We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Lounge and living area with nice views
Lounge and living area
Views from the roof terrace and the lounge
Bedroom
Roof terrace
Kitchen
Bathroom
Access to the roof terrace
Facade
More views from the roof terrace
More views from the roof terrace
More views from the roof terrace
More views from the roof terrace
More views from the roof terrace
More views from the roof terrace
More views from the roof terrace
More views from the roof terrace
Surroundings
More views from the roof terrace
More views from the roof terrace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Granada, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Empire-ea...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

There is no dispute that the view to The Alhambra is stunning, BUT there are more than one minus points associated with this property. Yes it is old and has been partially renovated but the tiny kitchen is on a different level to where plates and glasses are kept; the terrace is two levels higher and just about needs to be crawled up. There are no hand rails and my 6 foot 1 inch husband had to duck before going through most doors. The stand out problem with this property was the shower over the bath (see pic), the area of which was encroached by the staircase to the level above, allowing about 45cm from the wall before you head came into contact with the underside of the steps. Other issues prospective renters should be aware of include having to drag luggage up cobblestone steps and lanes AFTER being dropped at the closest point by taxi. This old part of Granada is made up of a labyrinth cobblestone lanes which are difficult to walk on and slippery when dry. If you are young and fit this property may suit you. Yes Nadia was lovely but she spoke very little English. Again, the view was amazing...but!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2017
As stated in the description of our property, Casa-Mirador La Alhacena is a typical town house in the historic Albayzín quarter of Granada. It has approximately 65 square meters that are distributed mainly on two floors. There is also a roof terrace with breathtaking views. The house was build most likely in the 18th century and modified several times since then. In this sense, we agree that the house is "old" given that it preserves its main structure that dates back to more than one century. There are photos from the 19th century that clearly show our property. Nevertheless, it is not correct that the house has only been "partially renovated". The last renovation was very respectful trying to keep as much as possible of the historic substance and character and thus, of its charm and beauty. Evidently, this means that it is not comparable with a modern flat or condominium since typical houses in historic neighbourhoods are unusually rather small with low ceilings and small doors. Nevertheless, we agree that the shower over the bathtub is not very comfortable and not optimal. We will definitely try to find a better solution as soon as our financial situation will allow us to do so. The staircase leading to the roof terrace is rather steep and there is no space nor any need for hand rails. It is sufficiently narrow so that one can easily support oneself on the surrounding walls. We also state very clearly that our house lies in a pedestrian street in an historic neighbourhood. This implies that it will not be possible to reach the house directly by car or taxi. It also implies that one will have to walk at not very long distance over cobblestone pavements and stairs that are typical for this part of the historic city center. Finally, we would like to highlight that we are fully aware that our property is not suitable for people with reduced mobility (PRM). Consequently, we cannot and do not offer it as PRM friendly but there should be no problem for elderly people with sufficiently good health.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dawnc2434
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic apartment”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for four nights at this apartment. We had a little trouble finding it as it's in a labyrinth of old houses behind plaza nueva. Once we arrived we were met by Nadia who showed us where everything was. The apartment is exactly like the pictures. It's beautiful. The view of the Alhambra Palace is stunning. If you look out the lounge window it's right in front of you!
The terrace, whilst steep to reach is also amazing and we sat and watched the sun go down.

The apartment has so much character. Not for someone who wants all mod cons but who can appreciate the age and detail of this traditional house.
The street in front was quiet and private. It was a five minute walk down to the plaza and the centre of everything.
Going back was a bit more strenuous.
We booked our tickets for the Alhambra Palace several months in advance. It is booked up for months. We also booked the Hammam Al Andulus. It was the most amazing experience and the setting unique.
All in all we were sad to leave and cannot recommend granada and Artur's house enough. You must go!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful house with amazing view”
Reviewed 22 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The house is centrally located in Granada and we were given good directions prior to our visit. Nadia was charming, showing us to the house, which is in a labyrinth of small streets and squares. She explained how everything in the house worked and advised us to buy tickets to the Al Hambra in advance (tickets can be obtained from the website or from Corral del Carbon in the centre of Granada). The house is well equipped, the stairs kept us fit and the views from the living room and roof terrace are incredible. There are plenty of good places to eat nearby and we recommend the fried aubergines with a honey dip. Hope to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna Z
brisbane
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great house in Old Morrish quarter with great view of Alhambra”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Will equipped old Mooorish house with fantastic views and good location for investigating Granada. Nadia was lovely and meet us a destination spot and took us to house and helpful with any issues. Clean and heating good.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
_xtophegr...
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice flat”
Reviewed 15 January 2017 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

it was a very nice traditional location with traditional furniture, equipped with all what you need for your holidays.
Nadia was kind and helpful.
You find a really nice coffee in the area, few metres from the flat, called "las 3 gatos". or 4?

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mandb_Ott...
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Granada!”
Reviewed 13 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautiful and historic house, close to The Alhambra and other Granada sites. The view from the rooftop deck is incredible, well worth the climb up the hill! The property is "as advertised", comfortable and well equiped. Nadia was a pleasure to deal with. We would definately stay here again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
7tm
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great apartment, great location”
Reviewed 13 January 2017 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was a great little apartment. The ac kept us cool at night and during siesta, the bedroom was super dark and we slept very well. The rooftop terrace had a great view, the location was perfect; walking distance to restos, nightlife, shopping and all of the sights.
To be improved:
It was the initially hard to find and parking was difficult or expensive. The only reason this is a four star not a five star is because the flat was tidy but not clean. The floors clearly had not been mopped or swept (check under dining table, and especially under chairs and couch) after the last renters.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2017
We forward your complain to our cleaning staff and make sure that this will not happen again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing