We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Nearby Hotels
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alhambra Palace Hotel(Granada)
US$304
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Puerta de Las Granadas(Granada)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$277
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Melia Granada(Granada)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$471
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$450
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,949)
Filter reviews
1,949 results
Traveller rating
1,305
463
127
30
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,305
463
127
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree afternoon teaplaza nuevacentral courtyardjunior suitetucked awaybeautiful hotelold townstandard roomevery afternoonsister hotelbottle of cavaold houseinternal courtyardperfect locationthe main squareyogurtcar park
Filter
Updating list...
1,199 - 1,204 of 1,949 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We spent two very pleasant days in the Casa 1800 Granada. Staff lived up to their reputation for friendly and thoughtful service. (One staff member, out of four or five we met, had an imperfect grasp of English and refused to speak Spanish to us.) The room was large, beds comfortable, amenities just right and of course the room was immaculate. The only problem was an overexcited heating system that belched out Sahara-like temperatures. Fortunately we were in the mild Granada winter so we just opened the window and slept comfortably. The hotel's location was in our opinion perfect, just off the Plaza Nueva (New Square, built in 1500) in the heart of a lively city (a university town, so lots of students in the Plaza). Restaurants, bars, historic sites were minutes away on foot, and the Alhambra just up an admittedly steep hill.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winst0n4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Doesn't live up to the great photos but it was close to Alhabra and the room was clean and warm. Breakfast exhorbitant price and wi fi didn't work for me.
I couldn't work out why the route from reception to the room was so cold but in the morning I found out that you are led from an enclosed reception through an open coutyard to the rooms .Iit looked impressive in the morning. No bath but shower worked fine. staff were helpfull in storing bags whilst we went walkabout.

Room Tip: Avoid lower courtyard rooms and above noisy buffet.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kremmen1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We arrived by train before noon and were told we could check in after about one hour. We left our bags and grabbed a bite. When we returned, we found we had been upgraded to a superior room which was quite lovely. The staff was so friendly, and they helped us with our bags to the room (lots of stairs in the hotel, some rooms not serviced by elevator). The breakfast was amazing. They also had free fruit, snacks and juice and tea in the afternoons. We were able to store our luggage the next day, too, since we didn't depart for the airport until mid-afternoon. Very conveniently located to the Plaza Nuevo.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 700Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

We stayed in this nice hotel last September. Whilst our stay was pleasant it did not live up to the rave reviews we had read on Trip Advisor. It is in good location for accessing the sights in Granada but it is still situated on what might be described as a back alley. We booked a standard room and it was quite nice, but perhaps not as good as the excellent photos on the web site. The "Hotel" does not have all the facilities which you would expect for the price and it would be better described as an upmarket B&B. However if you are looking for something quirky and do not want the usual commercial hotel experience, this might suit you.

Room Tip: Do not accept a lower level room facing on to the internal courtyard. If you open the window, guests can see right in as it is below floor level. Althought we did not have a room like this, we would have been really peeved if we did
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PierceH_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed at this property over Christmas recently. Paid nearly 150 Euros a night for a 'Superior' room. In comparison to other hotels in Spain and Europe, found that for this rate, the hotel was not a great value but just 'OK".

The positives:

A great staff - very helpful, always friendly, accommodating, and eager to help with questions.
The hotel location was excellent - right off Plaza Nueva even if a bit difficult to locate at first.
Quiet, being secluded from the din of town.
The look of the hotel is authentic 'Granadian' - Spanish-Moroccan, for a good sense to the area.
Rooms were finished with quality materials such as marble, old natural wood beams, tile, etc. There was a feel of quality to the surroundings.
Beds were very comfortable and large enough for my 6' 3" friend.


The Negatives:

WiFi was spotty at best, dropping off repeatedly. It was definitely inadequate for sizable downloads.
The 'Superior' room my friend and I had was crowded, had only one chair, and the chifforobe was too small for two people. The room's only windows opened not to the outside but rather to the lobby/entrance of the hotel, making privacy a real issue.
There is a control for the heating/Air Conditioning unit but only the front desk has control over its operation. I was never able to get the temperature regulated properly and the room always felt stuffy.

Other comments:

Buffet breakfast was offered at 12 E and I found it to be adequate but not great.
The hotel is fairly new (as is its sister property in Seville) and has yet to work out the kinks.

The hotel has accommodation for only two rooms with twin beds and it's difficult to see how they can reconcile the difference (except for rates) between a standard room and a superior one. There was a mix up upon arrival whereupon we were sent to a queen bed room (the staff handled the change beautifully). That room and the twin room appeared identical except for the bed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window facing the Alhambra. There are only two twin rooms in the hotel so get specific information about the one you select.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColoradoFranceLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews