We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience ruined by poor service”
Review of Parador de Granada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Granada
Ranked #12 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An amazing experience ruined by poor service”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Parador de Granada is truly spectacular. The view of the Alhambra which it offers from its rooms, breakfast area and general areas is breath taking and far better than you'll get from any other spot in the city. The rooms themselves are also very comfortable and the building itself is a landmark worth exploring. Never have I stayed in such a beautiful and unique accommodation.

Unfortunately an amazing experience was ruined when upon checking out when we went to collect our vehicle only to find it parked up against a wall with scratches down the side to the wing mirrors and body of the vehicle. The Parador require all car keys to be left with reception during your stay so they can move cars as needed however to see our (hire) vehicle treated with such little care was a shock. The rudeness of staff following was even more so.

Whilst a beautiful place to stay the Parador de Granada charges 5 star prices for the experience. To have our vehicle damaged then a rude reception staff member ordering us around, talking in spanish for extended periods to his manager in our presence - when he'd previously demonstrated he spoke fluent english - despite our polite requests otherwise and then claiming at my partner was lying and he hadn't damaged the car was disappointing. Being 6 months pregnant at the time I found this incredibly stressful and upsetting with only one lovely receptionist showing any kindness or sympathy to our situation.

A disappointing end to what had been an amazing visit.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a room with a view of the Alhambra, its worth the extra cost. For visitors who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElizaAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanC_Sanchez_Galvez, Director General at Parador de Granada, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We appreciate your positive comments and inform you that the insurance company is managing the small incident with your car.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    713
    349
    131
    56
    31
See reviews for
264
787
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The main purpose of our visit to Granada was to see the Alhambra, so this hotel was perfect for that. We had tickets to tour the Nasrid Palace the first evening and then saw the rest of the Alhambra the second day. We could just head out the door and be there. And it was convenient to stop back for a short break and something to eat or drink before more touring. The terrace restaurant has lovely views of the Generalife and the food was okay. The breakfast buffet had lots of choice. Our room was modern and stylish. The bed was comfortable but the decor seemed to put a bit more focus on style rather than convenience, eg. there was not a single drawer in the place and the bathroom had a large sink basin but virtually no counter space to put anything.

Staff were helpful and willingly booked a taxi to take us into town the second night. We enjoyed walking around the town and had a lovely dinner on the terrace of Ruta de Azafran, with a stunning view of the Alhambra from below.

The parador was by far the most expensive hotel of our entire trip. So would I stay here again? Yes, probably, for a visit to the Alhambra. But, if I had been planning a longer stay, I would have moved to a hotel down the hill after a night or two here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanC_Sanchez_Galvez, General Manager at Parador de Granada, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at The Parador de Granada and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

The location of this Parador is outstanding. It is a former convent that is located inside the walls of the Alhambra. In the evening after all of the other tourists are locked out you can wander the streets and some of the gardens at will.

There seem to be a great variety of rooms. We have stayed in 2 of them, one had a very nice sitting area and small bedroom but was located directly above the kitchen, so it was a bit noisy with normal kitchen clattering of pots and pans until late in the evening. The other was at the other end of the complex past the old chapel ( where King Ferdinand and Queen Isabela were originally laid to rest ). This one was in a tower with a large bedroom and a tower viewing room that looked out over the whole area upstairs.

The breakfasts are very good with a large variety of food available. The diners were also very good. We also lunched here one day and that was good as well.

The staff was very helpful when you could get their attention.

We have stayed in several Paradors through the years and have found that they are always good or very good accommodations. The food is usually vary good and we often seek out a Parador to have lunch as we are driving about. This is one of our favorites because of its ambiance and its outstanding location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AhabofLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston, tx
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

D H and I were driving to Granada from Ronda so from a traffic perspective, staying here was quite helpful. Loved being on the grounds of the Alhambra. From the parador's terrace, we enjoyed splendid views of the Alhambra, but the service was extremely slow and unfriendly.
We had dinner in the restaurant twice and found the food and service to be quite good.

We booked a Superior Double even after reading reviews of the smallish room sizes and lack of character. Sadly, these reviewers were spot on. We didn't spend much time in the room, so it wasn't a huge thing.

What I was most surprised and disappointed in was the state of the gardens and water features. What could be extremely lovely seemed untended - beds in great need of mulch and murky water.

We did enjoy the walk down into the old town and getting a cab back up the hill was easy and inexpensive.

I wish T A had a "Good" designation rather than going from "Average" to "Very Good". My feeling is that this parador falls somewhere in between. This is a real shame given the fact that it could be spectacular. We stayed at the paradors in Guadalupe and Cuenca and found both to be better than this one.

The check-in staff here went out of there way to be helpful regarding Alhambra ticket pick-up and directions in general. Of the 3 paradors, we found the staff here to be the most friendly - with the exception of the terrace staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suthna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanC_Sanchez_Galvez, Director General at Parador de Granada, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for writing your criticism about the Parador of Granada. Your comments help us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osaka, Japan
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

What a wonderful location this Parador has. Ideally located and in the style of the Alhambra. Maybe a bit on the pricy side, but room was really nice as was the breakfast. We enjoyed the dinner on the terrace, great food and view. Service was prompt and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Axel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanC_Sanchez_Galvez, General Manager at Parador de Granada, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for your comment. We hope that your stay has been very nice and have opportunity to visit us at another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

A great location with very good food in a very romantic setting let down by the size of the rooms. The car parking could have been an issue if we hadn't managed to find 1 space in the relatively small car park. I don't think, on balance, that it is a great advert for the Parador Hotels as a whole.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanC_Sanchez_Galvez, Director General at Parador de Granada, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for writing your opinion. The surface of the rooms is conditioned by the historical character of the building. The smallest has 24 square meters. We hope that in spite of this, you enjoyed a very pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Undoubtedly in a unique position but trading on this. Other than in the restaurant service ethos is minimal. The restaurant is above average but the rooms very ordinary. I checked ours was a superior room as we'd booked because it was so ordinary. We had requested a room in the old part but booking messed up. I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid being near the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tripper099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanC_Sanchez_Galvez, General Manager at Parador de Granada, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your opinion. We take note of your comment as a positive step to improve our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#17 of 122 in Granada
1,507 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 122 in Granada
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 122 in Granada
976 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Granada

Property: Parador de Granada
Address: Calle Real de La Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#9 Family Hotel in Granada
#14 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spending a night in the gardens of the Alhambra, among fountains, trees and large arched windows is the exclusive opportunity offered by this Parador, a former convent built by decision of the Catholic Monarchs. The building itself invites to discover a dreamlike interior, where Arabic and Christian style mix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Parador de Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Granada Hotel Granada
Parador De Hotel Granada
Granada Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing