We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Nearby Hotels
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Puerta de Las Granadas(Granada)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Alhambra Palace Hotel(Granada)
US$304
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$319
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$277
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Melia Granada(Granada)
US$134
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$87
Barcelo.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$471
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$450
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,949)
Filter reviews
1,949 results
Traveller rating
1,305
463
127
30
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,305
463
127
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree afternoon teaplaza nuevacentral courtyardjunior suitetucked awaybeautiful hotelold townstandard roomevery afternoonsister hotelbottle of cavaold houseinternal courtyardperfect locationthe main squareyogurtcar park
Filter
Updating list...
790 - 795 of 1,949 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Having travelled for 3 weeks and stayed in over 10 hotels on our recent vacation my wife and I feel that this was our favorite hotel. It has some challenges - if you have a car the parking is over a mile away in the modern city and you have to park, take luggage to taxi rank and get taxi to the hotel. Its a short hike through some narrow and dark alleys to the hotel entrance - but boy is it worth it!

As you enter the hotel you know its going to be good. The staff are excellent - multi-lingual, helpful, upbeat, poisitive... can't say enough.

The hotel has a beautiful central courtyard with lovely furniture and an ante-room where they serve breakfast and afternoon (4:30 pm) drinks/snacks (at no additional cost and such a nice late day pick me up).

Rooms are somewhat small but clean and perfectly suitable. Beds are comfortable and bathroom is ideal.

Location for walking the old city and visiting the Alhambra is perfect - all the local buses are nearby as is a taxi rank. STaff were great with recommendaitons on restaurants and places to visit.

For me the acid test is always - would I go there again if I returned. In this case an absolute YES! Loved the place. Thought it was good value for money, a local hotel not a cahin, and somewhare with quality and class.

Room Tip: Some rooms require you carry luggage upsatirs, other shave elevator access. If you need assistance with luggage or dont want stairs ask for room accesible by elevator.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Granada was a great stop and the hotel more than suitable. Rooms newly appointed and the public areas very tastefully done. The decoration left nothing to be desired, however the sound proofing was poor- between rooms and corridor .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeidiAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We (57 y.o. married couple) stayed at Hotel Casa 1800 Granada for 2 nights in mid-June 2014 after traveling from a 3 night stay at their sister hotel in Sevilla. We liked the Sevilla hotel and we also liked the Granada hotel. The Granada location is great for walking to all tourist sights. It's just a short block off Plaza Nueva, hidden away in the beginning of the maze of pedestrian streets (and stair/streets) that is the Albaicin district. We took the train from Sevilla to Cordoba (day trip) and then on to Granada, arriving at about 21:40. A short cab ride deposited us at Plaza Nueva, and the hotel's directions made it easy to find on foot by 22:00. We had previously communicated our late arrival, and someone was at the desk ready to check us in, offering two glasses of sherry and a bit of cheese from the set-up in the lobby. Like the Sevilla hotel, Casa 1800 Granada is a chic renovation of a courtyard house, and it is nicely decorated. The rooms and baths are a bit small by U.S. standards, but perfectly nice. Ours had a small window that looked into the internal courtyard, so yes, a bit airless as a previous reviewer noted. The solution for this (in the late springtime) is to leave a keycard in the slot when you go out, turning off all the lights but leaving the small AC unit on. Removing the keycard not only turns off all the lights automatically, but it cuts all power to the room, even that connected to the AC. Since there is no central system, your room can become a bit stale with the AC off. I recognize that this thwarts some of the energy-saving objectives, but Americans will not be happy returning to a room that has had no AC nor ventilation all day. Otherwise we experienced the same great staff service, same good quality €9 breakfast, and same free afternoon tea as in Sevilla; and we benefitted from the same great ambiance and central location. Plaza Nueva is a 2 minute walk away, the Cathedral a 4 minute walk, even the Alhambra's Pomegranate gate is only a 10 minute walk up nearby Cuesta de Gomerez. Based at Hotel Casa 1800 you are also surrounded by the Albaicin's tapas bars (I recommend Bodegas Castaneda on Calle Almireceros as the real deal, not the similarly named Antigua Bodega Castaneda), tea houses (we had fun in the Ali Baba on Calle de la Caldereria Nueva), and even a Flamenco tablao (we saw a good show at Le Chien Andalou on Carrera del Darro as a quicker alternative to a walk up into Sacramonte). Final tip if staying in this area: we had one of the best 'free walking tours' that we've ever had in any city with Nicolas of Pancho Tours. His Albaicin and Sacromonte walking tour meets every day at 11:00 at the Plaza Nueva fountain, and is not to be missed. He is a font of humor and information, and you will gain access to spots that you will never find on your own.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RTullis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Excellent customer service! Jose was super helpful! I've emailed him while we were on the train heading to Granada to enquire about the best way to reach the hotel and also request for an additional bed in the junior suite we booked and everything was arrange for when we got there. When we arrived at the train station there seemed to be a shortage of taxis so I called him to get his advice on what to do and he called the taxi company and asked them to send more taxis our way which they did! Location wise it's perfect as you can walk to the city centre in a few mins, lots of options for eating around, shopping, taxi stand 2mins away....
I would def stay here again and will recommend it to my friends. They have a hotel in Seville too which we tried to book at as we were heading there next but unfortunately it was fully booked. We've passed next to it though when we were in Seville and it's right in the city centre so perfect location.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dezertroze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Having stayed at the wonderful sister hotel in Sevllle this was a huge let down
The location is reasonable at the bottom of the Alhambra hill but having to negotiate Granada to a car park then lug cases up to street level, then take a 6 euro taxi ride, then a 100 yards with cases over cobbles, it is just not worth the effort for the location alone.
The hotel is in a very well restored old building but having said that it lacks warmth and a certain quality and colour.
Our room was perfectly adequate, quiet and reasonably comfortable except for the shower. The hotel boasts of offering fantastic aqua massage showers, ours was impossible, it shot out jets of very hot water in all directions and would not switch off. The shower cubicle had no sealant along the wall/door join. The result was a bathroom flood. True we were given towels to soak up the waiter and a man moped the floor. We asked that the shower be mended, nothing was done and in truth nobody seemed to care. When we checked out the woman on the desk said they did not really understand the hi tech showers !
Afternoon tea was a very good addition
All in all a disappointing stay, although not terrible I am sure I could find a better option

Room Tip: Don't accept a room with aqua massage shower
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wisborough1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews