We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too expensive for what it was - not 4 star!”
Review of NH Granada Centro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Granada Centro
Ranked #24 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Parking was 22€ per day and you have to leave by 14h00. You pay 2€ per hour thereafter. Old TVs - WIFI connection not in rooms only in lobby! Only have a connection for the old style computers in bedrooms- really not up to date. Bathroom big and spacious but shower screen not big enough and water goes everywhere. Excellent position right in the centre of the city!

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel if you have a car!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,310)
There are newer reviews for NH Granada Centro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

254 - 260 of 1,310 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

And that is about the only positive to say about this hotel at the prices they charge. It could be such a wonderful place given the building it occupies, but I would expect a 4 star hotel to at least offer a bar. The room was adequate but the extra bed in it used up space and made it cramped. Everything was clean and the staff helpful - extra pillows were supplied immediately. Breakfast was so-so but the cooked items looked dried out and unappetizing.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

This hotel is well- located to most of the main scenic sites in Granada and has lovely design. Our room, a suite on the third floor was well-appointed and comfortable. A few drawbacks, though:

(1). Wi-fi is only readily free and/or available, at least from our top-floor room, in the lobby, meaning my husband and I found ourselves in the lobby late at night answering work emails. It would be a definite draw- back for business travelers.

(2). There was a distinct smell of sewage near the stairs that went up to our suite that was quite strong at times. Again, this might be related to our room alone, but it was very strong and unpleasant.

Other than that, could easily recommend this hotel to most travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Well first of all, I must say "see Granada and die"! What a beautiful city and Hesperia is worth staying at.
The hotel lies in the middle of the old city close to everything worth seeing in Granada. One of the first things we experienced after making the booking was an email with directions of how to find the hotel, and that’s needed in the tiny streets in the old city. On arriving by car its a good idea to stop outside the gates to the garage under the hotel and get yourself a parking place from the reception before checking in.
My first impression of the reception was "wow" It was typical Moorish in design including the water fountain, an open atrium with rooms all around the floors and a view up to the colourful glass roof. The staff are friendly and helpful check in goes quickly and smoothly.
We chose a Junior suite which we thought was good value for money on the booking site. Our room was excellent! Our only negative comments are firstly it was a bit difficult to find. Secondly if you are handicapped or have heavy luggage you will have a problem without help, the reason being Junior suites are at the top of a small winding staircase which was difficult enough to get up even with small overnight bags. Thirdly, noise, our room was the front of the hotel and subsequently gets a lot of noise from local restaurants and very late at night people moving rubbish bins (or something similar). However the room was wonderful. Typical old Spanish style, a sitting room with coffee table, sofa, TV, French windows and antique sideboard. Bedroom with king size bed (very hard) TV, 2 armchairs and 50" TV. French windows on two walls so plenty of light, sun and air. The bathroom was nearly as big as the bedroom, complete with massage bath, his and hers wash basins, and bidet.
Breakfast room was light and airy and a good selection for breakfast. Terrible coffee machine which takes far too long for a cup of coffee (albeit fresh) but causes long queues. The noise levels are a bit high as well due to the marble floors and walls.
All in all, this is a hotel that can really be recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hombreingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

What this hotel lacks in old world charm it makes up for in service. The people at reception will get you into the Alhambra on a guided tour even if the tickets are sold out ... that was immensely appreciated for me as we only had one day on which we could see the Alhambra.

Rooms are nice and tidy, the breakfast is good and the location is very central.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riiiicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Perfect location, lovely (though slightly small) and spotless room, very helpful people at the reception. It was a bit noisy because of the tiled floors. We read the other reviews and skipped the breakfast, but there are excellent and less expensive breakfasts within an easy walk on Calle Reyes Catolicos (believe it or not, go to Shwarma King for a great breakfast). The hotel was VERY difficult to find, however. Plaza Gamboa does not show up on a GPS. Be sure to contact the hotel and ask for their map of how to drive to the hotel (where there is parking for 20 euros / night).

Room Tip: I would think that the rooms on the courtyard are noisier, so ask for one that isn't.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisie930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

1.- Due to easter parades and traffic cuts each day parking was closed for hours so we could not use our car or would have to park somewhere else. Hotel staff didn't listen to our claims that this should have been notified on the web or when booking car space.
2.- We were given a smoking room (allowed by the european law?) something not notified in the booking process.
3.- Really warm room, but air condition didn't work (not because of a problem, just as a matter of fact in that season). The recommendation was that we open the window which by chance overlooked to the main hall, while the hotel staff would lower the temperature of the entire hall ;-) As a result, the room remained very hot but the noise soared very much.
3.- Very good location and decoration.

Room Tip: Make sure you dont book an interior room overlooking the hall: it will be noisy and warm and you wi...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rafael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Melia Granada
Melia Granada
#29 of 122 in Granada
2,252 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Room Mate Leo
Room Mate Leo
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Puerta de Las Granadas
#18 of 122 in Granada
975 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Suites Gran Via 44
Suites Gran Via 44
#11 of 122 in Granada
807 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Granada Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Granada Centro

Address: Plaza Gamboa, S/N, 18009 Granada, Spain (Formerly Hesperia Granada)
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Centro - Sagrario
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Granada
#10 Luxury Hotel in Granada
#30 Family Hotel in Granada
#35 Romantic Hotel in Granada
Price Range: £58 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Granada Centro 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Granada Centro, formerly known as Hesperia Granada, hotel is an elegant old building with an unbeatable location, right in the historic heart of Granada. It’s a short walk to the city’s most popular tourist spots, and it’s also very close to the city hall and the business district. Plus, you can walk to the Alhambra Palace in around 20 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Granada Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Granada Hotel Granada
Hesperia Hotel Granada
Granada Hesperia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing