We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel in the valley opposite the Alhambra” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Ranked #15 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in the valley opposite the Alhambra”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

The room was very comfortable, clean and tidy with a big wardrobe and mirror (great for us women). The shower was also very powerful and a good size.

The staff were very friendly and as we were here for a wedding, the guests took almost every room. We didn´t have the breakfast as we ate in Plaza Nueva.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Tracy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    230
    54
    25
    12
See reviews for
124
344
29
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Once you know where it is, it's easy to find. Good location on edge of old town. No traffic in that area. Good room for family is Pozo Alto- has small kitchenette with microwave and even a hob and fridge. Double bed and bathroom
Curtained off. Table chairs and pull out bed. No bath, just shower. View of Alhambra from roof. Best of all, aircon in an extremely hot city. Very historic and atmospheric building added to our trip to Granada.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SMCLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

As far as the hotel went, it was very good. The people were nice, the breakfast was excellent and the rooms, albeit a bit small even by european standards were clean and adequate. Now a couple of other points..firstly, if you're driving, don't enter the hotels address into the GPS, you'll never get there! I had to call them twice and ended up parking about a mile away and taking a taxi into the hotel area. If you do use a GPS, enter Plaza Nuevo which is situated right outside of the hotel. Second, the hotel is not directly accessible by car. You have to be dropped off at the plaze and walk probably 100 yards or so on cobblestone and up alley stairs to get to their door. So if you have plenty of luggage, be prepared to sweat. Thirdly, also tied with the luggage, no lifts in the hotel as this is a converted building (it's beautiful) with just stair access to all 3 floors.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bubbagags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
danbenjoseph
Level Contributor
227 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

The hotel is rated 2 stars and is considered an "inn" or "bed & breakfast" which would be true in the strict sense of the word. Before arriving I checked the hotel web site and found there a page of explanation about arriving with car to the hotel. It said that because the hotel is in a pedestrian zone they reccommend that I arrive to a designated underground car park, call the hotel who will call me a cab from there and they will pay the taxi fare and give me a discount on the parking. The directions to the car park were excellent, I parked and called the hotel. The clerk answered and was very nice and called me a taxi immediately. We arrived at the hotel (or about 100m yards from the main door) and walked the rest of the way to the door. The door is a big old wood door, where you have to ring the bell and they open it for you. It does look like a bed and breakfast... When entering there is a small reception desk and a lovely patio. THe front desk clerk checked us in, helped us with the luggage and explained about the hotel and city. She really made us feel at home and as if we were part of her family. The building is an old house located in Granada's Albaicin, so the room was smallish but absolutely beautiful. It is furnished with antiques, has amenities, safe and a great bathroom. The corridors look down a few open patios and water fountain. The beds are very comfortable. The only minus is the fact that you have to walk about 100 yards to the front doos (with the luggage) from where the taxi drops you off and then climb to your room on steep old steps (our room was on the second floor and it was a bit hard to schlep the luggage) - so it is not for the older travellers or the handicapped. For us it was worth the effort as the hotel is simply magnificent and very unique. It gives you the feeling of Granada right away. The location is wonderful right in Albaicing, below the Alhambra, walking distance to the city center as well as restaurants and other sites.
The hotel is rated 2 stars, considered "just" an "inn", but for me it was the best experience in Granada!! The service, location and decor made it simply heaven

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank danbenjoseph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Very clean, lovely room with all the charm of Granada. We had room on the courtyard with a view of Alhambra which was exactly as described on the hotel's website. The location and the ambiance of the room connected you to old, romantic Granada - it is a renovated 16th C. palace. Charming. Clean. The bed was a bit hard but after a day of sightseeing we were so tired we slept like rocks. We drove into Granada and found the parking as described on the hotel website. Only glitch is that our taxi refused to take us to the hotel as it is a pedestrian only zone. They are supposed to do it anyway - insist that they take you to the door! We visited in July, and thought the price at the time was a good value compared to some others we had looked at. Close to everything you want to see or to buses that can take you up the steep hills to Alhambra and Albayzin. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The best thing was the soap... it made the whole room smell heavenly.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank gotarchitecture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Beautiful old hotel, very clean rooms, lovely courtyard with complimentary tea and coffee. Great location in the old town near the Alhambra and also near fantastic bars and restaurants which overlook the Alhambra. Staff helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, VA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

We had a lovely room that was almost like a studio apartment, with a small kitchenette and living area. Very clean, nicely decorated, and overlooking a pretty courtyard. Our son had a much smaller room, although still clean and well-equipped. Staff was efficient and pleasant. However, I felt it was overpriced compared to other hotels in Granada. Also, its quaint location on an alleyway became a negative when we tried to sleep and realized our bedroom window opened directly onto the alley where people walked by, talking loudly, at all hours of the night.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Noncamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Palacio de Santa Ines
#11 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Puerta de Las Granadas
#14 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albaicín
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
Hotel Casa 1800 Granada
#7 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
El Ladron de Agua
#5 of 125 in Granada
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari

Property: Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Address: Cuesta Aceituneros 6 | Junto a Plaza Nueva, 18010 Granada, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > San Pedro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 125 Hotels in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Casa Capitel is an ancient Renaissance palace built in 1503 and located in the picturesque area of the Albaicin, in front of the Alhambra in Granada and in the city center, close to the cathedral. It is a palace with lintels and Tuscan columns, Corinth capitals, Arabic chromium-plated beams; Renaissance decorated wooden ceiling and two Roman columns.Among all the artistic whole stands out an exquisite Nazari Capitel carved in alabaster, what makes it a piece unique in the world.Wooden beams original from the XVIth century are leaned on the artistic whole. These beams support the first and second floor of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing