We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Ranked #7 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not the best choice”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Although the hotel is beautiful and central, getting there with laggage or a car is impossible.
the rooms are noisy and the food is poor. the stuff are friendly and helpful but it would have been better if we stayed in the new part and not in the old. the centre is easily accessible.

Room Tip: facing the back if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FoodieSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,075
    396
    108
    25
    21
See reviews for
261
1,070
36
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here from Dec 25-27. Location is excellent, within walking distance (15-20 min uphill) to Alhambra, to restaurants in the lower part of El Albayzín (5 min), to the Cathedral and Capilla Real (10 min), so very convenient. Staff is very good, both helpful and friendly. Our room was on the 2nd floor (Room#7), smallest on that floor I believe, with only a window into the interior courtyard. Room was clean but not terribly spacious. Bathroom was clean and new. Cleaning staff did a great job. Bed was very comfortable. Room was overheated despite lowering the temp so we just turned off the heat at night and it was fine. Morning breakfast buffet was very nice. One negative: If you have a room facing into the courtyard, it’s pretty tough to keep your curtains open since you’ll have zero privacy, especially at night. But for us, this wasn’t much of a problem; we drew the curtains. For the price, you get a very nice personalized boutique experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsk1333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Beautiful rooms, comfortable beds, excellent customer service! What's not to like about this place. This was much better than the other hotel I stayed in in Granada. Loved it. The breakfast was quite the spread and I loved the espresso machine. The only negative was the flamenco show they booked me in within the caves. If you enjoy being in a tight place with the most uncomfortable chair for 60 euro. Tourist trap! Stay away.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank megdoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Was so wanting the short stay to be brilliant and it fell just a short way from that in reality. The location is great for accessing what you need in Granada and the building is a wonderful old thing that is kept very clean.
We settled for a junior suite as the main suite was already booked and at 190€ per night it was a bit on the expensive side for what it was - no restaurant, no bar...
The bed was quite uncomfortable.
The room we had was clean and tidy and the bathroom was great with a Jacuzzi bath, the heating system worked brilliantly which was needed as it was very cold in Granada in December! The room was only about the size of a large standard room in many hotels and the TV did not function properly (loose wires or something as it kept coming on and going off)
The final niggle just before we left was that we just wanted a quick coffee before we set off on the rest of our journey, we didn't want any breakfast, simply a Nespresso coffee that costs 39c per capsule - they charged us 3.50€ per coffee having just settled up a 400€ bill for 2 nights, a bit tight!
We had a good weekend away and the hotel, although not up to what we expected did not detract from the Granada experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulinspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We had chosen the Casa as we had stayed in the Casa in Seville and loved it. We were not disappointed!! The location is perfect, right at the foot of the Alhambra!! As said in previous reviews you cannot bring the car close to the hotel, but the instructions given by the hotel are clear and easy to follow. Parking in a car park on the edge of the city and getting a taxi to the hotel. The afternoon tea arrangement is really special, after a day of sightseeing to be able to come back to an afternoon tea is very welcoming. The staff were exceptional, very helpful. In fact they made an effort to ring a restaurant in advance for me as I have a food allergy, and they checked this all out on my behalf. The room was very comfortable, a little dark, but that's because of the position, it didn't spoil our stay.
We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We are very satisfied with our stay at Casa1800. It is truly beautiful and the staff were so welcoming, friendly and helpful. A special thanks to Anna for her welcome, she was very helpful and very kind. I cannot think of a better place to stay in lovely Granada. Casa1800 is as the Riads in Marrakech so we really felt that we were at home. It's very similar from where we are. The idea of the tea time is very good abd appreciated as well as free water. it's well situated in the center of Granade everything is closed, so you can walk easily to all the most important places of the city.
Thank you all we really recommend this hotel and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatimabenbrahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allyn, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I love this place. We spent 2 nights here and I would go back in a heartbeat. It is a sweet boutique hotel. We dropped our car off at a car Park, took a short taxi, then schlepped our luggage along the cobble stoned alley. But, then, you walk into this lovely appointed hotel; beautiful courtyard, wonderful rooms, comfortable beds. The staff was very, very pleasant. Carmella was particularly helpful in suggestions for dinner and finding our way about the Old Town. We took a cab to Alhambra (all up hill) and had a short walk back from Alhambra to the hotel. Plaza Nueva is just around the corner with many Tapas, restaurants and shops. I loved the way the windows opened to the small courtyard. Afternoon tea was very nice and pleasant. Free water was a good thing. There is only one lift and some of the rooms require carrying luggage upstairs, but not to worry, the staff is there to help.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
El Ladron de Agua
#3 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#4 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa 1800 Granada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa 1800 Granada

Property: Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Address: Calle Benalua 11, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Albaicín , San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Granada
#6 Family Hotel in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa 1800 Granada 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada is a charming hotel located in a fully restored XVII century historical building, the building is known as Casa de los Migueletes and served as the headquarters of the militia at the time. The hotel is decorated with chandeliers, frescos, cupolas and luxurious furnishings, always in keeping with the noble wood of the building whilst highlighting the Classicist and Mudejar elements of the original house. The rooms are elegant and cozy, some enjoy views of the Alhambra, inner courtyards, coffered ceilings and offer all kinds of amenities. The House is organised around a central courtyard where each morning breakfast is served and in the afternoon tea is offered to the hotel guests, who are treated to a family atmosphere and making the stay special and unforgettable. The charming hotel has a privileged location in the centre of Granada between the magical Albaicin and at the foot of the Alhambra. Nearby there are museums, theatres, monuments, shops, restaurants and tapas bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Casa 1800 Granada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room Mate Migueletes Granada
Room Mate Migueletes Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing