We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the splurge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parador de Granada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parador de Granada
Ranked #13 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth the splurge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This property is steeped in history and absolutely gorgeous. We stayed in a spacious room that was plenty big enough for the 3 of us with a beautiful modern bathroom. There was a lovely cafe and restaurant right on the property which offered spectacular views of the Alhambra. We could walk out the gate of the Parador and stroll through many parts of the Alhambra at out leisure. The staff at the Parador were very helpful and gracious. We had not purchased ticktes in advance for a tour of the Alhambra and the front desk staff worked their magic to get us on a tour, something we would not have been able to accomplish ourselves. The restaurant offers delicious food with and first rate service. It was an expensive choice, but I would do it again. The views, the history, the service - it was a unique and wonderful experience!

Room Tip: I am told that some rooms don't offer a good view. You may want to ask about that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanceroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanC_Sanchez_Galvez, Director General at Parador de Granada, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your positive opinions. We hope you enjoyed the stay with us and see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    673
    339
    126
    52
    30
See reviews for
251
752
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

The Parador is truly a top-notch hotel. Located steps from the Alhambra, the Parador is a beautiful property in an historic building. The rooms are beautiful and well maintained, and the on-site restaurant/bar offers incredible views of the Generalife. The one drawback is the proximity to downtown Granada - the Parador is located on a hill, resulting in a fairy steep ~15 minute walk to/from the city center.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanC_Sanchez_Galvez, Director General at Parador de Granada, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your comment. We hope you had a pleasant stay in Granada.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
281 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed in several paradores on our trip through Spain, but this was our splurge. We stayed for 2 nights in a lovely, spacious room with a view out over the pond. Our room had a sitting area, free wi-fi, a modern bathroom with a lovely tub and some confusing light switches which we eventually figured out. The staff were very friendly and helpful. In fact, they got us on a tour of the Alhambra which is something I normally would have organized prior to traveling, but life got in the way this time.
We enjoyed the breakfast at the Parador both mornings. There was a lot of variety and I really appreciated being able to taste all of the different items. I can't comment on how this breakfast compares to other Parador breakfasts as this was the first time we had breakfast at one of the paradores; up until this point we'd been suffering from a stomach virus.
We loved being on the grounds of the Alhambra! I'm very interested in history so this was special for me. The grounds of the Parador are beautiful and a bit removed from the general tourist traffic, so it was very pleasant. It is very easy to walk down the hill into town. The first time we took the longer route as there was some kind of photographic exhibit so I was a bit worried about how long it would take to come back up, but I needn't have worried. The direct route is much shorter and not too difficult. On the other hand, taxis are easy to find ... I was scouting in case I didn't feel like walking up the hill at the end of the evening.
As I said, this was a bit of a splurge, but I think it was worth it for the experience. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanC_Sanchez_Galvez, Director General at Parador de Granada, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We sincerely thank so positive reviews. This is a satisfaction for the staff of the Parador make happy customers. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
67 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

If this is your first trip to Spain, you are not driving and you want to experience staying in a Parador, the Parador de Granada should make your shortlist.

1. Unlike many paradors, the Parador de Granada is easily accessible by public transport (bus or taxi from Granada's train or bus stations).
2. Its setting, ambience and spectacular views (of the Alhambra and its gardens) provides the perfect experience of staying in a parador. The building itself is a landmark and it contains some of the original ruins.
3. Rooms are bright and well furnished. We had a standard room and a superior room. There was only a small difference in size. The superior room has both bathtub and a shower. Rooms on a higher floor will have better views.
4. The restaurant served good food with very attentive service. The open terrace (also part of the restaurant) faces lovely gardens with flowers and fruit trees.
5. It is a perfect base to explore the Alhambra as it is just next to it. You can return to rest in the hotel and pop out to walk around in Generalife in the evening when the day tourists leave. It is next to an entrance of Alhambra.(Note: this entrance is for ticket holders only. If you already have tickets, you can use this entrance as the ticket is valid for half a day, but one visit to each palace only).

The Parador has a 5 star price tag, but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anne332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanC_Sanchez_Galvez, Director General at Parador de Granada, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for such positive reviews. This encourages us very much to improve our work. We hope your visit next time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

The Parador de Granada is truly spectacular. The view of the Alhambra which it offers from its rooms, breakfast area and general areas is breath taking and far better than you'll get from any other spot in the city. The rooms themselves are also very comfortable and the building itself is a landmark worth exploring. Never have I stayed in such a beautiful and unique accommodation.

Unfortunately an amazing experience was ruined when upon checking out when we went to collect our vehicle only to find it parked up against a wall with scratches down the side to the wing mirrors and body of the vehicle. The Parador require all car keys to be left with reception during your stay so they can move cars as needed however to see our (hire) vehicle treated with such little care was a shock. The rudeness of staff following was even more so.

Whilst a beautiful place to stay the Parador de Granada charges 5 star prices for the experience. To have our vehicle damaged then a rude reception staff member ordering us around, talking in spanish for extended periods to his manager in our presence - when he'd previously demonstrated he spoke fluent english - despite our polite requests otherwise and then claiming at my partner was lying and he hadn't damaged the car was disappointing. Being 6 months pregnant at the time I found this incredibly stressful and upsetting with only one lovely receptionist showing any kindness or sympathy to our situation.

A disappointing end to what had been an amazing visit.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a room with a view of the Alhambra, its worth the extra cost. For visitors who...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElizaAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanC_Sanchez_Galvez, Director General at Parador de Granada, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We appreciate your positive comments and inform you that the insurance company is managing the small incident with your car.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The main purpose of our visit to Granada was to see the Alhambra, so this hotel was perfect for that. We had tickets to tour the Nasrid Palace the first evening and then saw the rest of the Alhambra the second day. We could just head out the door and be there. And it was convenient to stop back for a short break and something to eat or drink before more touring. The terrace restaurant has lovely views of the Generalife and the food was okay. The breakfast buffet had lots of choice. Our room was modern and stylish. The bed was comfortable but the decor seemed to put a bit more focus on style rather than convenience, eg. there was not a single drawer in the place and the bathroom had a large sink basin but virtually no counter space to put anything.

Staff were helpful and willingly booked a taxi to take us into town the second night. We enjoyed walking around the town and had a lovely dinner on the terrace of Ruta de Azafran, with a stunning view of the Alhambra from below.

The parador was by far the most expensive hotel of our entire trip. So would I stay here again? Yes, probably, for a visit to the Alhambra. But, if I had been planning a longer stay, I would have moved to a hotel down the hill after a night or two here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuanC_Sanchez_Galvez, General Manager at Parador de Granada, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at The Parador de Granada and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The location of this Parador is outstanding. It is a former convent that is located inside the walls of the Alhambra. In the evening after all of the other tourists are locked out you can wander the streets and some of the gardens at will.

There seem to be a great variety of rooms. We have stayed in 2 of them, one had a very nice sitting area and small bedroom but was located directly above the kitchen, so it was a bit noisy with normal kitchen clattering of pots and pans until late in the evening. The other was at the other end of the complex past the old chapel ( where King Ferdinand and Queen Isabela were originally laid to rest ). This one was in a tower with a large bedroom and a tower viewing room that looked out over the whole area upstairs.

The breakfasts are very good with a large variety of food available. The diners were also very good. We also lunched here one day and that was good as well.

The staff was very helpful when you could get their attention.

We have stayed in several Paradors through the years and have found that they are always good or very good accommodations. The food is usually vary good and we often seek out a Parador to have lunch as we are driving about. This is one of our favorites because of its ambiance and its outstanding location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AhabofLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 125 in Granada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,442 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Granada

Property: Parador de Granada
Address: Calle Real de La Alhambra s/n, 18009 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#9 Family Hotel in Granada
#14 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Granada 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spending a night in the gardens of the Alhambra, among fountains, trees and large arched windows is the exclusive opportunity offered by this Parador, a former convent built by decision of the Catholic Monarchs. The building itself invites to discover a dreamlike interior, where Arabic and Christian style mix. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Parador de Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Granada Hotel Granada
Parador De Hotel Granada
Granada Parador De Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing