We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Granada”
Review of Al-Andalus Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Al-Andalus Hostel
Ranked #55 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Guapimirim, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Granada”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It is in a perfect location and we know the tourist places by foot. The hostel is very new, has a good "vibe", is a calm place, has a bar/restaurant for our convenience and the breakfast is good. All spaces are very clean, the bed is confortable and the bathrooms are inside the room. Has a kitchen where you can prepare your food, this is great for backpackers. We enjoyed staying here!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda_Vidal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    50
    16
    13
    9
See reviews for
4
29
35
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Spent a couple of comfortable nights in this hostel. The beds and room and comfortable and large. The hostel in general has a really new and clean feel to it, and it is in a very central location. The breakfast you get for €2 is worth it in my opinion. The attached restaurant also has some good value deals for guests.
There is a SERIOUS lack of powerpoints in this place though. None in the bedroom, the one in the common room does not work, so the only option is the point under the computer, or the computer itself.

Oh, and be sure to check out the great sun room up the top!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank RFP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

We had to do an unexpected Skype and Internet business call, as the connection was weak at the hostel the staff sorted out an apartment for us. The amazing part was that I was reluctant to leave my lovely, clean bedroom!! By far the best place I have ever stayed. Thank you Jamie and Manuel!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank aidevoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Volgograd, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

The hostel is beautiful,the rooms are clean,the staffs are very friendly and helpful.

The only downside is the light inside the room.
I stayed in a six-person dorm (which was nice).There was only one ceiling lamp which was dreadfully dim.I was on the top bunk,next to the lamp,and i could barely find my stuffs.My friends on the other side of the room stayed in complete darkness for two days (no kidding).
One more problem was there were only 2 working power outlets for 6 persons.Not a good thing.

The common area down at the lobby was very nice.There's a computer for the customer to use.
Also,2 toilets on the ground floor.I guess they are for the bar-goers,but we used it a lot (6 girls and a single bathroom-not a good idea).
They keep the hostel incredibly clean.Highly recommended.
oh yeah,breakfst not included.You have to pay,i dunno maybe 2-5euros i think.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aisyakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The location of hostel is good. Staff was kind and helpful. The kitchen of hostel is huge. The hostel was clean. It is really cheap. One negative thing I can say that the light in the rooms is not enough to see well. It could be brighter.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Etem H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hjørring, Nordjylland, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed there for three days, between 19 and 22 oct 2013. Very clean place, excellent service, placed right in the middle of the city, very close to all the placebo interest. I will definitely come again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sergiu T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Ok now, this is the best place I have stayed during my vacation through Spain and Portugal a month ago.. there is a huge common area, amazing kitchen, great location.. such a relaxing place, I would definitely stay there again when I return to Granada next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marija99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Granada hotels
Realejo - San Matias
Polaroid Siesta Hostel
Polaroid Siesta Hostel
#46 of 136 in Granada
109 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Granada Inn Backpackers
Granada Inn Backpackers
#8 of 136 in Granada
374 reviews
Albaicín
White Nest Hostel Granada
White Nest Hostel Granada
#14 of 136 in Granada
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostal AB
#70 of 93 in Granada
79 reviews
Makuto Guesthouse Hostel
#10 of 136 in Granada
344 reviews
Realejo - San Matias
Pension Venecia Gomerez
Pension Venecia Gomerez
#13 of 93 in Granada
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Al-Andalus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Al-Andalus Hostel

Property: Al-Andalus Hostel
Address: Calle Escudo del Carmen, 16, 18009 Granada, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Granada > Granada > Realejo - San Matias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 136 Speciality Lodging in Granada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Al-Andalus Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Al-Andalus HOSTEL occupies a traditional Andalusian-style courtyard with a 15-minute walk from the Alhambra and Granada Cathedral. Reception service 24 hours (weekends) and its facilities include a restaurant-bar, a shared kitchen and a cellar. Private rooms and shared rooms at Al-Andalus HOSTEL are simply furnished. All rooms have air conditioning, heating and private bathroom for their occupants. There is WIFI access in public areas and lockers are available.At the Restaurant-Bar HOSTEL Al-Andalus, guests can sample local dishes, grilled and baked. They may taste several Spanish wines. The property also features a reading corner from which you can see the Alhambra. This hostel is a 3 minute walk from the Cathedral and the Royal Chapel of Granada. The train station and the University of Granada are a 10 minute drive from the hostel. It has own parking upon request (15,00 € / day), so you do not have to worry about the car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Al-Andalus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing