We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Ranked #7 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Warren, Vermont
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

This property--and its sister in Sevilla--is a delightful newly renovated old historic structure. CAUTION: Do not attempt to drive to the hotel, follow the recommendations of the staff for parking. Some taxis will drive to the entry, others drop you about 200 meters away over cobblestone lanes causing a hassle if you have a lot of luggage. With patience, hotel staff will move your belongings from drop off into the hotel.
Being tucked into the old town, this small boutique hotel is quiet and peaceful. Its location is excellent--close to the main square and various public transport (convenient if you choose not to hike uphill to the Alhambra entrance).
Excellent buffet breakfast--inquire about discounts--is good-value-for-money. We also liked the gratis afternoon tea. Both interludes were available within the spacious inner courtyard--sometimes a bit busy.
Typical of Spain, WiFi was iffy.
The English-speaking desk staff is very friendly and helpful. Their recommendations for restaurants and touring were right-on.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaseXeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,081
    403
    110
    25
    22
See reviews for
263
1,082
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We came here for two nights during our three-week honeymoon around Spain.

The reception staff were really very helpful and lovely to deal with. A couple of times we dealt lovely girl called Carmen and another girl on check out.

We were in room 11 (junior suite) and it was a good size and very nicely decorated. Very pretty. However, the room had a slightly musty smell and it was difficult to sleep in because there was so much noise coming from the kitchen (so much loud clanging of cutlery and crockery).

The hotel is a little bit tricky to get to with large bags, but we managed to walk from the bus stop (after getting off the airport bus) with the assistance of google maps without any real hassle.

We would recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atamsina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Just spent two nights at the Casa 1800 and with just a few changes this would be a 5 star review.

The location is great, and although we knew we could not drive to the hotel it would have been very nice for there to be someone to meet you in the square and help the guests with the luggage.

The Wifi is super patchy and only worked by one window in my room.

The breakfast could be better; it seemed like some of the things out out were not fresh and there was not enough space for all the guests to sit at once.

Housekeeping is on an odd schedule.
We were out from 8:30 till 2 and when we returned to the hotel for a siesta
( everything is closed in the afternoon) the room was still not done. A lot of the guests found themselves in the same situation. We then had to go out in the afternoon or face our room not being done at all.

We had one of the internal to rooms which I had hoped would be quiet but I heard every person coming in at night and was woken up by breakfast the next day.

Having said all that our room was gorgeous and huge,the bathrooms was modern and filled with every amenity one would need, the staff at the front desk were super helpful and knowledgeable and the beds were comfortable. The hotel is close to the cathedral, many good restaurants and not far from the Alhambra.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notenoughshelfspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Hotel itself is elegant and peaceful. Nice loctation, close to Alhambra. But it doesn't have kitchen, so tea time service is about "tea"...cakes and pastry is just average. Bathroom is big, equitment is nice but during our residence, it didn't function well. Once we had to stand in the bathtub full of used water for the morning shower ... moreover, no wifi in the room, no window in Junior Suite....staff are nice and friendly. Overall, i think the service provided by hotel is average, and price is over average.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathaygem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Our stay in Casa 1800 hotel lived up to our expectations. Great service all-over, very helpful staff for recommendations and restaurants bookings. Location is excellent, minutes away from the city center and not far from all well known places. On the other hand the hotel is not easy to reach, hidden in the lovely old Granada's part!
The rooms were well groomed and the old building is very nicely restructured.
A very nice place to come back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antoine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel based on its location in the old part of town and the positive reviews shown on Trip Advisor. We had good communication with the hotel prior to our visit and they arranged a taxi to meet us at the airport to take us to the hotel for a reasonable 30Eu. We had chosen a "superior room" which turned out to be on the first floor facing the riad style courtyard. The room was fine but be aware you will hear guests getting their breakfast if you have a room in this part of the hotel. Our first night in the room was fine but on the second night we were disturbed by a mysterious buzzing sound. We were at a loss as to what it could be and we weren't using the air conditioning. Eventually I went down to reception at 6:30 in the morning to complain. Maria was particularly helpful and apologised profusely for our disturbed night and immediately found us another room on the same floor. After breakfast we decided to see if there was an upgrade available to a deluxe room. There was so we decided to take this and our luggage was moved for us while we spent the morning in town. On check out we were given one complimentary night in this room without having to pay for the upgrade which was a nice gesture. There was only one other issue in that on one day our room wasn't serviced. Again very apologetic staff.

The room was very comfortable with a view of the Alhambra and a good sized bathroom with both bath and shower. The usual minibar and safe were in the wardrobe and bottled water was free.

As mentioned in other reviews we would have preferred to have the breakfast included in the price rather than a complimentary afternoon tea which I believe most people only used because it was there. However it did give you the opportunity to stock up on bottled water and canned drinks!

This is great hotel for exploring the old town of Granada. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the rooms well appointed and comfortable. Just needs to sort out a few niggles and do bed and breakfast to it it superb!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank robocor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uzwil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

by car the hotel is challengin to finf despite the map the hotel attached to an email. But Jose from the front desk offered an outstanding service! The rooms are small but well -maintained. Nice patio in a old but stylish building. Afternoon tea offered by the hotel. Perfect location opposite the Alhambra however not recomended for disablead people. no direct acess by car!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 122 in Granada
963 reviews
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Alhambra Palace
Hotel Alhambra Palace
#17 of 122 in Granada
1,494 reviews
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa 1800 Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa 1800 Granada

Property: Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Address: Calle Benalua 11, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#6 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa 1800 Granada 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada is a charming hotel located in a fully restored XVII century historical building, the building is known as Casa de los Migueletes and served as the headquarters of the militia at the time. The hotel is decorated with chandeliers, frescos, cupolas and luxurious furnishings, always in keeping with the noble wood of the building whilst highlighting the Classicist and Mudejar elements of the original house. The rooms are elegant and cozy, some enjoy views of the Alhambra, inner courtyards, coffered ceilings and offer all kinds of amenities. The House is organised around a central courtyard where each morning breakfast is served and in the afternoon tea is offered to the hotel guests, who are treated to a family atmosphere and making the stay special and unforgettable. The charming hotel has a privileged location in the centre of Granada between the magical Albaicin and at the foot of the Alhambra. Nearby there are museums, theatres, monuments, shops, restaurants and tapas bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Casa 1800 Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Migueletes Granada
Room Mate Migueletes Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing