We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel in great location”
Review of Hotel Universal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Universal
Ranked #59 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Reviewed 16 November 2011

The hotel is in a great central location and ideally situated for visiting the central sights and shopping district. Although the hotel lobby has been updated recently and looks great in the photos, the rooms haven't been finished to the same standard which lets the hotel down.

The rooms themselves are clean and comfortable but are a little small and the one we stayed in faced into a gloomy internal courtyard, although they do have everything you need. On the positive side, the staff were very friendly & helpful, and the hotel has underground parking across the street (EUR14 per night) if you arrive by car.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Universal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2011

I stayed two nights at this small two stars hotel. I was part of a group of bikers. The hotel is comprised of 6 floors and is located very well in the middle of town. There is parking across the street (E14 per night) and loading and unloading is easy. The rooms are small but nice and clean and so was the bathroom. The rooms are a little dark and the one I was in was facing an inner court. There is free wifi but is terribly slow. The other thing which is unordinary is the 6th floor coffee shop, which seems to be ran apart from the hotel and I found to be sub standard compared with local food.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

This is a very centrally located hotel. The front desk staff are very helpful and most sights, excluding the Alhambra, are a short walk away. Breakfast is served on their roof top terrace and is worth the few Euro. We enjoyed our stay here, and if you don't mind hopping a bus to the Alhambra, this would be a great base for your Granada explorations.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CalgaryCrisdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

So central, so cheap, so friendly, great high speed wifi, they helped with our luggage and nothing was too much trouble. Very clean and comfortable, had an elevator, minibar, own en suite. Small double bed which was not a 5 star standard queen size bed but very comfortable and adequate for a short stay - all this for just 50 Euro per night for 2 people...we would definitely recommend it for value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the street.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This hotel is walking distance from pretty much everything. It is very clean with a friendly staff. Hotel offers free internet.

Overall , this is a great stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloglisci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stumbled upon this hotel in the central area of Granada. It was only 50 euros per night. It was airconditioned with a mini bar which was very cheap.The staff were the most helpful I have ever experienced in any hotel I have stayed. There is car parking available for around 14 euros. The bed was a small double bed but was comfortable enough, the room and bathroom were clean. The only down side was the walls were like paper and we could hear trhe TV from the room next to us but it was not unbearable, just niticeable. The hotel was very central. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkKXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

Very comfortable rooms, helpful and cordial staff, great location, and great price. We ended up extending our stay because we liked it so much (our next scheduled hotel was somewhat sketchy).

We recommend it with our eyes closed......

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikedoron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Centro - Sagrario
Las Nieves Hotel
Las Nieves Hotel
#52 of 122 in Granada
333 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Abades Recogidas
Hotel Abades Recogidas
#57 of 122 in Granada
364 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hotel Juan Miguel
Hotel Juan Miguel
#105 of 122 in Granada
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro - Sagrario
Granada Centro Hotel
Granada Centro Hotel
#30 of 122 in Granada
519 reviews
Hotel Sacromonte
#58 of 122 in Granada
249 reviews
Hotel Comfort Dauro 2
#22 of 122 in Granada
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Universal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Universal

Address: Calle Recogidas 16, 18002 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 122 Hotels in Granada
Price Range: £36 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Universal 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 Star Hotel (Refurbished in 2008). Located in the centre of Granada. Services offered are cafeteria, car parking and hire, fax/photocopy facilities, laundry, free internet access via Wi-Fi throughout the hotel or in the computer lounge, TV lounge, change of currency, luggage storage and full central heating. The rooms are fully air conditioned with Wi-Fi, telephone (direct line), minibar, Digital Plus and fully equipped bathroom with hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Universal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Hotel Granada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing