel room within reach was worth it to us.

Room Tip: As mentioned we stayed in Room 204. It is a very nice room, though nothing flashy. The room faced south, was on the 2nd floor and overlooked the front courtyard at the entrance of the hotel. I've attached a picture of the view from our room.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PittJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The detailed directions for travellers arriving by car, as readily supplied by this parador, are absolutely necessary as you have to arrive through the Alhambra itself. Once inside it feels like - and is - a privileged visit to one of Europe's great sites. We were efficiently and warmly received at reception and shown to a very comfortable and well-appointed room with a view directly over the gardens to the Generalife palace (lit up at night) - I think it was an upgrade, but not sure what the categories were. The room (207) had excellent cupboard space but was short on drawers or shelves for clothes. The bathroom had a huge unpolished black marble washbasin with modern tap systems, and led through into toilet and bidet. behind a transparent glass panel. The whole was done to a high standard, with sophisticated lighting systems and an agreable level of comfort.even if not all to our taste.

The Parador is a modernization of an old monastery with many features from long ago still in place, and surrounded by history, but internally very comfortably done while emphasising many of the original features. The bar downstairs has a very modern appearance, but comfortable corners with Moorish touches and a good snack menu for those recuperating from too much walking around palaces and museums and gardens. The indoor restaurant beside it is large and airy with wonderful views (and a terrace which must be great in good weather - it poured with rain while we were there in January). Dinner in the restaurant was very good - we had the tasting menu which was worth the extra cost, though not without a few items failing to meet the generally high standard of cooking.

Staffing in the hotel, like most paradors, of mixed quality. The restaurant manager was smooth and affable until we suggested one of the dishes was still partly frozen and immediately became curt and condescending, putting our bill on our table long before good practice and courtesy would have made it due. One of the female restaurant staff literally pushed me to one side in my chair in order to remove a plate - the others were very pleasant and professional. The young lady who received us on reception with such charm on arrival was replaced by two older men who were perfectly polite but did not go in for any efforts to make themselves pleasant or attentive (usually they were discussing something and the client had to wait)
Overall we felt this a good decision - especially given the weather since we had a nearby retreat from our tours of the palaces when we got wet or cold. In summer it might be a retreat from the crowds and heat. Very expensive of course, but you have to expect that in this location

Room Tip: Room 207 on the first floor has great views of the gardens and Generalife.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanC_Sanchez_Galvez, Manager at Parador de Granada, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful and detailed review.

We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay at the Parador and you do enjoy our food, perfect location and views.

We are constantly seeking ways to improve our services so your comments are most valuable.

We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Juan Carlos Sánchez Galvez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews