We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A small, but very beautiful palace- it is worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Madraza

La Madraza
Book In Advance
More Info
US$27.63*
and up
Granada: Royal Chapel and Cathedral Guided Tour
Ranked #17 of 210 things to do in Granada
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
254 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“A small, but very beautiful palace- it is worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

The Palace of La Madraza was built in 1349. It was the first university in Granada, and today still belongs to the University of Granada.

A small, but very beautiful palace. Arabesque art decorations similar to those of Alhambra can be seen. There are areas of decorated plasterwork and a wooden dome covered with stucco lacework that belong to the original structure.

Some reviewer reported that it is free to enter. Actually, the admission fee is 2 Ero (including a brief guided tour). However, it really is worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank liucy752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    161
    42
    7
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beveren, Belgium
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Too often overlooked”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Although not a large place (only 2 rooms to visit), you should not miss this place. Colors in them
morish decorated part are authentic, and it is one of the few places where such old decoration stillhas these, and is not simply white. The history (with the combination of moorish and catholic culture) and different usages of the place are amazing. Too often does one go only to the major, big places. Well this one, although small is to be part of it

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marcel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Awe inspiring”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

I love history and I love architecture. Put them together and you have me hooked. This was one place that I'm glad we saw. 2 euro entry free (maybe only during the summer?) and there was a guy who took us along and told us things and answered questions. He was super nice and informative! I loved seeing the original artwork in the building (literally in it). It's a quick stop, I'd say we were there for maybe 25 minutes though I could've stayed longer, but that's because I kept wanting to ask more questions. My husband and daughter gave me "the look", so I stopped. I think it's well worth the money to go see :-)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dfcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Restored Moorish mihrab in the University of Granada”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013 via mobile

The Palacio de la Madraza (Palace of Madraza) is now part of the University of Granada and free to enter. Its entrance is opposite that of the Capilla Real. The Moorish mihrab has been restored and is worth a look. The exhibit descriptions are in Spanish.

Helpful?
2 Thank Pendooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not easily noticeable but near the church. Look out for that!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

The place is the first Madrasah in built in Europe/Granada? It now belongs to the university of Granada. What is inside? Nothing much except for a small area where we can visit. The visit inside will only take you less than 15 minutes as you can't go anywhere except to look at the paintings and take some photos (without flash) of the architecture. Oh yeah, the visit is free of charge. No entrance fee is required. You can't understand anything if you don't speak Spanish. If you are bothered, do type everything into a translator and read it from the translator.

Helpful?
Thank SafiahArshad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Madraza also viewed

Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 
Granada, Province of Granada
Granada, Province of Granada
 

Been to La Madraza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing