We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa 1800 Granada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Ranked #7 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Good location, one minute walk to Plaza Nueva . Rooms are nicely appointed, we had a great shower in our room, very unusual for a European hotel. Beautiful courtyard. Complimentary tea and deserts late afternoon. Friendly and helpful staff. Recommended

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,031
    375
    104
    25
    21
See reviews for
251
1,016
34
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bronxville, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Well located and near all one wants to see in Granada. Modern bath and free tea service every afternoon. Staff is extremely helpful. Our room was on the ground level, but quiet and comfy. We were able to walk to all the sites.

Room Tip: Ask for an outside room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

We returned recently from a superb 17-day private trip through southern Spain, that included stays in historic boutique inns in the old quarters of Madrid, Toledo, Cordoba, Sevilla, and Granada. While each of our hotels had its individual charms, we especially enjoyed Hotel Casa 1800 in Granada, where we stayed for 3 days. As others have mentioned, its location (just off the Plaza Neuva and the wonderful Carrera de Darro that runs along the Darro River, with the eternally enchanting Alhambra looking down) is excellent. The hotel itself is a beautifully restored 18th century Moorish-style home, whose decor features abundant stone and wooden beams, "restrained elegance" in terms of interior furnishings, wonderfully appointed bathrooms, excellent breakfasts in the courtyard, a comfortable computer nook for guests, and an extremely friendly and helpful staff. We also appreciated little touches, such as a big bouquet of white lilies in the entry, that perfumed the entire hallway and welcomed us each time we returned. Our room looked down on the courtyard, which was not a problem... we found the hotel very quiet. There is a second Hotel Casa 1800 in Sevilla... I would assume of equal high quality.

Room Tip: In general, when staying in an historic boutique hotel in Spain, be aware that some may require extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunray220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pease Pottage
Level Contributor
195 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Hotel is a converted traditional courtyard manor house offering varied rooms with either inner courtyard views or external views of Alhambra.

We opted for a Deluxe and got a great room (23) which had a sofa and a small window with lovely views. We would not have been so keen on the ground level courtyard rooms as if you opened the window people could see directly in while eating breakfast - suggest you pay an additional amount and secure a better room. Room was very well appointed with good toiletries although we did have to ask for them to be replenished every day.

There is no restaurant in the hotel although a basic breakfast is served at a cost of 9.50 euros pp and there is a complimentary afternoon tea which is a nice touch. An evening bar would be a nice addition to this hotel.

All staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Great location in the middle of the old town and 15 minute walk to Alhambra and 15 minute walk in the opposite direction to a wonderful restaurant that the hotel recommended with fantastic views of Alhambra (Las Estrellas de Sans Nicolas)

Highly recommended and well deserving of its current TA rating

Room Tip: Don't go for a basic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Choose Hotel Casa from other reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. From the moment we booked very good and helpful emails including detailed instructions with photographs as to where to park and how to reach hotel by taxi.
We stayed in Superior rooms slightly on the small side but very well furnished and very comfortable.
Location is ideal but get No 30 bus to the Alhambra or get a taxi about €4 from Placa Nueva so much walking when you get there.
Staff couldn't have been more helpful breakfast unexpectediy good.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chartersmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Just finished our wonderful stay at Granada, Spain and stayed at the quaint hotel Casa 1800. Full of character and charm it is ideally placed for a visit to the older part of the city. Tucked away off Platza Nueva down a back alley, at first pass its unassuming sliding glass door makes you wonder what you've booked into, but as you pass through the door into a covered corridor that at one point in the life of the building would have been open to the elements. You then move into a courtyard that is open to the elements with the rooms being positioned around the courtyard in typical moorish style.

The rooms are well furnished, we stopped in a superior room and although not large it was plenty adequate and furnished to a good specification.

Afternoon tea was complimentary and served in the courtyard, cakes, coffee, tea and soft drinks available. Staff were always willing to help and we found them very friendly.

Overall, a pleasant stay, not the cheapest but good central location.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

We travelled with family (two children 8 and 10 years) and booked two rooms. We received excellent instructions by email how to get to the hotel. Staff was very friendly and gave us two rooms close to each other.

The rooms are of decent size and very nicely decorated in a traditional style. Very nice bathrooms. Genuine features like old wooden window shutters give you a sense of the age of the building. This and the fact that rooms look into the courtyard can be a disadvantage in terms of noise while in general this part of the city is very quiet.

Breakfast and an afternoon tea (which we missed as we were always too late - maybe, the time can be extended by half an hour?) are served in the nice courtyard. We received reliable information about good restaurants and events (flamenco dance). The breakfast was good.

We thought that the courtyard and the breakfast have more potential. When you came at the wrong time there was no seating. Also, there was limited soft seating and only quite bulky arm chairs. Staff had difficulty refilling the buffet, in my view largely resulting from an inconvenient arrangement of the furniture.

Overall, a very nice and memorable experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidWorldTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
El Ladron de Agua
#5 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#2 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#11 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa 1800 Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa 1800 Granada

Property: Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Address: Calle Benalua 11, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#6 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa 1800 Granada 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada is a charming hotel located in a fully restored XVII century historical building, the building is known as Casa de los Migueletes and served as the headquarters of the militia at the time. The hotel is decorated with chandeliers, frescos, cupolas and luxurious furnishings, always in keeping with the noble wood of the building whilst highlighting the Classicist and Mudejar elements of the original house. The rooms are elegant and cozy, some enjoy views of the Alhambra, inner courtyards, coffered ceilings and offer all kinds of amenities. The House is organised around a central courtyard where each morning breakfast is served and in the afternoon tea is offered to the hotel guests, who are treated to a family atmosphere and making the stay special and unforgettable. The charming hotel has a privileged location in the centre of Granada between the magical Albaicin and at the foot of the Alhambra. Nearby there are museums, theatres, monuments, shops, restaurants and tapas bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Casa 1800 Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Migueletes Granada
Room Mate Migueletes Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing