We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern feeling, good location”
Review of Al-Andalus Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Al-Andalus Hostel
Ranked #68 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Spent a couple of comfortable nights in this hostel. The beds and room and comfortable and large. The hostel in general has a really new and clean feel to it, and it is in a very central location. The breakfast you get for €2 is worth it in my opinion. The attached restaurant also has some good value deals for guests.
There is a SERIOUS lack of powerpoints in this place though. None in the bedroom, the one in the common room does not work, so the only option is the point under the computer, or the computer itself.

Oh, and be sure to check out the great sun room up the top!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank RFP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We had to do an unexpected Skype and Internet business call, as the connection was weak at the hostel the staff sorted out an apartment for us. The amazing part was that I was reluctant to leave my lovely, clean bedroom!! By far the best place I have ever stayed. Thank you Jamie and Manuel!!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank aidevoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The hostel is beautiful,the rooms are clean,the staffs are very friendly and helpful.

The only downside is the light inside the room.
I stayed in a six-person dorm (which was nice).There was only one ceiling lamp which was dreadfully dim.I was on the top bunk,next to the lamp,and i could barely find my stuffs.My friends on the other side of the room stayed in complete darkness for two days (no kidding).
One more problem was there were only 2 working power outlets for 6 persons.Not a good thing.

The common area down at the lobby was very nice.There's a computer for the customer to use.
Also,2 toilets on the ground floor.I guess they are for the bar-goers,but we used it a lot (6 girls and a single bathroom-not a good idea).
They keep the hostel incredibly clean.Highly recommended.
oh yeah,breakfst not included.You have to pay,i dunno maybe 2-5euros i think.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aisyakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The location of hostel is good. Staff was kind and helpful. The kitchen of hostel is huge. The hostel was clean. It is really cheap. One negative thing I can say that the light in the rooms is not enough to see well. It could be brighter.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Etem H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed there for three days, between 19 and 22 oct 2013. Very clean place, excellent service, placed right in the middle of the city, very close to all the placebo interest. I will definitely come again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergiu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Ok now, this is the best place I have stayed during my vacation through Spain and Portugal a month ago.. there is a huge common area, amazing kitchen, great location.. such a relaxing place, I would definitely stay there again when I return to Granada next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marija99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Let's start by saying that I rarely write reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised by Al-Andalus. The key words are CLEAN and CHEAP. I paid €15 per night for a shared room with 6 people. For this price you get:
-a modest but satisfactory room with air conditioning
-bed sheets and blankets
-a big, lockable drawer under the bed that fits a small suitcase (one for every room guest). Bring your own lock or rent one at the desk.
-a clean bathroom with a spacious shower (don't worry about shower gel, shampoo, soap or toilet paper)
-free breakfast from 8am to 10am
-the possibility to cook your own food in the kitchen/dining room and storing things in the freezer
-24h acces to the hostel and your room (no curfew)

The staff are very friendly and helpful, both for things concerning the hostel itself as for sightseeing tips and going out. The property itself is very charming; the Arab-influenced interior will really make you feel like you're on a holiday. Plus, it's really in dead center Granada. You can do almost anything you'll want to do on foot.

A few cons:
-staff's knowledge of English is very basic
-internet connection is not something you should rely on (but if it's there, you can use it for free)
-there aren't any facilities that stimulate making acquaintance with other guests
-the air conditioning doesn't always seem to work, in which case you'll have to swing by the reception desk.
-disclaimer: me and two friends were the only people in a 6 person room. Since there's one bathroom per room, showering or using the bathroom could require some planning if the room is fully rented out.

All in all, I really recommend this place if you're going to Granada, especially for people travelling on budget.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FredericGesell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Polaroid Siesta Hostel
Polaroid Siesta Hostel
#44 of 144 in Granada
113 reviews
Albaicín
White Nest Hostel Granada
White Nest Hostel Granada
#12 of 144 in Granada
316 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Hostel Vita
Hostel Vita
#48 of 144 in Granada
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Makuto Guesthouse Hostel
#9 of 144 in Granada
355 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Granada Inn Backpackers
Granada Inn Backpackers
#8 of 144 in Granada
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al-Andalus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al-Andalus Hostel

Address: Calle Escudo del Carmen, 16, 18009 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 144 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Price Range: £14 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Al-Andalus Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Al-Andalus HOSTEL occupies a traditional Andalusian-style courtyard with a 15-minute walk from the Alhambra and Granada Cathedral. Reception service 24 hours (weekends) and its facilities include a restaurant-bar, a shared kitchen and a cellar. Private rooms and shared rooms at Al-Andalus HOSTEL are simply furnished. All rooms have air conditioning, heating and private bathroom for their occupants. There is WIFI access in public areas and lockers are available.At the Restaurant-Bar HOSTEL Al-Andalus, guests can sample local dishes, grilled and baked. They may taste several Spanish wines. The property also features a reading corner from which you can see the Alhambra. This hostel is a 3 minute walk from the Cathedral and the Royal Chapel of Granada. The train station and the University of Granada are a 10 minute drive from the hostel. It has own parking upon request (15,00 € / day), so you do not have to worry about the car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Al-Andalus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing