We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, wonderful Hotel”
Review of Casa Bombo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Bombo
Ranked #10 of 93 Granada B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful, wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Beautiful hotel, great people and views to die for. What more is there to say - the perfect Granada hotel.

Yes it is a short walk but it is worth it for the view alone, never mind the excellent breakfast and wonderful staff.

Great restaurant below it as well.

Thank you for such a great short stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelgeek77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    45
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
19
100
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I would give a 5/5 if only our room had been in a quieter area and had had air con. Casa bombo is in a really nice location and has a fantastic view of the alhambra. the breakfast has been the best we've had in spain with freshly baked bread, nice jams, ham and cheese, tea and coffee. the swimming pool is nice although small and the staff are helpful. the common kitchen is really good if you are bored of tapas and you might even get invited to a shared Spanish meal. unfortunately we could hear neighbours shouting all night long which resulted in very little sleep.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Diana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levallois-Perret, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Read Andrea and Matteo's email before getting there: very helpful directions to reach the place, as this is in the middle of the Albaycin: narrow streets, uneven pavement, so don't bring suitcases with wheels or you'll have to carry them!!! But this is exactly what makes charming :-) if you don't want to be in the historical district, then go to a hotel in the modern town with no charm!

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Casa Bombo and we had a really good stay in Granada. In the middle of the Albaycin, with splendid views over the Alhambra, and your feel at home! This is a boutique "pension" (B&B type), as there are only 7 rooms including a few double with en suite bathroom so it's not too big (and I guess even if you have to share the bathroom, there are only a few people to share it with). The breakfast is good, just what you expect : fresh bread, fresh tomato, good Serrano ham, good local cheese (not industrial one), galletas Maria (yummy!) good marmalade (not in plastic individual servings like in other hotels...), coffee, tea, orange juice (would reach the perfection if it were fresh!), yogurts, fresh fruits... So a few hotels could take example on this simple but good breakfast.
As for the room, our was good with en suite bathroom. It was clean and nice but maybe a bit expensive for what it is.
We enjoyed the terrace with sunbeds and the pool... So refreshing after spending time walking up and down in Granada!
We had a dinner with the staff and it was good fun to share this meal with other guests of the pension.
I would rate perfect 10/10 if this was a bit less expensive as it is a backpackers' inn for grownups, and not a real hotel yet or a high standards B&B. A little space for improvement - which I wish I could see as I would definitely come back to Casa Bombo next time I come to Granada!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank maridou7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

When I return to Granada, I wont even hesitate about where I'll book for accommodations. The staff of Casa Bombo was so helpful and friendly! They made us feel at home when we were there! You can't beat the view of the Alhambra, BEST MOJITOS of your life, amazing home cooked meals, comfortable beds and cleanliness that Casa Bombo offers! Casa Bombo is part of what made our trip to Granada amazing!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DanielleWord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I just left the Casa Bombo after five very enjoyable nights. We travelled to Granada from Valencia by overnight train and gave the taxi driver the directions supplied by Casa Bomba ( very necessary) and were dropped a ten minute downhill walk away. With access to a smart phone and Google maps we found the address with no problems. Although we arrived at 08:00 am we were admitted and immediately provided with breakfast.
We were given some room options but finally chose the room we had booked which shared a bathroom but had lovely views of the Alhambra and opened onto the terrace.
Casa Bomba has an ideal location within walking distance of everything we wanted to visit including a flamenco show recommended by Casa Bombo.
The staff at Casa Bombo were all helpful and considerate and had a good knowledge of the local scene. We had pre-purchased a Bono Touristico card for the Alhambra but the card also gave entrance to several other places of interest plus a bus pass which we found very useful at the end of a long day walking. One of the bus routes runs close to Casa Bombo with just a short down-hill walk to the hotel.
We greatly enjoyed Granada with much of this because of Casa Bombo and it's staff.

Room Tip: The terrace room with shared bathroom has better views and more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RjG28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veghel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This hotel/ hostel has a spectacular view, but is very difficult to reach if you are in Granada by car.
Advice: come by bus (from Malaga); then you will come closer to the hotel.
Parking the car in the garage advised by the hotel, we had to climb many many stairs with our luggage. The streets around the hotel can not reached by car.
It is a sober hotel, there is no luxury. That didn't mind us, but they didn't clean the room, no other towels.

Room Tip: most rooms shared the bathroom. Swimming pool is very small, you cannot swim in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MiriamRetera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

No matter where you stay in Granada – Alhambra dominates it all. On the hill with a scarf of green forest with a backdrop of white capped mountains – it is a sight as no others. Preserved in all of its glory, with palaces, geometrical gardens, courtyards, carved ceilings and walls, even with its ancient system of running waterways and fountains, it is a place to see and walk and enjoy the views, colors, mastership of its builders and carvers, and architecture.
We stayed in a small B&B close to the St. Nicolas square. The square is always busy as it offers one of the best views of Alhambra. Our B&B was just below it, and also had the same great views. The only disadvantage – you will need to walk up with your suitcases. Or walk down, when it is your time to leave.
Young group that manages the B&B was very hospitable and even wanted to cook a dinner for us, which unfortunately we had to pass on, as in Spain the dinner can be late 9-9:30 and we were not used to it.
If you want to have a table at the St. Nicolas square you have to come and wait – as the places there are almost always full. People just sit and have some drinks and enjoy the views. No one rushing their lives.
The city itself is gorgeous, with a riverbank, and old streets, and Granada Cathedral, and some larger streets reminding me of Paris. Beautiful buildings are everywhere. Gorgeous vistas are everywhere too.

Room Tip: We stayed in their loft - very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 888Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Palacio de Santa Ines
#10 of 122 in Granada
1,195 reviews
San Pedro
Hotel Casa del Capitel Nazari
Albaicín
Hotel Casa Morisca
Hotel Casa Morisca
#2 of 122 in Granada
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Puerta de Las Granadas
#16 of 122 in Granada
943 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
Gar-Anat Hotel Boutique
#3 of 122 in Granada
961 reviews
Santa Isabel la Real
#1 of 122 in Granada
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bombo

Property: Casa Bombo
Address: Aljibe del Trillo 22 | Albayzin, 18010 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Bombo 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Carmen El Bombo, a typical house of granada, with his own special character, a little pool overlooking the Alhambra, a completly equiped shared kitchen, and a very charming livingroom with fireplace and an amazing view of the Alhambra and Albayzin neighborhood (UNESCO). Strategic location between all historicals tourists sites, at only few minutes by foot from the famous Tapas street from the nightlife part of the town, you won't need to take public transport.Here, we can show you what means live in Granada; where to go out for tapas, where to hear the sounds of Flamenco, and where to taste the best food and drink Granada has to offer. We offer you every week special activities as walkings tours to the Sacromonte hill dicovering the famouses caves occupated by the gipsy community , or to Realejo neighborhood for to appreciate the incomparable graffiti style of "El nino de la pintura". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Bombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing