We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location But a Disappointing Experience”
Review of Parador de Granada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parador de Granada
Ranked #13 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My wife and I thought staying at the Parador de Granada would help make our visit to the Alhambra extra special...but it didn't. The logistics of getting to our room were unsatisfactory. The room was fine but put an emphasis on style at the expense of function. A sandwich in the cafe came on soggy bread (canned asperagus had not been properly drained). But, the bigger picture:

While the Parador was close to the Alhambra sights, few were open to the public outside of separate admissions that generally needed tickets from the base of the hill (no evening strolls through the palace gardens). The tour we bought through the Parador was a rip-off. For an inflated price, a person took us by taxi from the Parador to the ticket center where she left us to become part of a group tour of 29, wasting some 30 minutes and then having to walk up the hill.

We would have been much better off staying in a hotel in town and taking taxis. Of the nine Paradors we stayed in this trip, Parador of Granada was one of the least pleasurable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanC_Sanchez_Galvez, General Manager at Parador de Granada, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are very sorry to hear of the inconveniences you experienced with your Alhambra´s tour, however appreciate your feedback, as it allows us the opportunity to review the occurrences in an effort to improve the guest experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

379 - 385 of 1,380 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

We were recommended to stay here by some friends who had visited last year and we are so glad we did. It really is an oasis of calm and, as others have said, a welcome place to return to during the day to have a rest. For us it was also a place to warm up as there was unseasonably cold and wet weather for our short stay there! In the summer I'd imagine it to be a beautiful place to escape the crowds. We enjoyed exploring the Parador and learning of it's previous existence as a monastry, both the rooms inside and also the gardens outside - these offer a fabulous view of the Generalife opposite. The whole stay was topped off by wandering around the Alhambra at night when it was so quiet, no crowds and going into the Palacio de Carlos V which was lit up and only about 3 people in there.
The room we booked was a standard room but very nicely furnished with a big bathroom and a comfortable bed - what more could you wish for!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Noo-Noo-Nine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This is a gem in its own little peaceful world within the Alhambra walls. If you're going to see one thing in Granada it has to be the Alhambra and this is then the perfect place to stay.

The staff are wonderful and all the clients nice and low key. Although Mr Obama's wife and Omar Sharif and a whole host of other people have stayed here.

It's within an old convent and although elegantly decorated it is a little tiered here and there but totally acceptable it's overall level is quite superb.

The rather uncomfortable sofa bed was my only criticism and perhaps the breakfast buffet could have offered a slight wider choice at the price.

Will I come here again. Yes definitely, it was wonderful.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Rijko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Our second visit to the Alhambra but the first time we have stayed in this parador. Usual excellent service from parador staff, but the location is the key here. What luxury to be able to wander around the Alhambra in the evening and early morning and having a base to come back to during the day. Ok, some areas of the Alhambra you need your timed ticket to get into but there are other areas, including much of the gardens that you can visit freely. We approached Granada from the west and got into terrible problems with city traffic and installation of the new tramway system, it took us over an hour of driving round to get a route up to the Alhambra itself. It would have been better to contact them beforehand for a route in. Once in the castle there is a secure car park for the parador and they are happy at least at this time of the year for you to leave the car there even after you have checked out as long as you leave the keys with them. Ok, the hotel is a little expensive but worth it for a night to two. They also open the restaurant at 8pm, earlier than all the other Paradors we have been to.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YorkshireLass42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanC_Sanchez_Galvez, Manager at Parador de Granada, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share the nice experience you had with us.

We are happy to hear that you had a comfortable stay at The Parador de Granada and you like our services.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Juan Carlos Sánchez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Everything about this hotel is 5 star. The location is unbeatable, rooms and public areas impeccable. I don't usually spend this much on a hotel but I would say it was worth it for one night. Leaving the hotel you are a 3 minute walk to the entrance to the Alhambra Nasries Palace. 10 minutes walk to the main square in Granada with lots of restaurants and night life. Rooms are well appointed and beautifully furnished.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Darby150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanC_Sanchez_Galvez, Manager at Parador de Granada, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and this very nice review.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Juan Carlos Sánchez Galvez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is a 3 star hotel graced with a wonderful location. Service was excellent, incl help with luggage. Room was mediocre; it looked out on L'Alhambra, but that really was not exciting because we looked away.

Resto was interesting and well-executed. Service was fine, until it came time to ask for the bill: Then it was horrible. Breakfast was far worse than other paradores Ive been in. Coffee was terrible.

The lounge was OK, but not great. When you collapse after touring the palace, and its too cold to sit on the terrace, and your room is too small, you need a better place to sit and relax.

The parador clearly rides on its location. It is lovely to be able to walk to the palace. next time, however, Ill stay in the old Arab quarter where I can look up on the lit Alhambra at night, and take a taxi up for my tour.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanC_Sanchez_Galvez, Manager at Parador de Granada, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are happy to hear that you do enjoy our location and views and you like our service.

Let me recommend you our fantastic Jr. Suite with a large sitting are for your next visit.

We are constantly seeking ways to improve our services so your comments are most valuable.

We look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,

Juan Carlos Sánchez Galvez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My family and I stayed at the Parador de Granada for 1 night in Mar of 2013. We have stayed in several Paradors over the years and had read that this one is highly recommended. I agree and recommend it highly. We had an excellent stay. We arrived in the afternoon after driving from Sevilla (~3 hrs). As instructed, we pulled up to the voice box for someone to let the car up the controlled drive into the Alhambra, and then drove to the hotel's private parking lot (you can Google street view most of the route).

We were greeted courteously by reception and checked in without any issue. They even asked if we planned to visit the Alhambra and if we had our tickets. We had purchased our tickets, but needed to go to the ticket office and pick them up. We wanted to pick them up that afternoon so we were not rushed in the next morning. So, we strolled through and out of the Alhambra to the ticket office and then walked back to our hotel. Fabulous.

Our room (a standard double room) was very nice and spacious. We stayed in Room 204, which overlooked the entrance courtyard (picture attached), and from our windows & (very) small balcony we could look outside and see the Sierra Nevada range covered in snow. The room was larger than I expected with plenty of room to store luggage and clothes, as well as walking around space. The bathroom, of nice size, had a very nice bath & shower (bonus - towel warmer). For our daughter, they brought in a roll away bed at no charge, and she said she slept well.

We didn't eat at the hotel on our stay, but the dining area is beautiful.

We searched and watched for a reduced rate, and when one finally appeared we pounced on it. You see some quite high rates at this hotel, but there is a reason. It is a very nice hotel with only a few rooms INSIDE an eleventh century Arabic fortress. We found it to be very convenient to stroll from our hotel to our early entrance inside the Nasrid Palace. Upon finishing our tour, we simply went back, put our luggage in the car and drove away. No rush, no stress. It made the entire visit effortless.

Would we stay there again? Absolutely. Would we stay in the same room at a higher price? Probably. It is such an amazing place, and being inside the Alhambra free to stroll around for hours with your hotel room within reach was worth it to us.

Room Tip: As mentioned we stayed in Room 204. It is a very nice room, though nothing flashy. The room faced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PittJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 122 in Granada
1,615 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#4 of 122 in Granada
1,816 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Melia Granada
Melia Granada
#29 of 122 in Granada
2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
815 reviews
B&B Hotel Granada
#25 of 122 in Granada
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Granada

Address: Calle Real de La Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#14 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £169 - £652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spending a night in the gardens of the Alhambra, among fountains, trees and large arched windows is the exclusive opportunity offered by this Parador, a former convent built by decision of the Catholic Monarchs. The building itself invites to discover a dreamlike interior, where Arabic and Christian style mix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Granada Hotel Granada
Parador De Hotel Granada
Granada Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing