We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and more of a hotel than hostel”
Review of Hostal Atenas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hostal Atenas
Ranked #48 of 96 Granada B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

This hostel had lovely rooms - bathroom was great! In a good spot to walk to shops and to see many of Granada's sites. Down side is that the hostel did not serve breakfast on site and no common room or kitchen facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (676)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 677 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

We booked this hostal just 2 days before arriving and we were amazed with offer we got on booking.com, 22,- eur for night for 2 persons. Location is great just a few minutes walking to city center and all tapas bars. Room was nice with big bathroom and comfortable bed. For us it was a pleasant and very cheap place to stay over night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyWayToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

we stayed two nights here, room 611, two balconies had fabulous views and the bathroom is spacious. The first room shown to us was really not to our liking, but we do not mind the elevators or the street noise, to each their own pet peeves... If you need parking, try to book from their site where they will sometimes have deals that include parking. Though we need to warn you that it is not for the faint at heart, the car goes on a tight, tiny elevator down underground, and there is not a lot of room to manouvre. The reception is not overly friendly but courteous and professional, you actually have to ask questions to get some information, ie restaurant recommended was just the closest and it would be good for kids/teenagers, but for people wanting good local food we should have crossed the street and gone into the market district. - which we did do later. The mattress needs exchanging.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room maybe from floor 4 and up if the noise is a concern for you, and ask to see yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hpytrvlr-yvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

It is indeed closer to low cost hotel. Very nice service, professionally appearing staff, no problem with leaving our car in the garage for couple of more hours. The room was super clean and tidy (and warm, because we were there in winter).

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skrat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

Centrally located hostel close to tapas bars and key sights. Our twin room was clean and comfortable with a balcony. Reception staff were helpful with maps and suggestions. There is a supermarket within walking distance. If you arrive into Granada by train it is only a short walk to the street where you can catch a local bus which stops close to the hostel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pendooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

The only good thing about the hotel is that it's in a nice location. My sister and I, we checked in well after the stated check in time, however when we got in our room, nothing was cleaned. Beds were tuned over and not made, garbage bin wasn't taken out, floors were filthy, etc. We needed to take off to Alhambra immediately so on our way out we informed the front desk. They weren't sorry or surprised that that had happened. They acted as if it happened all the time. That evening we went to a flamenco show that we booked through the hotel. We went down to the lobby at 5 to 10 as told and the bus had already gone. The receptionist hadn't kept a track of how many tickets she sold to whom and so the bus just went without us. She called the driver and so 8 other passengers had to come back for us 2. That wasn't the worst part. Believe it or not, the flamenco itself was the worst part. My sister and I are complete amateurs when it comes to flamenco. We've never even seen it on TV so we really know nothing. So us two newbies go watch our first flamenco show and we can tell straight away that it's awful. The dancers were so unskilled. The guitarist was OK. So if ever invited to go see a show in "Tant..." (well, we didn't even bother to remember the name) don't ever go. This is the last problem we had with this hotel. Next day we needed to get to the Granada train station at 9:10. We ask the front desk how to get there. Receptionist informs us that we can either take a taxi (10 min) or a bus (15 min). Naturally we want to take the bus at a lower fare and we ask about it. Receptionist tells us to take the #3 or 6 or 11 or 33 bus from the station right outside. We get in the bus and half an hour goes by and still no train station. It's not like there was traffic. Long story short, it took an hour to get to the station and we missed the train. Probably about 100 euros wasted. Just about the worst hotel I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenny424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here whilst traveling with Intrepid. Hotel is located on the main street of Granada which is very busy,traffic never stops. Room was OK, a reasonable size and bathroom was OK as well. However, the main drawback was the number of backpackers who stayed here and spent all night running up and down the hallways disturbing other guests. They even tried to get into the room of one of our fellow Intrepid travellers. Management did nothing when complained to, they couldn't care less. So if you like to have no sleep then this is the place for you. Even earplugs didn't help as the slamming of doors reverberated thought the night. Truly dreadful.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FionaHJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
B&B Hotel Granada
#31 of 123 in Granada
809 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Cedran Hotel
Cedran Hotel
#103 of 123 in Granada
155 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Granada Centro Hotel
Granada Centro Hotel
#37 of 123 in Granada
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Puerta de Las Granadas
#16 of 123 in Granada
1,010 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Room Mate Leo
Room Mate Leo
#10 of 123 in Granada
1,248 reviews
Centro - Sagrario
Suites Gran Via 44
Suites Gran Via 44
#11 of 123 in Granada
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Atenas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Atenas

Address: Gran Via de Colon, 18010 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range: £23 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Atenas 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hostel is located in the heart of Granada in one of the main streets in the city, Gran Via de Colon, a five minute walk to the Cathedral. Situated within an emblematic building from 1950, it is an inscribed building in the special Plan for the protection of our historic centre. In order to adapt the building to the specifications and comforts clients are seeking in a two star hostel , it has been refurbished several times. Therefore we invite you to stay in our establishment and visit a city that will captivate you with its unusual enchantment, monuments and beautifully hidden places. It is one of the hostels in Granada with a large capacity, having 77 rooms which are all decorated in a modern style including bathroom, television, air conditioning, heating and Wi-fi (FREE). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hostal Atenas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Atenas Granada
Hostal Atenas Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing