We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Up to its Billing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Ranked #4 of 124 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed at this property over Christmas recently. Paid nearly 150 Euros a night for a 'Superior' room. In comparison to other hotels in Spain and Europe, found that for this rate, the hotel was not a great value but just 'OK".

The positives:

A great staff - very helpful, always friendly, accommodating, and eager to help with questions.
The hotel location was excellent - right off Plaza Nueva even if a bit difficult to locate at first.
Quiet, being secluded from the din of town.
The look of the hotel is authentic 'Granadian' - Spanish-Moroccan, for a good sense to the area.
Rooms were finished with quality materials such as marble, old natural wood beams, tile, etc. There was a feel of quality to the surroundings.
Beds were very comfortable and large enough for my 6' 3" friend.


The Negatives:

WiFi was spotty at best, dropping off repeatedly. It was definitely inadequate for sizable downloads.
The 'Superior' room my friend and I had was crowded, had only one chair, and the chifforobe was too small for two people. The room's only windows opened not to the outside but rather to the lobby/entrance of the hotel, making privacy a real issue.
There is a control for the heating/Air Conditioning unit but only the front desk has control over its operation. I was never able to get the temperature regulated properly and the room always felt stuffy.

Other comments:

Buffet breakfast was offered at 12 E and I found it to be adequate but not great.
The hotel is fairly new (as is its sister property in Seville) and has yet to work out the kinks.

The hotel has accommodation for only two rooms with twin beds and it's difficult to see how they can reconcile the difference (except for rates) between a standard room and a superior one. There was a mix up upon arrival whereupon we were sent to a queen bed room (the staff handled the change beautifully). That room and the twin room appeared identical except for the bed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window facing the Alhambra. There are only two twin rooms in the hotel so get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoradoFranceLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,147 - 1,153 of 1,877 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in Gradana. Lovely little hotel, and the rooms have a sense of charm in the Spanish-Moroccan medina style. Bed was super comfortable, and the bathroom was a good size. Location is good as you can walk everywhere from the hotel - and it is in a really nice, quiet lane way - so undisturbed sleeps. Only negatives are if you have a car the closest car park is about 1km away (note: Granada is not a car friendly city), and the breakfast is expensive if it is not included in your room rate (12 euro per person - so we ate out every morning - fresh juice, tea/coffee and croissants for 3.50 pp. down the road.)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderlusting_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

While I really enjoyed the actual hotel, the biggest problem is that taxi's can not reach the hotel and you have to walk about a 3-4 minute walk to get there. While this doesnt sound too bad, it feels worse when you have 2-3 luggages and are rolling them up on cobblestone. I felt bad for the neighbors when we had to leave at 4am and make all that noise.

That being said, that is the only con. The hotel is beautiful, great charm and lovely decor. The rooms arent plush, but they are comfortable and beautifully decorated. They had an incredibly attentive and helpful staff. We loved the daily complimentary coffee and pastry.

Overall, the location is good, hotel is clean and nice and the city is awesome!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEM782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Stayed here with my wife at Christmas. Upgraded to a room with a view of the Alhambra, which was really great. The hotel is near Plaza Nueva, at the bottom of the Albayzin. The staff at the Casa 1800 is great, they helped us get a visit to the Alhambra set up (do get a reservation if going to Granada....you really do need it to get in) and the room itself was always clean.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elportoguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Very good location and charming building. Room a bit small and indoor. Window looking to hotel salon! But we enjoyed stay very much!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hao-Du
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This is a lovely hotel in Granada old town, in a back street of Plaza Nueva, Albaycín. Very convenient to get tickets to Alhambra (pre-booked or to buy one from the machines at Alhambra’s library) and to the tourism mini-buses. Walk distance to the Cathedral.
Staff hotel was very helpful. Breakfast was good. The room we had was well decorated. The bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed very much our stay. Alhambra is something one must experience.
The only problem we faced was with our luggage in and out. Taxis cannot reach the hotel that is a pedestrian street and taxi drivers recuse to help with the bags. We arrived at night and at the hotel reception was just one lady. After a few minutes she accepted leaving the hotel to help us with the luggage. We were so lucky that the other lady that was on her way to start her term at the hotel, and she also helped with the bags. So, the problem was solved. Except for this tiny incident, our stay at Casa 1800 Granada was perfect.I find important to mention it so that other people know it in advance and are not surprised by this as we were.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariazinhabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

After staying at their Sevilla property we knew what was coming & couldn't be happier.

We are a family of 5 & the staff at Sevilla were great in securing a great driver to transport us from Sevilla to Granada......recommended if you are large group on a 5 week holiday with loads of luggage!

Hotel is fab, location & service wonderful. We booked two rooms one of which is their largest.....it's huge. I mean large, could have slept 15 without anyone seeing each other.

Staff were very friendly & professional.

When back in town it's Casa 1800 for us.

Room Tip: The large room......is huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whytex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 124 in Granada
1,055 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#8 of 124 in Granada
1,351 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 124 in Granada
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 124 in Granada
991 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#16 of 124 in Granada
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa 1800 Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa 1800 Granada

Address: Calle Benalua 11, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £49 - £266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa 1800 Granada 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada is a charming hotel located in a fully restored XVII century historical building, the building is known as Casa de los Migueletes and served as the headquarters of the militia at the time. The hotel is decorated with chandeliers, frescos, cupolas and luxurious furnishings, always in keeping with the noble wood of the building whilst highlighting the Classicist and Mudejar elements of the original house. The rooms are elegant and cozy, some enjoy views of the Alhambra, inner courtyards, coffered ceilings and offer all kinds of amenities. The House is organised around a central courtyard where each morning breakfast is served and in the afternoon tea is offered to the hotel guests, who are treated to a family atmosphere and making the stay special and unforgettable. The charming hotel has a privileged location in the centre of Granada between the magical Albaicin and at the foot of the Alhambra. Nearby there are museums, theatres, monuments, shops, restaurants and tapas bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Casa 1800 Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Migueletes Granada
Room Mate Migueletes Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing